Think With Caffeine #63: You Can Always Tip

in Rant, Complain, Talk3 years ago

thinkwithcaffeine.png

With so many tokens circulating out there, why not make a good use of it?

About a few days ago I had a very low VP while I was very active curating and reading content on Hive. That low VP hindeed my ability to reward the authors that I like. So I have to think ways to reward the authors that I think deserve more. I started using tip to do that. Not only during when my VP was low, I also do it for authors whose post has reached its payout. I think that features has always been helping me appreciate content creators whose content is already due its payout.

I think a content life shouldn't be too short but I suppose it is the nature of social media these days. Everything moves fast. One day we talk about bitcoin mooning, the next day we talk about bitcoin crashed, and repeat. I don't think generally anyone will read something that is already behind its payout or even three days after it is published. But I am someone who likes exploring many communities, reading, and always on the lookout for exceptional new authors and content when I am not that occupied.

Though there are different tokens circulating out there, I still don't think that's efficient way to tip especially for users who don't know how to use hive-engine or is relatively new. That's just my preference. So, I always opt for straight-forward option which is the tipping feature on peakd.com. I don't know how many practice this but it would be nice to see more people doing it.

Line_Break2.png

Mac

Line_Break2.png

Mac covers technology, philosophy, nootropics, books, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, she enjoys learning art and exploring new hobbies.
Sort:  

I couldn't agree more. Tipping is one of the major reasons that PeakD is my favorite front end. I used tips early on when I first came to Hive, when my votes were too low to show the support I thought some content deserved, and still do for exceptional content. Mostly, though, I use it now to show appreciation for posts that are past their payout. Hopefully someday more front ends will make the tipping feature readily available, and other people will see its use. It doesn't take a whole lot of Hive to show someone that they made a post you found entertaining or useful, no matter now long ago it was!

 3 years ago (edited) 

I used tips early on when I first came to Hive, when my votes were too low to show the support I thought some content deserved

We need more people like you. I hope it will be finally implemented to hive.blog as I stumble upon users who are still using Hive.blog exclusively instead of peakd.com; I use them interchangeably but slowly leaving hive.blog. And again, agreed! it doesn't take more than 10 hive to show appreciation to someone's post that deserved it. In the past @whatamidoing had an initiative about dead post where users would showcase the post that due its payout. I suppose, it would be nice to have an initiatives like that again especially now we have means to tip and send token.

I like the idea about propping up dead posts! A 'Dead Curation' initiative 🤣. Could be a fun Hive 'Day of the Dead' celebration!

Wow.. Issue #63. Wonderful

Been a while I have been in your comment section but somehow, I found my way here.

Truth, many people may not have interest in reading contents past it's payout. Moreover there are not really many people who scroll through contents like you. I do that before when I was very active with engagement on Hive but now, I am in the most busiest part of my life and only try to make time consistently blogging with a little engaging.

 3 years ago  

haha yeah, I can't believe I am doing this consistently too. Today will be #64 and I am hoping to continue a whole year doing this everyday , if possible. Much like you, when I am bit busy, I generally don't check that many post or even venturing in different communities to see what's up. But I make up my time by checking them later and tip it when necessary. What have you been busy with these days?

I have resumed school.. I thought school would be less busy compared to when I do work but now it is tough for me to have a scheduled time to focus on things on Hive and one for school unlike when I was working.

Now, it's either I spend very less time for school activities to be on Hive or do the opposite. Quite very tough to balance. Maybe that's why I haven't been seeing @jason04 active again. He just went MIA.

 3 years ago (edited) 

I've been here since my 4th semester and like you, I thought; it's easy to balance school, work, and hive but honestly, it's challenging. The time management that worked for me in the past is 2 hours for hive, and check it whenever there's break time from school or work. Somehow, I always find ways to manage it. Maybe because a lot of my hobbies are technology related so I am always near to my laptop all the time. But yeah there are days when I can't be on my laptop or some activities takes more time than the others, that's when a bit sacrifice needed.

And yeah, it's been a while since I see @jason4 active.

I do my blogging on my phone, and I can't do without going about with my phone. So most times, I get distracted with things of Hive plus notifications from ginabot also.

Talking about bot, have you heard of F.R.I.D.A.Y notification bot. It's new and has a better look. I like it more compared to gina but I am used to gina.

Thanks so much for the tip 🤗🤗🤗

 3 years ago  

I try to read posts that are past a few days and past payout when I can. I'm always searching for things, even if it's passed the approved time for rewards. I get the need for balance between too long of a reward window and too short of one. Hopefully we can integrate tipping in Hive.blog but I also wouldn't be too opposed to that site redirecting to PeakD honestly lol. The hive.blog, steemit.com and other incredibly vanilla front ends don't do a heck of a lot to attract people I think.

I haven't routinely done tipping but I have tried it and it's indeed an awesome feature! I'm glad that lately my voting power has been getting used up quicker, given that votes are worth more from a monetary standpoint.