Koopwaar Kopen in Lawang Sewu - Getting An Enamel Coffee Mug

in Market Fridaylast year

Koopwar!

When I first heard about Koopwar, I thought the meaning was a store but after asking the staff, koopwar means merchandise. I guess if you speak dutch you'd instantly know what my post mean but it can be transalated, roughly as buying merchandise in lawang sewu. Also, I know it’s not Friday anymore but just because it fits the whole community thing and description, either way, I am going to take you exploring Lawang Sewu Koopwar or Lawang Sewu Merchandise store.

DSC00596.JPG

In Semarang, the Dutch influence is quite strong and still present. Not just its architecture but also its food and some languages that are still used to name mostly the food and some iconic places in the city. I visited Lawang Sewu just because it’s iconic and also a must-visit while in the city. The place was really packed especially when it’s the weekend. People from all over the country are going into the place and they didn’t mind queuing in the heat and a brief drizzle. I was slightly anxious because many of the people didn’t wear masks and it was quite stuffy to be surrounded by a lot of people but either way, I did not regret checking out the place.

I know Lawang Sewu because of its notorious horror stories and I grew up watching a horror movie that was filmed in the area. But after visiting the place, it’s actually pretty fine and not horror as the movie made it to be. Among many inside the area that actually attracted my attention was the koopwar place. It was located on the third building adjacent to the main building. The koopwar place isn’t really visible from the garden but somehow, I found myself checking out the place. It wasn’t as packed as the other buildings but occasional strollers and curious people got into it.

I told myself that I won’t be bringing any souvenirs and that it’s going to either clutter my room or my parent’s house. So, my first intention was only strolling around and checking out the merchandise and things that they sell. But you know, sometimes after a good stroll, sometimes the things sort of talk to you. They want to be adopted and bought. So, eventually, you’d get some knick knacks.

DSC00597.JPG

A boutique of all Indonesian multicultural items.

In this place there are two exhibition displays. At the first exhibition, there was a lot of Indonesian fashion. They are from different parts of Indonesia and I even heard a conversation between a couple from Sumba and the staff who basically said that the traditional Sumba cloth in that place is way cheaper than from its original place. Their conversation continued even touching on how Sumba marriage tradition is quite expensive. To me, It was interesting to see many traditional fashions from sandals, clothes, fabrics, shirts, headpieces and accessories that are sold in the place. It’s quite complete and very colorful as you can see below. It was a boutique of all Indonesian multicultural items.

DSC00594.JPG

DSC00605.JPG

DSC00593.JPG

DSC00591.JPG

Another room that is connected to it displays more Semarang merchandise and specific Lawang Sewu merchandise. In the second room, I mostly see a lot of middle aged men buying stone pestles. It was really odd to see them attracted to that, one even said, “ it’s from real stone, we can make decent sambal (spicy paste) with it”. There are more knick knacks and some shirts that have Semarang or Lawang Sewu printed on them. One that caught my attention the most is the traditional coffee cup and enamelware.

DSC00590.JPG

Enamelware

During old times, people used to use enamelware and these days, cafes with an old styled theme used enamel mug to serve their drinks. Enamelware is also quite the signature of Central Java and that’s how people did it during colonial times and even during my grandparents time when they served the guests using enamelware.

DSC00584.JPG

Anyway, I am such a sucker for a coffee cup and after a good hour of stroll, I decided to get one. Enamelware in this place was quite colorful and they even have a big jug that people use to store water. All this enamelware was inexpensive and it is quite functional too. I actually asked myself a couple of questions before getting the smallest enamel mug. I think the mug will be my travel companion since they can fit my backpack along with the wooden spoon and fork that I got from the place. I saw enamel mug is also often sold at outdoor adventure stores. So, why not get one with cute prints and cute color!

DSC00586.JPG

In the store, they accept various payments and there is no limit if you want to use a card. So, instead of spending cash and though it was a very small purchase I opted for a card. They also have e-payment enabled. So, despite being located in historical places, they are pretty advanced with their payment system. One thing about the place is that they charge extra cents for the paper bag.

After leaving the store, I felt like my trip was complete. It was really fun strolling around the store and checking out the knick knacks they sold like you see below!

DSC00585.JPG

DSC00587.JPG

DSC00589.JPG

DSC00588.JPG

thumbnail.jpg

Hope You Enjoyed This article! If you do, don't hesitate to upvote or comment. You can also support me below!



image.png𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢. 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘫𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘯𝘦𝘺 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘰 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭, 𝘯𝘰𝘰𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘴, 𝘱𝘳𝘰𝘥𝘶𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘮𝘪𝘯𝘪𝘮𝘢𝘭𝘪𝘴𝘵 𝘭𝘪𝘧𝘦𝘴𝘵𝘺𝘭𝘦, 𝘤𝘺𝘣𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘤𝘶𝘳𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘢𝘯𝘨𝘶𝘢𝘨𝘦𝘴. 𝘐𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘧𝘳𝘦𝘦 𝘵𝘪𝘮𝘦, 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘫𝘰𝘺𝘴 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘷𝘢𝘳𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘯𝘨𝘴. 𝘐𝘧 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘭𝘪𝘬𝘦 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘯𝘵, 𝘥𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥.
Sort:  

Oh nice they have those Egyptian... Uhm... What would one call them 🙄 uhhm.. Yeah Ive got no clue.. That stuff in the first photo to tje right🙄😅😅

Those enamel cups would last you a life time, they are still going quite strong in South Africa, it's also like a traditional thing here. Well of the sorts. But it makes sense because we do sort of origanate from the Dutch, Netherlands, Germany and most. Of the country's on that side of the world.. But mostly Dutch..

Be careful they tend to sting a bit when making hot coffee in them. 😅😅

Do you speak dutch too or just Afrikaan and English? Interesting! I guess former dutch colonies shares a few common cultural thing too. I wouldn't expect that they also do that in South Africa! thanks for the warning, it's gonna be my first time making coffee in those enamel mugs.

No, I speak Afrikaans 😂 and English.

I supposs we do yeah, we even have enamel plates and stuff. Although the quality of those that are produced today isn't the same anymore..
A
Laughs I bet 90% of households in SA has atleast one of those cups😂

No problem those are amazing camping mugs, you can drink coffee with them and beat the lions and monkeys with them.

lmao, I can see how it can be handy as weapon too, it certainly stings especially if you hit someone with it. Thanks for checking out and answering my curiosity!

Loading...

Ohh woah!!!! 🤩🤩🤩 I loved all those colors Mac, I love those fabric prints, I've always loved them and those dream catchers, how big! 😱 I've never seen them that big before, they are beautiful! 🥰

I too would have fallen for that mug that spoke to you 😅, definitely!, here too my grandparents used that enameled crockery, but I remember seeing it always white, to see it in those beautiful colors, it is definitely something very special, I would also carry it with me everywhere and more if it is small.

You have a lot of willpower, I admire you! I would have bought everything I saw along the way, I really like colorful things and even more when they have meaning.

Cheers! Nice post and photos @macchiata 🤗💞.

Dalla, I have to get back to you soon🤣 I am behind on many comments and I haven't had my coffee, totally horrible!so I'll definitely get back to you!

HAHAHAHAH @macchiata Don't worry 😅😅😅, besides, without coffee we can't think 💀, I understand and I'm sure you have a lot of work to do, relax 🤗.

I know right! they were really tempting to buy but I know, I am just going to clutter my room. I actually make rules not to buy anything that I won't use once I arrive. I actually didn't know that enamelware is worldwide famous. I think because it's durable, many people use it. I like how creative that store with the colors because it's quite rare for me to find those cups in different colors too. Trust me, I also want to buy everything in that store buttt it's the money hahaha. So, yeah I always consider stuff before buying :DD Thanks for checking out, sorry it takes a while for me to get back here.

No escribiré mucho para no quitarte tiempo, gracias por tomarte el tiempo de responderme Mac. 💞

They have great merchandise to choose from that you can gift to someone or simply added it as a decoration in your own home. ☺️

Yes! I actually like that they sell enamel and wooden utensils for really fair price. In fact, it was cheaper than where I am from!

Oh, that's a good deal indeed. Love the banana leaf like thingy. If I am there I'd probably bought it.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @macchiata ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Wow good for Christmas presents. The green tea pots are the best. Indonesia has a lot of beautiful souvenirs that represent their own culture.

That's true! I was wanting the tea/water pot but then I'd be cluttering my room. So nope 😄

Hehehe..after cluttering you buy new ones.😂

I'm really interested with herbs this past few months looking to candle plus herbs feels like heaven. Uwu, I am in my grands house at the moment and just used these morning the enamel mug that they says been there cups ever since I am still not yet born whaha.

Oh wow! that means these mugs are pretty durable. I can imagine though, they are made from iron and can probably last years since if they fall, they're not breaking either. What was the color of the mug, was it just plain?

Hi @macchiata! I loved everything you show from this store, really beautiful.

Thank you for checking this out!

Dear @macchiata,
Your support for the current HiveSQL proposal (#138) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal so HiveSQL can stay free to use for the community?
You can support the new proposal (#247) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

I thought I supported it. Thanks for reminding & I supported it already.

Thank you for your support @macchiata, really appreciate it! 👍
Without imposing and as we are in a renewal period for proposals, if you could take a look at the HiveBuzz Proposal Renewal as well 😁