You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Indoor Garden Update - Cloning

Hi Jacob, you've got enough room in this tent to set up a bed and sleep with your plants! 🛏️
I bet they would enjoy the company 😜
I was going to ask how much those green neon lights in the corners cost
image.png
But I think they are just painted bright green and the reflections make it look like they are giving off light.
My nephew told me that the plants have to have ABSOLUTE darkness after the growth period (something like 10 hrs a day) to force the gender to female.
Any insights?

↑Upvoted↑and←Reblogged→

Sort:  

Hi Jerry,
Thank you for the kind words!

The bars do look neon and like they are giving off light but it's just the paint and reflection from the intense LED lights. The LED lights are much brighter in real life than how they appear in the photos. Apparently some of the spectrums produced are even more intense than the sun. Despite finding this hard to believe, I'm wearing sun glasses in the tent to be safe.

My nephew told me that the plants have to have ABSOLUTE darkness after the growth period (something like 10 hrs a day) to force the gender to female.
Any insights?

Correct! Yes they need a darkness period and it needs to be completely dark or the plants could hermaphrodize. The general practice is 12/12 on/off light cycle for cannabis.

I hope you are doing well, thanks for stopping by my friend.

Glad to have that confirmed (about the light)
At this point it may be next year, (or perhaps over next winter) before I try anything