Vintage Thrifting - Market Friday

in Market Friday10 months ago (edited)

thrift 9.jpg
Wooden hand carved candle holders

Life of a Retiree

One of the best things in life that a retiree could have is time. I have come to a point in life where I do not have to check my watch or phone to check what time it is... and to hurry up to come home from work. Being a retiree, you do not have to worry if you are being caught not doing anything. You have all the time in the world, no stress, you decide on your own as you manage your time.

Since I have been working on my health issues lately, I am trying to manage my activities and one of them is walking and exercising to regain muscle deficiency which was a result of losing almost 20 kilos weight at the time of the sudden death of my beloved husband.

thrift 6.jpg
My haul from a thrift store: a pair of carved wooden candle holders, a rustic red wooden plate, a memo magnet pad and a leather book or magazine holder.

Thrifting

Being alone doesn't mean one is lonely. I have my family and friends who are checking on me. They push me up no matter what the distance is. Now. I have the time in the world and I want to continue with the hobbies I´ve been doing since ages. I like to scour the flea markets as I love old things that had stories in their past. Others do this with passion, trying to wake up very early to get the best bargains. My goal visiting a flea market is to be able to find things that I like. Sometimes, I´d go home without a haul. It's the escapades in interacting with people and experiencing the commotions and their happy faces that smile when they are able to make a bargain.

thrift 5.jpg

The Haul

As for my finds, I discovered them in a thrift store called Carla, it is a charitable institution of Caritas Vienna, that carries all things vintage and secondhand articles donated by people who no longer need them. The proceeds go to help homeless people and other charitable projects.

I carefully cleaned the candle holder from the wax and a patina of green and black hues came out which are lovely. I suspect that this pair had been made in Africa as I have a similar carved candle holder brought by the husband from his trip to Kenya.

thrift 1.jpg
Wooden hand painted plate

This is a rustic wooden plate that is hand painted mostly by housewives from the countryside to earn extra income while at home. I have a few collections and I think they are lovely. I added this plate on that wall.

thrift 4.jpg,
I also found this magnetic memo pad for the wall in art deco style. It reminded me of the Metro stations while visiting Paris.

thrift 3.jpg

Lack of Wall Space?

Three years ago, we decided to downsize our 4 bedroom house with a garden and moved to a 2 bedroom flat with a balcony to have an easy life and more time for ourselves instead of working for its maintenance. Since we have many travel Memorabilia and some artworks, the only place I could think of is to make the wall of the comfort room into a gallery. This is the smallest room that has wall space, so I put some of the travel souvenirs to camouflage the empty wall and added bookshelves on one side. The books are mostly art books, craft books and cooking and baking books.

thruft 21.jpg

There´s plenty of dusting work to do in this small space, but I don´t worry, it is not boring as I have all the time in the world..... afterall, I am a retiree!

Thank you for reading my blog, and thanks to @dswigle for creating the Market Friday Community.

Hope to see you soon!
xoxo,
Mers

6. GIF by @Gremayo.gif

GIF by @gremayo
All images are by @mers

Sort:  

I was like; how does it feels when I hit the retiree age? The intro post sounds like calm & relaxing and a lot time for yourself ma'am @mers. I'm happy that your doing well and there's a lot more place that you could share to us. Unlike me all o have is water world and it's flood

It is already rainy months that is why there is plenty of water... Be careful though.

You have a beautiful gallery of memorabilia and artwork! And it looks so tidy too!

Thanks @cindy08 for dropping by, am glad you like the gallery.

Wow, you are still busy as bee. I love all your haul. And, your mini gallery is indeed a brilliant idea.

Lol, thank you. I have all the time in the world..

There's lots of cool stuff in thrift stores, I once found a leather jacket worth about a thousand dollars and paid twenty for it! Whenever I have a chance I always like to browse!

Indeed, you never know what you''ll find during your visit. Some of the dealers and vendors sometimes do not care what they have , but the experienced sellers know if the goods really have values.

Very true, nothing ventured nothing gained!

Those are interesting finds.

Oh yes they are..the most important thing is to enjoy scouring the market, you'll never know what to discover. Thanks for dropping by.

That must feel good after working for so long, yes? Walking from place to place, without care, only to worry about nourishing the body. :)

I can understand downsizing the house. I never could, but, the upkeep is definitely a reason to keep it in mind. I don't mind now, but, will I mind in ten or twenty years? One of those things that we don't think about until it knocks on our back door.

It seems like you have been taking good care of yourself and you are working on keeping your health and mental health in good shape. Being active and doing the things you enjoy doing keep us feeling good about life. You have found a fun way to pass the time and enjoy the good life. I love thrifting - neither one of us needs anything, but, there are things that are lovely to look at. I thank God for good friends and relatives that you have to keep looking in on your life. You must be a good person to have that many looking after you. 💜

Thank you for sharing your thrifting and for the peek at your gallery! So nice looking. I also like that magnetic memo that you have!

#MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers' markets, and eventually branched out and evolved over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, and even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact that these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can be beneficial to a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you and it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world.

Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday

My goodness Denise, you always inspire me with your soothing words as well as your beautiful flowers!.. I have to keep my sanity so I try to regain the weight loss. I still have issues with the husband's estate and I hope to settle this before the year ends. There are still so many things I need to tackle and when it's over, I can say I am free. I am free to explore more markets and go to places. First, I need to go to Spain to fix the property issue, then I need to visit my family in the Philippines and hopefully to the US visit friends and relatives.

I wish you a beautiful and great week ahead, stay pretty and always an inspiration to others. God bless you more my dear Denise.

This wall is interesting to watch. And plenty of stories to tell.

My bro said I might not be able to come out of this place...lololol!

The wall is no doubt in a small place but has very classy vibes.

Thanks for leaving a lovely comment. Glad you visited my blog.

Congratulations @mers! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - June 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the July edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2023

Thanks...:-))

Thanks for joining us for Hive Power Up Day, @mers. Your participation is valued.

Nice picks. And I love the gallery.

Oh thanks, glad you liked the gallery..because of space necessity one has to consider odd spaces. My bro said...that I might not be able to go out of the comfort room, lol!

Nice collection of plates and frames Sis.

Thank you.

Please drop your link on my #MarketFriday post here Thank you so much!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Congratulations @mers! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - June 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the July edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2023