Chelsea in Bloom, London



405opf1q47hl3p4j77b_20220525_150336.jpg
405opfol3p5ovp8_20220525_152049.jpg
405opf1q440l3p4lu9g_20220525_171142.jpg
405opf1q3npl3p4jurz_20220525_150620.jpg
405opfol3p4ktkr_20220525_150128.jpg
405opf2al3p4m7cr_20220525_154650.jpg
405opf1q3npl3p4l961_20220525_151848.jpg
405opf1q3jdl3p4kczl_20220525_151102.jpg
405opf1q440l3p67fyp_20220525_145857.jpg

The Chelsea Flower Show is the major horticulture event held in London, UK every year and attracts 157 thousand visitors over the 5 day period. Visitors includes the Royal family, in particular the Queen herself who this year made a special appearance despite her limited mobility and dropping out of many other official engagements. The show includes a lot of specially designed gardens, where the designers vie for one of the many coveted awards. Aesthetic aside, in recent years there's been more emphasis on sustainability and the impact of gardens on the community and the environment. For example, this year the London Fire Brigade designed a garden as they wanted to show the impact of climate change and flooding. Source

Despite Chelsea Flower Show being such a significant event, I've never been before. The timing is never right for me, plus I'm not such a big horticulture fan to fork out £45 for the entrance. For those like me who like pretty flowers but don't want to spend so much money, there is an alternative, and that's the Chelsea in Bloom, held also in Chelsea, London.

The Chelsea in Bloom is a free event, where many of the shops in the area adorn their shop fronts with beautiful flora displays. This year there were nearly 100 businesses that participated and the theme is British Icons. This aligns with UK's celebration of the platinum jubilee celebrations. I took tons of photos when I went a few days ago, and I didn't even have time to walk the entire area to see everything. That said, what I capture was still stunning.

My favourite was the vintage floral post boxes. The iconic red post boxes are so representative of Britain and it's not often we get to see all the different types in one place. In Sloan Square, the centre of the event, was a floral display of the outline of the Queen's head. If you're not British you probably can't tell, but we see the outline on the coins and stamps so is easily recognisable. Another main display is the Royal coat of arms, it represents the head of state and consists of a lion and unicorn. Then there's a post office, a RAF fighter jet, a red decker bus of course (!!), a teapot because us Brits love our tea. In addition there are many other beautiful floral displays outside the many fancy shops in the posh area. It's just a pity that I didn't get to see everything as I had to catch my coach back home. Next year I must go earlier and spend more time there.

Anyway I hope you enjoyed the images I managed to capture and share with you this year.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

That's a tidy sum to pay indeed, but what a stunning floral display!
My favourite is the very last image, really beautiful.
You Brits certainly know how to put on a display, gorgeous 👌

We love a bloom, almost as much as a cup of tea 😍

The last one is very different from Cartier isn't it? Probably cost a lot less as well, but equally effective 😀

So right, each one very pretty in its own way, but I like the understated subtle beauty👌

I went to the Chelsea flower show one year when I was living down the road and I was astonished at how noisy it was! I'd gone through the hospital to get there, passing through quiet courtyards, so I was blown away (almost literally) by the barrage of noise when I turned the corner to the entrance.
I did see some beautiful things in the display tents, I'm specially interested in peonies, lilies and orchids, but it was almost impossible to see any of the gardens, the crowds were so dense.
I'm pleased I went, and I'd like to see the one at Hampton Court, I feel that might be a bit more relaxing.

That's a real pity, I never thought it would be so noisy because it's always so calm and peaceful on TV. It's unfortunate that you couldn't see more of it.

I used to live down the road from Hampton Court, but never been to the flower show there. Been into the palace and grounds a few times and it was very nice. I imagine the flower show wouldn't be so crowded either as the gardens are much larger

Mmm - it's later in the year:
Hampton Court Palace Garden Festival. I must check whether there are any coach trips.

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Great photographs and explanation. !hbit

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <>< daily

Super super beatiful flowers! I loved this Cartier mood.

#flowergang

image.png

It's very full on, attracted a lot of people to take photos

I think the entrance fee is a bit expensive. However, it is very nice that such beautiful events continue regularly.

You have to be very passionate about flowers to pay that amount, or want to be seen as part of the right crowd as it's quite a society event 😉

Yes, you are absolutely right. Bem I love flowers but I guess I wouldn't pay that price :)

Very nice decorations. Some of the shops really went all out. The bus stands out the most for me, as the iconic symbol of London as a tourist.

image.png

I have not been to The Chelsea Flower Show for many years and I shudder to think how busy it is now.
The Chelsea in Bloom was always an event that I would tell people to goto instead and I was wondering how patriotic it would be this year what with 70 years for our beloved Majesty ;)
Cracking pictures and thank you for that, seeing I am miles away and won't be there to wander the streets, your pictures were fantastic!