My entry to photography contest - PORTRAIT

Dear Hive friends,

I am looking through the windows and it is snowing, but I won’t be writing about snow much. Anyway, when I am thinking that some people don’t even know snow, have never throw a snowball or build a snowman, I am awe of how happy I can be that I live in the place where we have four seasons. But thinking deeper, how grateful can I be, to live in a place where we have tap water, which is drinkable on the top, to have proper roof above our heads, to live in the World where we can take advantage of technology, to have opportunity to prove ourselves and build a career, to guarantee our families a well suited life. If we go even deeper, food is a factor and we can not imagine to starve to death, so food is also not self-evident. Usually we just press the button and our house or car gets warm, others don’t even know how car looks like. I could go like that for hours, till snow won’t stop, but let it be enough for today.
I can’t tell that I am speaking from experiences, as I haven’t live in that kind of environment, but I visited people who do. Trying to talk with them and get to know them, their culture and the way they live. Sure, that is impossible to get a clear picture in only few travels like that, but it is enough to feel it and start to appreciate some things a bit more.

At the end, I would like to highlight one thing, not only that these people have less, but they have more in some ways. You can not describe that… It is some combination of modesty, simplicity and joy. As I wrote, you can not describe it, you have to experience it!

Let me introduce these guys of which I was talking about. They are all coming from Ethiopia and belongs to several tribes;

DSC00935.JPG

DSC01173.JPG

DSC03448.JPG

DSC02031.JPG

DSC02622.JPG

DSC03499.JPG

DSC01597.JPG

DSC01986.JPG

DSC01463.JPG

DSC02591.JPG

DSC01108.JPG

DSC01721.JPG

DSC04044.JPG

DSC01656.JPG

DSC00963.JPG

DSC02101.JPG

DSC01848.JPG

DSC03663.JPG

DSC01326.JPG

DSC02239.JPG

DSC03327.JPG

DSC02746.JPG

DSC02317.JPG

DSC02186.JPG

DSC03071.JPG

Sort:  

Every day we should be thankful to have a roof above our heads, enough food to survive, and every other primary thing in life we mostly take for granted. Today in modern society people tend to buy and consume way too much and they'll never be satisfied and that's sad. We need very little in life to survive and that's what I realized when we walked Camino de Santiago in Spain where we cooked for ourselves, slept outside without a tent and wore only a small bag. When we got home after one month, we were so happy to sleep in a bed and take a hot shower. 😅

The problem is that we are all like that. Even me and you as you say. We forget what we actually have. We have everything, every possibility... But more is not always more...
I am sure your experience was a great one.

I agree with you.

Faces, each portray the hardship of living, yet the joy of being alive. Yes many live with very little luxury others know little or nothing about. Only when travel takes you to places where hardships are endured do we appreciate what we have.

Excellent portraits once again Andy.

@tipu curate 2

Hi Joan,
Great to see you stopping by again!
What all can you learn through experience via travelling. Precious!
Wish you a great day!

Travel one cannot never put a price to experience.

Have a great day as well.

Amazing collection, @crazy-andy

@ackhoo thank you for stopping by and showing appreciation!

@crazy-andy Wow - that portrait speaks volumes about the persons's character and hard life that she has endured. The light is just magical. It adds a soft glow and somehow makes the whole portrait surreal. Fantastic capture

I love photography but I do wildlife and so, not sure how much appeal is there for my posts. Anyway - will continue trying.

Thanks for sharing the wonderful images.

singature small avatar.png

Thanks!
It is so awesome to photography different people from different cultures who all live different lives.
On the other hand it is just as beautiful to photography wildlife, which is my favourite motive as well.
You simply have to continue trying and believe in yourself.

@crazy-andy Thank you. I love nature and wildlife - so, will continue to click and post. Hope HIVE community appreciates. It is great to get comments and interaction. Boosts up morale.
Thanks for your response and encouragement

singature small avatar.png

Great post, thanks for sharing this, amazing.

Thank you for stopping by.

This is a true of Africa.

Lion and elephant are missing for true Africa :)

Hello dear friend @ crazy-andy good morning
I live in a city, that despite having the four seasons, winter is not so much to reach snow; In my city of Corrientes it has never snowed, next year I am going to visit my son who lives in Ushuaia and there for the first time at my 54 years old I will see the snow

I am a faithful admirer of these people, they do know how to live with little and be happy with what little they have

Beautiful shots, I appreciate that you taught us

I wish you an excellent day

That will for sure be an awesome feeling!
Seeing snow for the first time.
That is what I am talking about... Snow doesn't mean nothing to me, as we get it every year over and over again, but to somebody else a little thing like feeling snow would mean a World.

Thank you for beeing here again and wish you all the best @jlufer

What a beautiful selection! I particularly love the children's photos with those smiles on their faces. Thanks for letting us have a glimpse of their culture. Indeed, there is always a lot we should be thankful for, no matter what predicament we may be in. There is always, always something to be grateful for.

Thank you for your input on this one. I am glad you like the selection :)
And I agree that children photos are the best. And not only photos, observing them while there is an awesome experience. It is a different mindset ther.

Congratulations! You've been awarded with upvote from The Creative Coin Fund.
cfund.png
Manual selection by @qwerrie.

Stunning! Thank you for sharing. I am wondering how pandemics will affect places like this.

I was there only once, in January 2020 just before Covid spread all over the World.
I am doing my best to keep my faithful followers entertainet :)