I Quit My Job Just To Be With Her

in Hive Pets2 years ago (edited)
Some furparents would spoil their dogs or cats with food, fancy clothes, or lots of toys all in the name of love. For non-furparents, this sounds a bit too much because they believe that pets are just pets. Nothing more! So when I told my friends about quitting my job in 2019 to be with Kiah, they laughed and couldn't believe it.

image.png

You might think this is a joke, but no! I really did quit my job as a Transaction Processor in one of the BPO companies in Cebu City in January 2019 just for her. Before you start judging me, here's a not-so-brief story about it.

I bought Kiah on the 14th of February 2014 as Valentine's gift to myself. She was only 3 months old and was still very tiny but already super fluffy baby. By the way, she's a mix of a Shih Tzu and Maltese. At that time, we lived with my sister until Kiah turned 2.

image.png

Unfortunately, my sister and I had some personal issues, which made me leave to find another place to stay. This was the beginning of my struggles as a furmom, living in a city with a furbaby alone. Mostly, apartments and boarding houses in the city don't allow pets inside. Because of that, I had to look from one apartment to another to find the right place we could call home.

We then found one, but eventually, I had to move again, and finding the right place for her wasn't easy. I then had no choice but to send her to my mom for her own safety. Eventually, I moved to another apartment that allowed dogs, and that was the time I got to take her back to live with me.

The problem was, Kiah wouldn't pee or poop inside while I was gone for work. She was probably scared that I might get mad. I even bought her the potty trainer, so she could do her business while I was gone but to no avail. For this reason, I had no choice but to send her back to my mom as I didn't want her to get sick.

Since my hometown is far from the city as it requires traveling by sea, I don't get to see her very often. So whenever I get a chance to file a few days off, I would grab this opportunity to see her and my family. It was great to see her but going back to the city had always been a heartbreaking experience for me.

image.png

Whenever she saw me dressed at 5 am with my backpack, she knew that it was time for me to leave. She would start to cling to me and wouldn't want to leave my side. I could feel her sadness about my departure. Usually, I would ask my mom to send her to my sister-in-law, who lived next door, so she won't see me leave.

This situation had been going on for quite some time until January 2019. I was preparing to leave, and as usual, she would cling to me, wanted to come with me, and didn't want me to leave her. I would then ask mom to send her to my sister-in-law so I could go without seeing her barking. For some reason, she managed to escape and ran as fast as she could to see me.

At that moment, I was already outside the gate but saw her barking so hard. My heart shattered into a million pieces upon seeing her like that. I couldn't help but cry my heart out as I saw her begging me to take her with me. At that moment, I knew what I wanted to do to prevent that from happening again.

Before I left, I told my mom that I would submit my resignation letter as soon as I got back to work. Then I left. I was crying when I reached the ticketing booth and was still teary-eyed even when I arrived in the city.

The next morning, I prepared my resignation letter and submitted it the following day. Unfortunately, I had to render 30 days before they would sign my clearance. If it wasn't due to the company policy, I could have just handed my manager my resignation letter and gone home the following day.

In February 2019, after I did all the paperwork, I bid goodbye to my friends/colleagues and happily went home to see Kiah.

image.png

The end.

image.png

Closing thoughts

Some people wouldn't understand why I quit my job. For them, she's just a dog, but she's more than just a dog for me. Quitting my job is probably the best decision I've made by far. If I hadn't quit my job yet, I'd be stuck in that office doing the same thing under a company that enslaves us by demanding too much work but lesser pay.

After I quit my job, I applied as a ghostwriter until I ended up writing for a living. I also learned about crypto through crypto-blogging platforms like read.cash and publish0x, micro-blogging site like noise.cash, and this, Hive.

All photos included in this article are mine and/or edited on canva.

image.png

You can also follow me on:

read.cash | noise.cash | Publish0x | Torum | Twitter

Sort:  

Awe I understand you sis, I know how hard it is seeing your baby sad. I wasn't really that kind of a pet lover, but I do love pet's and I also feel sad watching them sad, after I lose my first dog I didn't get another one as losing him was painful. However I have Lala (cat) right now. Whenever we are out of home I always think about her and worry that she might get hungry and so eventually right after we finish our errands outside we headed home straight just to see her 😅.

Is this you, sis? Sa noise? Ako talaga, I am very attached to dogs even before as a child. And yeah, I understand you if you didn't get another dog after losing your first one. I also know the feeling. I have already lost several dogs since. It's not easy and I just think of them that they're having a vacation and that hopefully, one day, we'll be able to reunite again. :) Anyway, thank you, sis, for dropping by and for reading my not-so-brief story. :)

Congratulations @bmjc98! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.
You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @erikasue!
Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This is the dilemma of having a dog while working. It's good that it turned out well for you. !PIZZA

Thank you for the pizza. ☺️ Yeah, it isn't easy, especially if you live away from home with a dog. Good thing it turned well for me and has opened so many doors after quitting the job.

Welcome. 😊

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@juanvegetarian(2/5) tipped @bmjc98 (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

I really adore you Ate. You're a great fur moma indeed! Just like you, I want to do everything for Quatroo.
God bless ate.

Thank you, Jena. I guess we are just both a loving furmom who are willing to do anything and if possible, everything, for them. Cheers for being a proud momma! ❤️❤️❤️