Roasted foods in Ghana (mankani)

in Market Friday2 years ago

5780711207014086675_121.jpg

Today I'm bringing you a fantastic market scene. It is a street market created today on Tafo Mampong Road in Ghana's Ashanti Region. Let me take a moment to thank @dswigle for making each weekend's #marketfriday so memorable. It has returned for everyone's participation. If you haven't already done so, please join in on the fun that is felt every Friday on the hive blockchain.

I was driving along Tafo Road today, looking for something to eat. It was a scorching day in the sun. Looking around got me closer to this spot when I noticed the kind of traditional cuisine I was looking for. To satisfy my desire, I wanted something more local and immediate. And having this was really a fantastic complement for me.

5780711207014086674_121.jpg

5780711207014086671_121.jpg

5780711207014086672_121.jpg

This is common and may be spotted on practically every street in Ghana. Women have been observed preparing and this regional dish for sale. It's one of the few meals I look forward to, particularly in the afternoon. It is a food joint that specializes on roasted foods. Various foods are roasted and sold at these establishments. They come in a variety of shapes and sizes. However, the majority of them are tubers, corns and plantains. This lady was here today with roasted cocoyams, plantains, and yams waiting on fire. When the meal is done, it is set on the fire so that everybody may view it and make a decision.

They don't need any special sauce, soup, or anything else before eating. Ghanaians usually eat them raw after roasting. It is very simple and convenient to consume. When you're driving, walking, working, or doing anything else, you may still have some roasted cocoyam or plantains, like the ones I purchased today. Its preparation is challenging since need so much attention while on the fire at all times to avoid being burned.

5780711207014086687_121.jpg

5780711207014086681_121.jpg

 roasted plantains, cocoyam and yams.

One of the reasons I like these meals is how simple it is to consume them. They are usually appealing as well. Because I don't eat a lot of outside cuisine, I enjoy roasted dinners like this. The lack of spices and other ingredients makes them healthier for my usage. One roasted cocoyam or plantain costs $0.35 today with these. Buying two pieces of roasted cocoyam or plantian today was enough to keep me satisfied for the rest of my lunch or dinner. It seems to be OK to eat them with roasted groundnuts at times. I'm eager to introduce this food as a part of Ghanaian culture. I hope you like what I'm sharing today as part of my participation in #marketfriday.

5780711207014086685_121.jpg

 photos by @mcsamm

Posts are set to 100% powerups.
Thank You for your support, @mcsamm

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing with us this local and special meal.