AAhhh Just Right!

in Hive Pets3 years ago

Call Us Crazy ..

But when it comes to Molly's wants and needs, we pull out all the stops and do some weird stuff. Or.. Maybe we don't. Maybe I think we spoil her more than most, but I may be wrong. Am I? Do you guys spoil your pets, and end up doing things some people would consider going over board?

DLFQ7470.JPG

So this is what it has come to.. Here in the BDMiller household. My wife and I have stooped to some new lows on the spoil chart (possibly). We are still keeping a close eye on Molly since she has recently lost her big brother Pepper. He was her life partner, buddy, friend, and companion for a long, long time. We want to make sure she is adjusting properly to the loss.

Some of her habits have changed. One of these habits revolves around when we, both my wife and I, have to leave the house at the same time. She becomes more nervous than she had in the past. I can't blame her, now that she is ALONE in the house with no companion comfort. We tend to leave the radio or TV on so that the familiar noises still fill the air and surround her.

IMG_9272.JPG

We noticed that she sits by the door to the garage most often. She likes to wait here whether we are gone for an hour or six hours. She'll lay by that door till it opens and she can see our faces once more. So naturally, as you would expect from spoilers of Molly, we wondered how we could make her more comfortable in this spot she chooses to wait.

We first tried a bed.. hoping that she would lay down in it. She liked it okay, but did not lay in it but rather next to it. So that didn't work out to well. We may have to leave it there for longer than a few days. We left it there for a week and nope.. she didn't care for the bed.

IMG_9271.JPG

This was going to be more difficult.. than we had originally thought. Or so I thought. Who knew the next item was going to be the perfect idea?! My wife thought that if she seemed to favor blankets, why not place one on the floor for her. So this is what she did. She picked a brown blanket that used to be one of Pepper's favorite blankets. Molly checked it out and immediately took to the idea.

IMG_9273.JPG

After a few times of checking it out, laying next to it and then on top of it, she was happy with the choice we had made.

IMG_9269.JPG

She makes herself very comfortable on this blanket. I see that she has been laying in it when we arrive home. I placed my hand on it and it is warm as if she had been comfy cozy on it. Now my wife sees her laying on it waiting on my return home from work. How cute! She just wants us all to be together and is willing to wait right there by the door until that happens.

IMG_9270.JPG

So Now We Are Left With A Dilemma ..

What should we tell our friend when the ask "Why is there a blanket on the floor by the door?" Do I tell them we are nuts and like to OVER spoil Molly with these little gestures? Or are we not alone in the 'Spoiling' department? Please tell me you other pet owners out there would do the same thing.. Do You? Are we alone??? lol.

Hive text divider.png

IMG_8518 2.JPG

“No matter how close we are to another person, few human relationships are as free from strife, disagreement, and frustration as is the relationship you have with a good dog. Few human beings give of themselves to another as a dog gives of itself. I also suspect that we cherish dogs because their unblemished souls make us wish - consciously or unconsciously - that we were as innocent as they are, and make us yearn for a place where innocence is universal and where the meanness, the betrayals, and the cruelties of this world are unknown.”
― Dean Koontz, A Big Little Life: A Memoir of a Joyful Dog

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

I LOVE the way you spoil Molly. I have a small dog like this as well and if anything at all hits the floor it is quickly claimed as her own. I sometimes have to take these items away because it is a shirt of mine or a dishtowel then she follows me like "hey! Where you going with MY stuff?"

Oh My Gosh.. That sounds just like how our other dog Pepper (RIP) was. He would claim almost anything as a bed.. Paper, bags, soft items, hard items.. He didn't care one bit. Thank you for the simile and the support 😊

I would say that just Molly's waiting blanket for when we both go out, she like to wait for us to come home there.

Spoiled yep, our little chihuahua's won't eat just dry kibble by itself, it has to have some real meat in it, so we cook a 2 pound tip roast every 5 days or so, and they end up eating more of that roast than we do. In a pinch chicken will do, but they prefer beef.

If it's after 8 o'clock and our little Shasta starts to go nuts back and forth to the kitchen then it means she wants some popcorn, which is fine because we like popcorn at night for a snack. (most of the time she only ever eats one and a half pieces but it makes her happy).

Good! We are not alone!! haha. Funny how they communicate with us and sometimes we know exactly what they want. Pepper was good at letting us know when it was time for bed, time for a walk and time to eat. He loved popcorn too. Molly likes it and wants to eat the whole bowl. We make chicken and put it on her food at feeding time, so your not alone there.

So it's settled! We are going to call it her "Waiting Blanket". Sounds perfect! Thanks @bashadow 😁

Our dog picks the craziest places to lay. Especially when we are camping. We have this cot style bed that we bought for her and she will still choose to lay in the dirt or in the grass. I have decided that she really doesn't care and whatever I put down I am doing more for my piece of mind than her comfort! Our dog meets us at the door every day when we come home and barks away telling us all about what she saw while we were gone.

I remember you telling me about that cot style bed before.. easy to clean and it probably travels well. On occasion we will have a fire out back and Molly joins us. She too prefers to lay on the grass rather than the nice, soft, clean blanket. DOGS! Dogs will be dogs I suppose. I can just picture your pup barking all about her day as you arrive home. Cute! 😊

What should we tell our friend when the ask "Why is there a blanket on the floor by the door?"

That's easy! "It's a dog bed." Simple as that. If anyone wants to bat an eye at that, you need new friends. 😄

I have not one, but two... two... old, ratty blankets on the floor beside my bed for the dog to sleep on.

That's a pretty good response. I was thinking about resorting to violence, but I like your idea better.. hahahaha. Your dogs like blankets too.. okay, Molly is not alone then! hehe. Come to think of it, we do have a blanket or two near the bed that she sometimes sleeps on during the night.

We have the same blanket 😍 ... Soulmates 😄 🐶

You mean they made more than one!!! Darn. hehe. Definitely soulmates 😁

A shitsu 💕💕💕

Yep.. a tiny one, but a Shih Tzu non the less 😁

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you Qurator team! 😁

I think that your quote explained the special treatment Molly gets. I think that it's cute, the way people treat animals reveals a lot about themselves. I don't find it weird at all.

Ahhhh.. Good.. we're not crazy. This is good. lol. In all seriousness, I think the same thing. Not that everyone needs to over spoil their animals, but the way they treat animals, does say a lot about them for sure.

You always notice my quote 😁 Thank you 😊

I actually love the quotes, I scroll down every time with excitement wondering about what is the next best one. A great simple little detail about your articles which I liked from the get go.

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 51000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 52000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Time to go on your Hive Tour