The market after Christmas festivity.

in Market Friday2 years ago

During the Christmas season, the numerous marketplaces in Ghana were overrun with shoppers. It was quite tough to navigate the market. Another topic of discussion was vehicular mobility. I've been waiting to see how the market will look after the holidays. I anticipate that the market will not be as congested as it was over the holiday season.

20190111_113617.jpg

Today led me to the Kejetia market, which is one of the largest in Kumasi's green city. This is the section of the central market that connects the Adum road and the PZ market. This location seems to be well-organized but crowded. The kejetia market, as observed now, does not seem to be typical. The large crowd that has gathered is as it has always been.

Even after the holiday season is passed, people can still be spotted on the market's main thoroughfare. I went through this portion on my way to where I could get some yams and tubers. My wife would need some yams for the weekend, so I went to the market today to assist her. The good news is that the cost of these yams are now cheaper than they were throughout the Christmas season.

20181214_133451.jpg

20181214_133429.jpg

20181214_133443.jpg

Commodity prices rose due to increased demand, as they do in all situations. The price rose over the holiday season was caused by an increase in demand. Because there isn't much demand for them right now, the prices are lower than usual. I was relieved to find around five yam tubers. Ghana is fortunate to have food available all year. Thank you to the farmers for working so hard to guarantee that food is available across the country at all times.

Interestingly, each of the yam tubers I bought today cost roughly $1.5, which is about GHC7. As a result, purchasing five of them was permissible to take home. I'm happy to share my experience at the Kejetia market with my readers on #marketfriday, which is the inspiration of @dswigle. This is the Kejetia market after the Christmas festivities.

20181207_104357.jpg

Posts are set to 100% powerups.
Thank You for your support, @mcsamm

Sort:  

Venezuelan market places are very similar to those shown in your pictures .

That's good to know, happy weekend dear.

I am always amazed at the traffic that keeps moving through this market! It is a true traffic jam, yes? I have to admit that the market looks nicer, perhaps not being as overwhelmed with the holiday traffic?

I see my YAMS!! :) You know really love these!!! Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday! I cannot tell you how pleased I am to see so many participating every week. I have learned so much about the different cultures of the world, especially the small things that go unnoticed except by those looking for it. Life is interesting, wherever you are, whatever you are doing. I hope the New Year finds you healthy and happy, as we all look to prosper in our way of life.

#MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers markets and eventually branching out and evolving over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but, it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact of what is these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world.

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:


Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!

  1. Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
    Take pictures! Be creative!
  2. Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost?
  3. Post the picture(s) Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post
  4. Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post #hive-196308 (this is not required, but appreciated)
    5. Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it
  5. Following me and reblogging the post so more see it would be appreciated !! Not a rule, just appreciated, more vision for more views on your posts!
    7. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post. If you don't and someone reads it, there is nothing to tie #MarketFriday to that post.
  6. Please only one post each week. Believe it not, I run out of voting power if you put in many more than that.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!