Last Night's Dud of a Sunset...

Last night's Donner Lake sunset was forecasted to be a decent one. But it was not, it was a dud...

The SkyFire app is often correct when it comes to predicting the amount of color that will show up in the sky at sunrise or sunset. It's not a perfect science, and last night it let me down. There was no color at all. I stuck around later than I usually do, hoping for some late color to the sky, but nope. Oh well. I decided to shoot some "blue hour" photos, hoping to get something in return for my efforts of cross-country skiing out there and putting up with the cold temperatures.

Success! At least I think so. What do you think? Do you like this blue, monotone look to the image?

_Q1A5437.jpg

Shot with a Canon 5DS R and a 24-105mm lens. The camera's ISO was 50, the lens aperture was f/18, and it was a 30 second exposure. One graduated neutral density filter was used on the front of the lens, and a tripod was also used.

20240123_170735.jpg

Yeah, I might have been smiling a bit bigger if there was more orange and yellow color to the sky, but I was still pretty happy anyway. It was good to be out!

Thank you for looking and I hope you are all having a great day, even if it isn't going exactly as planned...

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

Sort:  

Total success! The photo looks stunning, and your smile is absolutely contagious! Never knew there was an app for sky colors. Guess that's for the pros.

Thanks @blind-spot! Yeah, that app is usually helpful and has motivated me to get out for many sunsets and sunrises. It's certainly not perfect. It costs $1 a week, but it's worth it to me.

You really got a splendid shot there. The blue color brings out the awesome details of the mountain plus the reflection on the water added magical touch. It's true that it's more beautiful if it has the color of the sunset or sunrise but that is still great alone.❤️
Loved it.

Thank you @marcus2201! I definitely prefer a colorful sunset or sunrise, but I felt the blues worked for this image. Glad you liked it!

Perfect shots!
You did so well

I have never actually seen such a view in my life, it is truly so beautiful, it seems like we are in heaven.

I'm not ready for heaven yet... I still have many more photos to take ;)
But yes, it can feel that way sometimes. Glad you liked seeing that!

This place looks like heaven.

Nice shot! I like the way the light brings the blue back in the lake. Sometimes thats lost in the winter.

Thank you @steven-patrick! Yup, everything was looking very dull and grey until the blue hour hit.

"The blue hour" refers to the special ambiance and color palette that appears before sunrise or after sunset. This will last for about an hour. During this time, the sky is predominantly highlighted in shades of blue, and natural colors transition smoothly, creating beautiful landscapes.

It's so beautiful and stunning.
Thank you so much for allowing us to see the beauty of nature in the Blue Hour.

Glad you like that blue hour shot!!! I often forget to shoot during this time as I usually get the colorful photo, I get excited, and then I leave.

Hello, the reflections in the water with the play of light make photography unrealistic

It can sometimes feel unrealistic, being out there and getting to experience moments like this. I love it!

Even if you didn't get a lot of color, I think these shots are still beautiful!

Thank you @robsteady! Glad you still like it.

Good photography friend. 👌👌

Your pictures never disappoint and trust me this is looking so amazing

Hello scottshots!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 11th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by matisport

You receive 🎖 0.5 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 189 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START