Sort:  

I remember as a kid, my mum would make us treats and they weren't sugar-loaded things. I think, once kids start interacting with others, watching TV and all, that they see other, less healthy, things and the marketers make them so appealing that they want and need them. From there treats come to mean sugar I guess.

Yes, these were exactly my thoughts. I've noticed that if they don't see them, they don't need 'em.

There was a time when life was so much more simple and treats were less desirable, but sugar is addictive and so we are where we are. I'm no expert on it, but I think the use of sugar has increased exponentially since the mid 1700's to now where it's present in almost all our foods in one form or another.

I dont know how old are you, but O think you're a bit older than me. Still I know those times, when sugar and sweets were associated with fruits, homemade cakes and pastry. There were some sweets that we used to buy (like ice cream, chocolate and crunchy waffles) but still, 90% the treats would have been a cake, a pudding or something made at home.

Indeed sugar is addictive. I love sweet foods, cakes, etc. And even though for the last 10 years, my focus was to learn about and practice healthy habits and ALL health related topics (also studying to become a technician nutritionist) , I found it hard to keep away from sweets and cakes.
So what I'm trying to say is that I am SO SO AWARE of sugar and how addictive and bad it is...and yet, I struggle with it. So what about those kids and non informed people out there who consume it like in everything and everywhere?

I think there was a study that showed that sugar is (almost) addictive as cocaine...hopefully my memory doesnt fails me.

Btw, I was about to write an entry for last weekend's topic and I was thinking to write about this one : One thing I dont regret is that I studied nutrition. That really changed my life and my kid's life. So yeah...I think there was a topic from the 5 ones that sounds like this am I right? Still I was so busy last weekend with my family from Canada coming over, I missed it. So here' my answer in short! 😅😊😁

Ok. Sorry sorry for my long reply! I dont want to get you tired with my thoughts, but it feels nice to interact a bit. Hehe ☺️

I don't know how old are you, but I think you're a bit older than me.

I'm 52, so...pretty much a dinosaur. And yes, I remember when treats were home made and didn't have to contain a lot of sugar. These days it seems there's sugar in everything and people seem addicted to it.

I saw you're an nutritionist and so I didn't get too complicated in my answer as you clearly know more about it than I do. I am type 2 diabetic though, and have spent a lot of time researching foods, additives and what to eat and what not to eat. To me, carbohydrates are the same as sugars and it's amazing what foods have a lot of carbohydrates in them, vegetables even, and of course, carrots, peas and fruit are high in sugars that are not good for me. I get by though, have them in small quantities and am overall very fit and healthy. An active lifestyle helps too.

I am SO SO AWARE of sugar and how addictive and bad it is...and yet, I struggle with it. So what about those kids and non informed people out there who consume it like in everything and everywhere?

This is a good point for sure. You, as an aware and savvy person are still attracted to the sugar, it doesn't leave much hope for those who don't have your understanding. And with marketers targeting those very people...Hmm, this is why there's so many issues.

I think there was a study that showed that sugar is (almost) addictive as cocaine

I believe you're right.

You're right, I had a topic asking to: Finish the sentence which revolved around what we don't regret. I understand that people don't always have the time to respond so no worries, your real life comes first. If you want to do the topic as a post though, feel free. It doesn't matter that the deadline for the concept is over for that week.

And also, never apologise for long comments or engaging with me, it is welcome.

Hey, sorry for my LATE LATE LATE reply. I find myself quite often in this situation but I prefer leaving a late reply than not to. So here I am. I was in vacation for the last week but I came home earlier because I got the freaking covid virus shit. Aghhh I'm so mad! Sorry about that...it's my first time having covid and I got it after 4 days of vacation. Its so frustrating. Now my husband and 3.5 yrs old got it, we're all sick at home, feeling like crap, instead of being on the beach, enjoying some sushi with friends... Well...anyways!

ME:

I dont know how old are you, but I think you're a bit older than me.

52 is a lot "bit older" 😁😆😂 but age is just a number. It's not what defines us right?

Yes, carbs are pretty much same as sugar! I'm sorry you have to deal with this condition, it's not easy even though I know you get used to it.

No worries on the late reply and I hope your covid thing isn't too difficult to deal with; it's not a nice way to end a vacation at all.

I don't stress about my age, but joke about it all the time. At 52 I'm still rockin' it and don't feel like I'm on the decline mentally at all. Physically, well yeah I'm not 32 anymore, but having said that...I'm still rockin' it. I go ok for an old dinosaur I guess is what I'm trying to say.