White ANZAC

in Photography Lovers7 months ago (edited)

They went with songs to the battle, they were young,
Straight of limb, true of eye, steady and aglow.
They were staunch to the end against odds uncounted;
They fell with their faces to the foe.

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.

- Laurence Binyon (excerpt from For the Fallen) -

FU (2).jpg

My street is looking colourful, greens and golds, a nice contrast against the vibrant blue skies we have currently and it makes turning my car into the street a visual pleasure; typica; of spring here.

I took some cuttings (sorry for hacking bits off you trees) and brought them inside to shoot in my lightbox. I got side-tracked when I found a tiny green spider in the foliage which I ended up photographing; post found here if you're so inclined. But got back on target and this post shows some of the photos I took.


Callistemon 'White Anzac'

FU (3).jpg

This plant is a Callistemon 'White Anzac', (white flowering bottlebrush) and whilst not one of my favourite plants is perfect for planting in streetscapes here due to its hardy, drought-tolerant nature. It's tough, like the ANZAC's it was named after (see below), and yet quite attractive. Bees love it as do the butterflies and it's a pleasure to have these trees lining my street and others in the area.

It has a nice mix of colour: vibrant green leaves, red when they're new, and the gold-tipped white flowers that burst forth from the little pods as pictured. The nuts that fall off can be a hazard though, they get very hard and can be like marbles to walk on after they fall...I know right? First-world problems.

FU (1).jpg

ANZAC

The acronym, ANZAC, means Australian New Zealand Army Corps, a collaboration of the two countries' military forces formed to head overseas and fight in World War One over a hundred years ago.

It was a simple logistical convenience initially and quite often the two countries didn't even fight side by side, however a relationships was forged in the white hot heat and chaos of battle, initially in the brutal fight upon the beaches and cliffs of Gallipoli, Türkiye (Turkey) when they fought and died together. It was a military disaster led by inept British command and a great price was paid in lives...but through the courage, bravery, endurance and work-ethic ,it created the ANZAC legend, defined the country of Australia particularly and since the day those troops hit the Gallipoli beaches on 25 April in 1915 the two countries (militarily) have shared a bond that has endured through other conflicts and to this very day the legacy proudly lives on.

So much is given by those who go to war and (unfortunately) it is soon forgotten by those who did not; it's disgusting. I remember though, respect the sacrifices Australians have made for this country and honour the men who made those sacrifices. It suits me to know my street is lined with white ANZAC callistemons, a constant reminder of courage, mateship, sacrifice and endurance those men showed...in a world that seems intent upon eliminating such things from existence.

FU (4).jpg

FU (5).jpg

FU (7).jpg

FU (6).jpg


That's it folks, a fairly simple post I guess. I'm sorry for my passive rant about society as above, I guess I just don't value what people stand for these days, generally, and it irks me that society seems so intent on letting important values die in preference for...whatever the fuck people value these days. (Sorry, here I go again.)

If you've got any comments please leave them below, I value them and will respond.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
Every image in this post is my own.
Olympus OM-D E-M10 Mark III was used to capture these images.

Sort:  

All you have to do is look at the comments section of any online news story and it will give you a pretty good idea of how much society has devolved. It's horrible.

Yep, I agree it's not a very nice place currently...and it seems those who believe it is are the young ones who know no different, and who perpetuate the behaviours which got society in the predicament in the first instance.

A lot of it is just ignorance that is passed down I think.

There's room for change, a change for the better, but few are willing to make it.

The photos you have taken are incredible. I don't know what camera lens you use, but what impresses me the most is that you capture the smallest details and I can notice the texture of the leaves and seeds. I really like this type of photo.

My husband once tried to make a homemade light box. In the end he couldn't 😄

I googled the name of this tree and, according to the picture, it has a very distinctive round trunk. Is it like this?

Thanks for taking a look and commenting also. I use all Olympus equipment, camera and lenses, and it seems to do a good job. I get lucky a lot I guess...I point the camera, click the button and it works out sometimes.

The bark on this tree is very textured, probably evolved that way to be able to withstand fires that often sweep through Australian outback areas. The front comes through, burns some of the bark which flakes off and then moves on leaving little damage to the tree. I'm not sure that's the exact reason for it, but I know other trees have evolved in that way so it makes sense.

Hey, in that light box you do wonders ;)

I was wondering if I climbed in there and took a selfie if it would turn out better...Probably not though. 😂

If you could get in there, it wouldn't be a light box anymore, it would be a box of jams. For the record, I prefer ice cream to jams. 🤣

Lol, if I got in there Id probably get stuck and have to remain in there forever...like a coffin.

Your pictures are always amazing mate. I just love the way you capture them, showing every tiny detail (I wish I also had one of those Olympus OMD E M10 mark |||).

Well, I searched about Anzac on my web to get more details and it ended up showing me Anzac bridge (lol).

Once again I would be saying that pictures are really attractive, I think I have to steal your lightbox 😉

Thanks, I think these came out ok but I don't think they're anything really special...Having said that, for me I'm ok with ok, when it comes to photos.

but I don't think they're anything really special

Yes because you are used to capturing excellent pictures and they are just ok for you. But for a person like me, they are exceptional.

Thanks, I appreciate it.

a constant reminder of courage, mateship, sacrifice and endurance those men showed.

Beautiful flowers to remember what these men gave so much for the rest, for life, for freedom.

Many quickly forget what others suffered and what they gave for others, their lives. Because when they return, if they do, they are no longer the same.

These are beautiful shots of simple but beautiful flowers in contrast with the greenery.

The dangerous part of the flowers, the nuts, made me think of the danger these people were in.

Thank you Galen, for these thoughts.

Thanks, I'm pretty happy with these shots and think they came out as good as I was ever going to get them with my skills and equipment.

I hope you've been having a good week.

You know what I look at? Those details of the flowers that the camera captures up close and that at first glance seem to be missing. The wonder of the simple.

I've been in nature, I've been for a walk with a friend... it wasn't bad, my mind flew for a while! Thank you!

Anzac Callistemon a quite difficult name but at the same time I am surprised to read the detail related to acronym Anzac.
In my university there are so many trees of this flower. Recently these flowers are blooming and showing their sparkled side. But in the hustle of fast life many people ignored to admire the beauty of surroundings.

Many people ignore what's around them regardless of what they're doing, it seems, ignorance is the new black.

Wow, the name of that plant has a great meaning, so it is very representative for your country. You have done it great honor with your beautiful photos 😍

I'm glad you like the photos, I try my best to make those I take as good as I possibly can. I think these ones came out reasonably well. Thanks for commenting.

I take as good as I possibly can.

That is undeniable 😉

Thanks to you for your attention and sharing such amazing content, I'm always watching even if I can't always leave a comment.

By the way, I love your profile picture 😊

Thank you, it's something different I guess, I get bored with profile images so change mine now and then.

I appreciate that you keep an eye on my posts and comment where possible.

The cuttings look very nice and colorful. It is good that they named it after those events/persons, so it can serve as a reminder for Australians. The nuts are interesting though, and I can see them make walking around the garden difficult in the long run. Do they grow softer with time?

Those little pods end up breaking down to nothing so they don't cause a lasting problem, it takes a little time. It's not all that much of an issue I guess, one just has to be a little mindful of them, they can be like walking on marbles.

I love bottlebrushes. There's a few red ones in our area and some yellow ones further up, they're all so very pretty XD

Poor J hates spring though, all the pollen makes him sneeze a lot (the small two aren't so bad, and eldest and I managed to escape the hayfever).

They're widely used on streetscapes due to their drought tolerance, and they look great right? I have the red ones all over as well, a nice mix of the white and red I guess.

I feel sorry for people to suffer with bad hay fever. My dad used to get it really badly and I never did...Then I started getting it and still do a little, but it's very mild and rarely causes me too many issue. Spring is a great time...but yep, hay fever sufferers will almost certainly disagree.

I have seen a plant species similar to that one in the country where I live, although I don't know if it is the same species, anyway when I have the opportunity I will take some pictures of it.

I think the bottlebrush is prevalent in many countries although is native to Australia; I know South Africa has it and have heard people the United States say they've seen it too. I guess people like them and they make their way around the world, just as plants from (and animals) other countries have made their way here. It'll be interesting to see it it's the same.

I am in Venezuela and more specifically in Puerto Ordaz, which is characterized for being an area with a lot of nature and especially jungle, maybe it is not the same species but they have similarities. Greetings!

Ah ok, a nice place then, although poorly run currently I guess. I know it can be difficult for you folks there, but you seem to work around it which speaks highly of your tenacity.

I’m guessing that maybe 1% of Americans know that ANZAC fought in Vietnam. One of my uncles mentioned meeting an Australian there.

Yeah, we had an area of operation for sure, the New Zealanders were there also, mainly artillery batteries (RNZA), medical (NZSMT), engineers, some SAS, naval and air elements, an ordinance unit and elements of an Infantry Regiment. Australia's commitment was much larger.

Interestingly, Delta Coy, 6RAR, the primary company that fought the Battle of Long Tan (18 Aug 1966) received the US Presidential Unit Citation for Gallantry. Sadly, my own government were not to confer the Australian Unit Citation for Gallantry to Delta Company, 6RAR until 2009. Politicians! The Aussies had 108 men and the enemy around 3,000 (unconfirmed)...there was a lot of loss of life but it prevented a full assault on the 1ATF base which is where the enemy force were headed when they ran into Delta Coy.

Anyway sorry, just some background on one of 1ATF's actions in the conflict.

" I guess I just don't value what people stand for these days, generally, and it irks me that society seems so intent on letting important values die in preference for...whatever the fuck people value these days."

I find myself doing silent rants in my head like this frequently these days. I just can't wrap my head around what I see going on. The masses throwing away the freedoms that others fought for them to enjoy. What a slap in the face ! I'm afraid they won't wake up till it is too late.

....on a happier note, your photos are really nice. I love sticks, seeds, flowers, pods, leaves and the such. I frequently bring little bits of nature inside with me to lay on my work desk or my TV chair. I love seeing them and having them where I can touch them. I have a few very white quartz rocks on my kitchen window sill.

Those clusters of little pods are adorable.

masses throwing away the freedoms that others fought for them to enjoy

Well said, it's bonkers really, and I doubt there's much chance of its reversal...not in our lifetime anyway.

You mentioned the pods in the spider post I did and I said I'd be showing more...I'm glad you ran into this post so you could see. These plants have a lot of different elements to them and I think they photographed well, by my standards anyway.

It suits me to know my street is lined with white ANZAC callistemons, a constant reminder of courage, mateship, sacrifice and endurance those men showed.

This is a really good initiative by the Government, I assumed? To have the plants decorate the streets and also serve as a constant reminder!

This is exactly what I'm talking about, you constantly inspire me to take photos of the flowers / plants / nature! I dare not show you my amateurish photos 😅

I think it's more about the plants being drought-tolerant so the Local Council (Local Government Authority) don't have to water them but I like the fact the plants name refers to the ANZAC's, a proud Australian history we should never forget.

I'm glad you liked the images but don't be silly about your own, show them proudly mate. I mean, I don't think mine are anything great compared with what else I see in this community from time to time., but I show them anyway. I hope you do too.

I like the story behind it regardless, whether it was a ploy by the Government choosing a hassle-free plant to line up the streets or not 😅

Yeah just learning from everyone here and continue to be inspired by the amazing work that everyone is showcasing! That is the beauty of the Community isn't it? 😊

Of course, it's nice to have trees native to the country on my street, I prefer that than the alternatives.

I look forward to seeing some of your photos soon huh?

Hahaa yeah I hope to get more inspiration from my surroundings and hoping to capture them adequately 😅

Your street seems to be very pleasurable. Your description of callistemon builds with the zeal to go search the plant and observe it physically. The story and value behind the plant are also admirable.
Your picture shooting is quite impressive 👏

Thanks, it's an interesting plant and looks good when fully in bloom...even when not it's a nice green and always has leaves on it year round.

You are welcome

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 89500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 90000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - September 2023 Winners List

Any community values are very important to them.