Spanish Joint - Ed Privat

in DTube3 years ago


Hi!

This is a cover I've been practicing for years, and every year I play it to check where my level is at.

It's a song from D'angelo's album "Voodoo" that revolutionized the Soul and Neo Soul genre, the song was not even recorded until very late in the production of the album:

“Spanish Joint” was one of the last songs to be recorded on the Voodoo project. In the interview below Russell Elevado describes how D was wrapping up the sessions at Electric Lady Studios and then remembered that “Spanish Joint” had been left unrecorded.
source

As for myself, I try to add a little more each and every time, this version focuses on the bass line and keeping the Latin rhythm while still playing the chords and riff. It's a great workout for the independence of the voice and fingers, and only recently I managed to keep the rhythm going, after 15 years of practice.
Damn, it took some time!

Ed

New album "Aimée" available:


https://www.facebook.com/Edprivat/​
https://www.instagram.com/edprivat1/​
https://www.edprivat.com/
https://twitter.com/ed_privat

Thanks for watching, and for the support ^^


▶️ DTube
Sort:  

Brilliant homie keep it going

Thanks dude ^^

Great interpretation with your voice and guitar, it is a very demanding piece, congratulations!

Thanks so much my friend! I am gonna start working on your request soon 😁

So great!!!Thanks a lot!

No problem the song is amazing. Understand that I work bit by bit, so it might be ready in a month time!

I know it's going to be a great cover, thank you very much!

Pretty nice tune and playing.
I want to thank you for the recent group of people you have been spotlighting or bringing in, some nice musicians you have been finding.

Thanks buddy! I have more friends from Instagram that I am trying to bring in, one friend that is into the wim hof method, and I think he would do great here. All these great people add more value to the blockchain :)

It is pretty nice to have some musicians/bands on Hive. Radio where I am is stuck in the past, and youtube is stuck in the past even more so, and the alternatives only highlight what the masses want. Hive allows the musicians to be free wheeling with their music, they don't need to cater to a centralized organization in order to be heard.

I am hoping the music makers can find a real home somewhere on the block chain where they just do what they like, they may find some people that like their own unique style and not the corporate style so many centralized places are looking for.

I am hoping the music makers can find a real home somewhere on the block chain where they just do what they like, they may find some people that like their own unique style and not the corporate style so many centralized places are looking for.

It's always difficult to bring musicians if there's no incentive, I feel that eventually the payment will be sufficient to make good musos stay here and stick around!

One day the block chain technology will enable selling of concert type tickets where the performance is done safely on the chain and no outsiders can re-stream the show. Can you imagine thousands of viewers and all the proceeds going to the artist, no middle men involved. Then if someone could work out how to not let people record the show they can sell discount viewing tickets forever.

That would be great though...a sort of an NFT live ticket...

Excellent, quality tune and you bring great emotion and passion to it... the setting looks idyllic there too... Happy days ☀️

Thanks homie; yeah this is just like the shire in LOTR around the area. I am outside all day everyday haha.

Excellent man!! I always love being outdoors but only really get out and about properly at weekends...

Your guitar style reminded me a bit of Preston Reed at times... My friend plays the guitar like that, with percussion and just instrumental... its class to listen, especially live where you can watch his craft

Dude, you cannot put me in the same sentence as Preston Reed. He is obviously levels above!

Seriously the style you were using there reminded me of him! I take it you're a fan :)

Keep on rocking 🤟

you too buddy haha

Practice makes perfect and after 15 years you nailed this one.
I listened to several of the songs on your new album. I especially enjoyed the song, All My Life!
Great web page at edprivat.com, very professionally done.
Good luck with all of your wonderful music.

Oh my goood! Thanks so much for your awesome comment, and the fact that you enjoyed All My Lyfe (with a Y, it's important, so it doesn't get drowned by the other famous song "All My Life" in the search engines 😄) means so much to me!

The website will be redesigned a bit soon thanks for your awesome vibe!

That's funny that I didn't pick up the Y in LYFE.
Great idea changing up the spelling of the word for the purpose you mentioned.
Hope all is well!

All is well, a bit of a cold from the kids, might be the big C, might not, but we ain't gonna find out... Just a damn cold... Me I am fine, working on the farm today, what about you?

Damn good hearing you sing again man and you did awesome on that cover brosef, shit! I'd say you keeping your skills in tact 😎 🤘

Thanks homie! I am happy you passed by!

Congratulations @edprivat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 9000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Happy Birthday to the Hive Community

That's really cool thanks!

You're welcome @edprivat, well done 😊

Nice song @edprivat. Lots of emotion in that one.
Congratulations.

Thank you so much friend, this one meant a lot to me!

Oh brother, you are the real deal. Be proud of yourself. Never doubt your talent. But more importantly, your love of family . Outstanding!!!!!!

!wine


Cheers @edprivat, Thank You For Inviting @farm-mom To A Glass Of WINE.
At The Moment You Don't Have Enough WINE Staked To Order A Glass Of WINE From @wine.bot.
Please Refill Your Barrels By Directly Buying WINE From Marketplace & Make Sure You Have Atleast 25.00 WINE In Staked Wallet.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24816.918 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.270 HIVE

Yay! 🤗
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points.
Continue earning Points just by using https://ecency.com, every action is rewarded (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).

Support Ecency, check our proposal:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Awesome! Thanks!