Alleys Of The Past Part II

Alluring Alleys in Maze-Like Neighborhood

If last month I was exploring alleys that was similar to George town, this time I was exploring more local alleys that used to be a neigbhorhood of an ancient city called Kota Gede. The architecture in this neighborhood is truly alluring, with many residents turning their homes into small shops or simply living in them. Despite its local charm, people from all over are drawn to this maze-like neighborhood to take pictures of its unique buildings, such as the iconic Rumah Ijo or Green House. Some of the house in this area has also been featured in many national shows and has covered by some youtubers. They were mostly covering the mysticism and mystery of these house. With those kind of exposure, it's no wonder this area has become a popular spot for selfies and portrait photography.

DSC01010.jpg

The first building that caught my eye was the iconic green house. This spot is well-known and I saw people of all ages taking pictures there The people were mostly standing in front of the door, as shown in my next picture. The house has a charming roof with a Thai-like architecture, but upon closer inspection, it features a Keris, a traditional Javanese weapon.

DSC01020.jpg

DSC01080.jpg

DSC01085.jpg

DSC01089.jpg

DSC01086.jpg



I know it looks empty in these pictures but it's actually not. That's why, While exploring this narrow and charming alleyways, it's important to be mindful of the surroundings. The motorbikes in this area can be dangerous and may hit you if you're not paying attention. Be sure to watch out while taking pictures in this historic neighborhood.

DSC01025.jpg

DSC01026.jpg

As I wander through this alleyways, I came across houses with informative boards. Some of the houses with boards are those that has unique structure and has history. For example below, this mosque may not look like a traditional mosque at first glance, but it's a mosque with the placement on the second floor.

DSC01032.jpg

DSC01034.jpg

As I mentioned earlier that this area is also covered by youtube who talks about mystery and mysticism, this is one of the houses that they covered.

DSC01046.JPG

One of the notorious "haunted" house

Moving from the haunted area, I was walking though the alley and passing through an art base. The heat prompted me to stop for a while and take a few pictures of the interesting wall art. The alleyways in this neighborhood reminded me of those in the old town of Semarang, but on a smaller scale.

These alleyways are not specifically for tourists, but rather a residential neighborhood where people actually live in the old houses.

DSC01040.jpg

DSC01038.jpg

DSC01041.jpg

As the clouds grew thicker overhead, I knew that it was probably going to rain soon. I decided to head back home. But before that, I took picture one last time before the rain began to fall. Overall, It was a unique and authentic experience to wander through this part of town.

DSC01045.jpg

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this ! You can also support me below!


image.png𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢. 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘫𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘯𝘦𝘺 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘰 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭, 𝘯𝘰𝘰𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘴, 𝘱𝘳𝘰𝘥𝘶𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘮𝘪𝘯𝘪𝘮𝘢𝘭𝘪𝘴𝘵 𝘭𝘪𝘧𝘦𝘴𝘵𝘺𝘭𝘦, 𝘤𝘺𝘣𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘤𝘶𝘳𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘢𝘯𝘨𝘶𝘢𝘨𝘦𝘴. 𝘐𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘧𝘳𝘦𝘦 𝘵𝘪𝘮𝘦, 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘫𝘰𝘺𝘴 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘷𝘢𝘳𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘯𝘨𝘴. 𝘐𝘧 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘭𝘪𝘬𝘦 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘯𝘵, 𝘥𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥.
Sort:  

Greetings Mac! 🤗 I can't believe there is so much geographical and cultural distance between you and us, but I swear! That looks a lot like some fishing villages we have here on my island.

The architecture looks too much alike 😱, it is also quite old, in fact, they date from when the Spanish discovered us to colonize us, so it is very very old, but what I don't understand how is that if the architecture has European roots why does it look like Asian architecture? Pretty weird, or could it be that we were also discovered by Asians or did you guys get discovered by the Spanish too? 😱😱.

That green house attracts a lot of attention is it supposed to be haunted too? Well, that turquoise color looks very nice with witchcraft or without it 😅.

When I saw the picture of the bike I said wow, such small alleys and there are motorcycles? Now that's dangerous, I see I wasn't wrong 😨.

I always discover interesting things in your posts Mac, your photos are very very cool 👏👏👏.

Pd. Happy end of the year holidays @macchiata 🎉🤗💞, question: in Indonesia do you celebrate end of the year on December 31 like us?

For real? Actually, there are places here that has Inca-ish architecture and I want to go there one day. It's a bit far and now there's frequent earthquake, so I am waiting until there's no earthquake.

We were in fact colonized by Portuguese and there were Spaniards. Then the dutch but those buildings are what we call Indische or tropical European style where the settlers built the building based on their style but made some adjustments due to the weather. I actually covered this in my previous old town visit. But of course, some of them has local influence esp when they are inhabited by locals.

You can safely assume the houses are haunted here because they are vacant but yeah, that's the appeal but from what I learned, rumors are created so that people are curious then they'll visit the place.

😄 I only post interesting things otherwise, it's never gonna see the light of day haha. Anyway, yes! we do celebrate it like that and I have my beers ready!! Are you ready to welcome the new year?

Ahhh that's why you have that area you there call Dutch that I saw these days in your posts, when I read it I said: "how strange! Dutch in Indonesia? I would never have thought it".

Haha they are very interesting Mac! We were not colonized by the Portuguese, only Brazil, but Brazil is very close, so maybe we have some Portuguese influence too and we didn't know it? 😱 I don't know, but definitely that architecture of yours has a lot of Spanish because I do know that one well, what a success! we have shared genes somewhere! 👏👏.

Yes on the 31st we celebrate it too, Happy New Year 2023 Dear @macchiata! 🎉🎉🎉 Beforehand in case I get a little disconnected from around here, I don't like beers, but I am looking for a creamy Christmas punch that I really like, its called: "Ponchecrema", and a drink that is of Spanish origin that is also a tradition here, it's called "Sevillana", the cream punch is available for 20$ can you believe it? 🥲🥲 and Sevillana for 6$, I think I'll start drinking beers this December 31 🫠🫠.

This is a really cool and interesting walk around this old part of town. What struck me was how beautiful and painting-esque the doorways/entrances look. I love that old-world rustic charm which seems to tell a tale of centuries past... I guess it's the same reason I love old churches/chapels because I lean up against their walls, run my hands over them and feel like I am connecting in some strange way with the past. Like... I am here now in this place seeing and touching this old beauty... but over the centuries how many lives and loves and hopes and tears and laughs and losses have those same walls witnessed. It's thought-provoking. Awesome that you have diversity like this on your doorstep. !ALIVE

@macchiata! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

If you love rustic and old buildings, you should check out the previous post. I was exploring a part of ancient town which just exudes mystery and mysticism around it. But it was so serene and calming to be inside of it. That trip was certainly amazing though it's nearby I don't get to visit those kind of places often. Thanks for checking out!

Ah cool - I will do! Thanks for the heads up :-) ... yeah you know that's what I love about them too... they always seem so serene... even though some have probably been witness to some more violent affairs... in the end the things that have transpired at a place fade into history... and the inanimate constructs remain... until they too one day crumble back into the sands of time.

Maybe I enjoy exploring creepy houses if I have companions but can't handle it by myself. Have you had a chance to get inside one of those?

Sadly not, I heard they were open for public but not anymore. The doors are locked and some of them had signs not to get inside of it. I guess, due to its popularity and people wanting to explore that haunted place, they close it down for public.

Looks like an awesome little journey! I love the place with the green door lol

It was! the green door place is the most famous spot of all. Sad though it's a bit dilapidated in some parts.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @macchiata ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.