Madrid - Behind a work trip [ENG-ESP]

A few Aprils ago, I had the opportunity to visit the Spanish capital, as I say in the title, it was not a vacation trip but for work reasons, but in those circumstances there are always some free moments to explore and have some fun.

Hace unos cuantos abriles, tuve la oportunidad de conocer la capital española, como digo en el título, no fue un viaje de vacaciones sino por motivos laborales, pero en esas circunstancias siempre quedan algunos momentos libres para explorar y divertirte un poco.

001.jpg

My excitement for this trip was big, it was the first time I went abroad for work, the first time in this city and there were also the nerves to fulfill the task I had been given. I had just graduated a short time ago, I was working in a public cultural institution in Venezuela and I was assigned to do field work in a scientific fair that had been held for a few years in the Spanish capital, with the aim of setting up a similar event in Caracas.

Mi emoción por este viaje era grande, fue la primera vez que fui al exterior por trabajo, la primera vez en esta ciudad y además estaban los nervios por cumplir con la tarea que me habían dado. Tenía poco tiempo de graduada, trabajaba en una institución cultural pública de Venezuela y me asignaron hacer trabajo de campo en una feria científica que se realizaba desde hace unos años en la capital española, con el objetivo de montar un evento parecido en Caracas.

003.jpg

I was only in Madrid for a week, enough time to do my job, but not enough time to visit too many places in the hours I had free, but I didn't complain, I was able to take a good look at this vibrant city and get a basic impression of it.

Sólo estuve una semana en Madrid, tiempo suficiente para cumplir con mi labor, pero no para visitar demasiados lugares en las horas que me quedaban libres, sin embargo no me quejé, pude echarle un buen vistazo a esta vibrante ciudad y llevarme una impresión básica de ella.

005.jpg

So, I share in this publication photos that I took in my passage through some areas of this huge city, memories and anecdotes of those free moments. I stayed in a small hotel very close to La Gran Vía, the most famous and busiest street in Madrid, and I moved around on foot or by subway.

Entonces, comparto en esta publicación fotos que tomé en mi paso por algunas zonas de esta enorme urbe, recuerdos y anécdotas de aquellos ratos libres. Me quedé en un pequeño hotel muy cerca de La Gran Vía, la calle más famosa y transitada de Madrid, y me moví a pie o en metro.

006.jpg

I arrived early on a Sunday morning, so I was able to take advantage of that day to walk around, it was very cold but sunny. Among the places I visited that first day were: La Gran Vía, Plaza de España, Puerta de Alcalá, the Cibeles Fountain, the Palace of Communications, Santiago Bernabéu stadium and others that I don't remember. The city has an architecture that stands out and you can easily entertain yourself looking at any building.

Llegué un domingo temprano en la mañana, así que pude aprovechar todo ese día para pasear, hacía mucho frío pero había sol. Entre los sitios que visité ese primer día estuvieron: La Gran Vía, Plaza de España, la Puerta de Alcalá, la Fuente de Cibeles, el Palacio de Comunicaciones, el estadio Santiago Bernabéu y otros que no recuerdo. La ciudad tiene una arquitectura que destaca y fácilmente te entretienes mirando cualquier edificación.

007.jpg

009.jpg

010.jpg

As I spent hours walking, I got thirsty, and the closest place I got to buy water was a kiosk, where a half liter bottle cost me 1 euro... expensive! Later when I went into a supermarket I saw that the one and a half liter bottle cost 0.47 euros, that's the place to hydrate! 😆 You know, I had to watch my budget so I could afford the per diem I was given for the trip.

Como pasé horas caminando, me dio sed, y el lugar cercano que conseguí para comprar agua fue un quiosco, donde una botella de medio litro me costó 1 euro... ¡carísimo! Más tarde cuando entré a un supermercado vi que la botella de un litro y medio costaba 0,47 euros, ¡ese es el lugar para hidratarse! 😆 Ya saben, tenía que cuidar mi presupuesto para que me alcanzaran los viáticos que me dieron para el viaje.

012.jpg

Besides, that Sunday Real Madrid - Barcelona was playing, a soccer classic, and I said to myself, why not go to the stadium? If only to see the atmosphere outside. I took the subway and arrived, it was about 6:30 in the evening, and what I did was to walk around the stadium and buy a Barça scarf from a vendor who was there.

Además, ese domingo se jugaba el Real Madrid - Barcelona, un clásico del fútbol, y me dije, ¿por qué no ir hasta el estadio? Aunque sea para ver el ambiente en las afueras. Tomé el metro y llegué, eran como las 6:30 de la tarde, y lo que hice fue dar una vuelta alrededor del estadio y comprar una bufanda del Barça a un vendedor que estaba ahí.

013.jpg

I put on my scarf and went into a cafe that was on the outside of the stadium, there were not so many people and I could see what was left of the match on the TV they had. Barcelona was losing and when Real Madrid scored another goal, a guy who was recording the reactions of the people, recorded me with my disappointed face, because of course, I was wearing the scarf of the enemy 😂.

Me puse mi bufanda y entré en un café que estaba en la parte externa del estadio, no había tanta gente y pude ver lo que restaba del partido en la TV que tenían. El Barcelona estaba perdiendo y cuando el Real Madrid marcó otro gol, un muchacho que estaba grabando las reacciones de la gente, me grabó a mí con mi cara de decepción, porque claro, tenía puesta la bufanda del enemigo 😂.

014.jpg

Even though Barça lost, I had a great time, it was a good idea to go to the stadium, a very impressive building, even though I only saw it from the outside.

A pesar de que el Barça perdió, la pasé muy bien, fue buena idea ir al estadio, una edificación muy impresionante, y eso que sólo la vi por fuera.

015.jpg

During the next six days, that is, from Monday to Saturday, I went to do my work, and when I finished, I went around. I had bought a map of the city in order to get to some places that I found interesting, one of them was El Retiro Park.

Durante los seis días siguientes, es decir, del lunes al sábado, fui a hacer mi trabajo, y al terminar, me iba por ahí. Había comprado un mapa de la ciudad para así llegar sin problemas a algunos lugares que me parecieron interesantes, uno de ellos fue el Parque de El Retiro.

017.jpg

018.jpg

This park is huge, I read that it has 125 hectares and more than 15 thousand trees, it is one of the lungs of the center of Madrid and has a little bit of everything. People not only go to relax and stroll in its green areas, others go to play sports, look at the sculptures, fountains, gardens, lake and other attractive spaces it has and also to attend a cultural event.

Este parque es enorme, leí que tiene 125 hectáreas y más de 15 mil árboles, es uno de los pulmones del centro de Madrid y tiene de todo un poco. La gente no sólo va a relajarse y pasear en sus áreas verdes, otros van a hacer deportes, mirar las esculturas, fuentes, jardines, lago y otros espacios atractivos que posee y también para asistir a algún evento cultural.

020.jpg

021.jpg

022.jpg

023.jpg

I did a lot of walking in this beautiful place, and was lucky enough to hear a percussion session from a group that was there practicing.

Caminé muchísimo en este hermoso lugar, y tuve la suerte de escuchar una sesión de percusión de un grupo que estaba allí practicando.

024.jpg

025.jpg

027.jpg

028.jpg

Another day I visited some museums, the Prado Museum and the Museum of Natural Sciences, in front of which there is a square with a striking hand.

Otro día visité algunos museos, el Museo del Prado y el de Ciencias Naturales, frente a este hay una plaza con una llamativa mano.

029.jpg

Plaza Mayor was another place I wanted to see, it's like a hidden square, because it is arcaded, and as it is in the old town, I could see other interesting things around there.

La Plaza Mayor era otro de los lugares que quería ver, es una plaza como oculta, porque está porticada, y como queda en el casco viejo, podía ver otras cosas interesantes por allí.

033.jpg

There was some commotion that afternoon because they were setting up some structures, I guess for some event, but all the stores located around it were open. There they mostly sell tourist items, souvenirs, and there are also bars and restaurants to eat typical things, like the famous "tapas" and drinks like horchata, made with a tuber called tiger nut, I tried it and I liked it.

Había algo de alboroto esa tarde porque estaban montando unas estructuras, supongo que para algún evento, pero todas las tiendas ubicadas a su alrededor estaban abiertas. Allí más que todo venden artículos turísticos, recuerdos, y también hay bares y restaurantes para comer cosas típicas, como las famosas "tapas" y bebidas como la horchata, hecha con un tubérculo llamado chufa, la probé y me gustó.

035 (2).jpg

Although Madrid is an active city at all hours, I noticed that the movement increases at dusk, the Spanish like to party, the "marcha", as they say, so there are many places that remain closed during the day and open at that time.

Aunque Madrid es una ciudad activa a toda hora, noté que el movimiento se incrementa al atardecer, a los españoles les gusta mucho la fiesta, la “marcha”, como ellos dicen, entonces hay muchos locales que permanecen cerrados en el día y abren a esas horas.

036.jpg

037.jpg

In those long walks I did around the city, there was no lack of religious and royal places, I'm not a fan of either 😆, but their buildings are impressive.

En esas largas caminatas que hice por la ciudad, no faltaron los lugares religiosos y de la realeza, no soy fan de ninguno de los dos 😆, pero sus edificaciones son impresionantes.

038.jpg

042.jpg

The contrasts were not lacking either, a few meters from the palace, street musicians played to raise the day's money.

Los contrastes tampoco faltaron, a pocos metros del palacio, unos músicos callejeros tocaban para reunir el dinero del día.

043.jpg

Another day I went to a more modern part of the city and I came across some very striking buildings, two leaning towers that I later learned are very famous, they are called Puerta de Europa (Gateway to Europe) and measure 115 meters. Well, I wanted to take a picture of me there between them and I waited a while for someone to pass by to ask the favor, someone took it, but look at the result: not only did the whole towers not come out, besides that a vehicle stopped right behind me at that moment and its occupants also posed for the picture, what do you think? I had a good laugh about it afterwards 😁.

Otro día fui a una parte más moderna de la ciudad y me topé con unos edificios muy llamativos, dos torres inclinadas que luego supe son muy famosas, se llaman Puerta de Europa y miden 115 metros. Bueno, quise tomarme una foto allí entre ellas y esperé un rato a que alguien pasara para pedirle el favor, me la tomaron, pero vean el resultado: no sólo no salieron las torres completas, además de eso un vehículo se paró justo detrás de mí en ese momento y sus ocupantes posaron también para la foto, ¿qué les parece? Luego me reí mucho de esto 😁.

047.jpg

048.jpg

I also went to El Rastro, a flea market that takes place on weekends in the street and where you can get absolutely everything, new and used things, you can spend the whole day there browsing. I was there for quite a while, but don't get distracted, in one of the streets, while I was looking at things in a stall, I felt a slight pull on my shoulder and when I turned around it was a little boy who was trying to open the zipper of my wallet, I was shocked, and he was even more shocked when I caught him, he ran away, fortunately he couldn't steal anything from me.

También estuve por El Rastro, un mercadillo que se hace los fines de semana en la vía pública y donde puedes conseguir absolutamente de todo, cosas nuevas y usadas, tranquilamente puedes pasar todo el día allí curioseando. Yo estuve un buen rato, pero no hay que distraerse, en una de las calles, mientras veía cosas en un puesto, sentí un ligero jalón en mi hombro y al voltear era un niño que estaba tratando de abrir el cierre de mi cartera, quedé impactada, y él más cuando lo pillé, salió corriendo, afortunadamente no pudo robarme nada.

050.jpg

049.jpg

This was my little tour around the super attractive and exciting Madrid, I don't know how many kilometers I walked, but I love to spend all my energy when I go to a new place, either for work or for pleasure. I think we should always take advantage of the time because, who knows if we will have the opportunity to come back, wouldn't you have done the same?

Este fue mi pequeño recorrido por la súper atractiva y excitante Madrid, no sé cuantos kilómetros caminé, pero me encanta gastar todas mis energías cuando voy a un lugar nuevo, ya sea por trabajo o por placer. Pienso que siempre hay que aprovechar el tiempo porque, quién sabe si tendremos la oportunidad de volver, ¿ustedes no hubiesen hecho lo mismo?

051.jpg

052.jpg



THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG! / ¡GRACIAS POR VISITAR MI BLOG!



All photos are my property / Todas las fotos son de mi propiedad

Sort:  

An amazing report!!!!... Thank you for sharing @sofathana friend!

!discovery 35
!VSC
!PIZZA

Thank you sooo much dear @jlinaresp! A hug 😊

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @sofathana

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @sofathana

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 9/25

🤣🤣🤣🤣 elegiste al peor fotógrafo para que te tomara esa foto jajaja, de broma salen las bases de las torres 🤦🏻‍♀️ y mira a los otros del auto, qué descaro 😂😂😂😂🤷🏻‍♀️

Que vaina con los choros, hay que andar mosca 👀

Ese fue el "fotógrafo" que me tocó jajaja, ni modo... ¿Viste? Hasta sonrieron para la foto, descaro total 😂.

Pues sí, en ningún lugar de mundo hay que relajarse, ¡los amigos de lo ajeno pueden aparecer donde sea!

Quede enamorado de madrid con tus fotos!!! que arquitectura tan hermosa y que bonita cultura, definitivamente quiero visitarla algun dia

¡Muchas gracias @malos10! Allá sacarás 100 mil fotos jejeje 😃 ¡saludos!

Oh another trip abroad and this time without mom :)

Although I've been in Spain a few times, I've never been in Madrid. It looks like a great city to visit.

And yes, walking is the best way to see a new place!

😄 Work is work. I would like to travel abroad with her again, we have only been to Argentina together and Greece, she has always wanted to go to Brazil, and I didn't take her when I went because I was going backpacker style.

Madrid is great! Hey, and what places did you visit in Spain? In other opportunities I was in Tenerife and Barcelona.

I have been in Barcelona a few times and Valencia which I liked the most although most people would say that Barcelona is the best!

Barcelona is cool! I've seen pictures from Valencia, and it looks interesting.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much! 😊


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thanks so much for your support! 😊

Congratulations @sofathana! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 5000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2183.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

😃 Thank you so much! 😊

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jlinaresp(8/10) tipped @sofathana