A Bit Of A Dramatic Start

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

Press Start

DSCF9739.jpg

I started amateur photography in December 2021, and I had picked up a Fuji XT1 with the 55mm XF lense for a stellar price as I was not sure if my impulsive nature would take the time to get the perfect shot.

Luckily low-and-behold I could so here is a little walkthrough of my photography journey until now.

Trouble At Home Base

DSCF8812.jpeg

The moment I got my new camera I was out and about, taking photos of nearly everything I could (Covid permitting). I was taking photos of dandelions, cars, flowers, rocks, weird dramatic dark photographs that just make the world seem like a dark edgy manga.

Now as you can see the initial photos' weren't bad but they weren't good, and as a competitive individual I want to be the best at everything (even though I know someone will always be better than me). So I did what any reasonable individual would do.

I watched countless hours of YouTube photographers doing street photography.

The Influence

DSCF9579-3.jpg

From the YouTube influence I started playing around in Lightroom, and Luminar editing the recent shots I have captured, and I found I have a slight issue. I like dramatic photos!

For most people this doesn't matter, but in the photography world, over dramatisizing things could be considered bad - not for me I know that shows I am an amateur photographer but to me (for now) it matches my energetic and flamboyant personality.

Which resulted in mainly taking shadow, reflective, or dramatic shots and kicking it up a notch in the relevant software.

The progress

DSCF9484.jpg

As you can see as time progressed the shots became better, well according to me. I started understanding and using concepts which I had only seen and heard about.

I used angles, light, reflections, shadows, and all the other bits to my advantage - instead of fighting them; using them in creative ways to take interesting and head turning shots.

DSCF9663-3.jpg

The Finale

DSCF9840-2.jpg

As the sign states, photography is a slippery slope - once you start getting into and enjoying you will be taking photos' of everything. That can of coke, take a shot, the coffee frappe with your name spelled wrong, take a shot, a random shot of two ants fighting over a crumb and your camera barely picks it up, take a shot.

But its all worth it if you enjoy it. And for me, I enjoyed it, primarily because I could transform the shot afterwards into whatever I had wanted. And I love dark, dramatic shots - so low-and-behold thats what the majority of my shots are.

So there you have it, this is my little journey over a couple of months going from meh, to why does this scream dark edgy ani.. I mean decent.

Hope you enjoyed the little share :)

Deadeagle63

Sort:  

I watched countless hours of YouTube photographers doing street photography.

Yea, for my Trips in Thailand i watched a lot Youtube Videos from the Great Artist called Pierre T. Lambert and he inspired me, to buy the 70 - 200 f2.8 from Sony. I love this piece of glas and it's amazing to shoot with sony alpha 7 III.

Pierre is an amazing photographer! I will oneday get that smexy Sony; but for now its a bit out of my price range :D So do you have some photos I can go snoop around? 👀

Yea, im lazy posting photos at the moment ;) maybe u triggerd me now to be more active in photography share ;) here some of the last pictures and story from thailand

https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@louis88/thailand-travel-diary-2021-last-hotel-on-tour-marriot-phuket-merlin-beach

Congratulations @deadeagle63! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @erikasue!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!