Cayayo: Historia de un perrito que el amor lo puso bonito / Cayayo: Story of a dog that love made him pretty

in Hive Pets2 years ago (edited)
Un gran saludo a todos los que siguen y apoyan esta comunidad. Es bueno ver que exista tanto amor hacia nuestros hermanos los animales, todos formamos parte de este hermoso planeta y de la misma manera todos tenemos derecho a ser felices y vivir una buena vida. Lamentablemente la realidad es muy diferente. Hoy quiero compartir con ustedes la historia de un perro, no un perro de la calle, como se les suele decir simplemente por no tener un hogar, sino de uno que vivía en la calle, si es que a eso se le puede llamar vivir. No existen perros de la calle, existen los perros abandonados por personas miserables, irresponsables, crueles y sin valores morales ni éticos.

Greetings to all who follow and support this community. It´s good to see that there is so much love towards our animal brothers, we are all part of this beautiful planet and in the same way we all have the right to be happy and live a good life. Unfortunately the reality is very different. Today I want to share with you the story of a dog, not a street dog, as they are often called simply because they don´t have a home, but one that lived on the street, if you can call that living. There are no street dogs, there are dogs abandoned by miserable, irresponsible, cruel people without moral or ethical values.


IMG_20220116_220859.jpg

Era principios del mes de Noviembre del 2020, yo estaba haciendo unas compras y mi vista se centró en un perro muy delgado, sucio, sin pelo y de semblante muy triste que se había sentado a tomar el sol frente a una de las tiendas de una calle que es muy transitada todos los días. Lo vi desde lejos y mi corazón se entristeció. Era la imagen de la desolación. Mi ciudad no es muy grande y por lo general, ya uno conoce a los perros que andan por aquí cerca, yo vivo en pleno centro, no hay muchos perros pero los que están, se ven sanos, la gente los alimenta y muchos hasta tienen nombre. Nunca había visto a ese perro, pero no me llamó la atención por eso sino por el mal estado en el que se encontraba. Apenas se podía parar, estaba muy débil y pude ver que tenía una herida que probablemente se convertiría en una gusanera.

It was the beginning of November 2020, I was doing some shopping and my eyes focused on a very thin, dirty, hairless dog with a very sad face that had sat down to sunbathe in front of one of the stores of a street that is very busy every day. I saw it from afar and my heart was saddened. It was the picture of desolation. My city is not very big and in general, we know the dogs that are around here nearby, I live right in the center, there aren´t many dogs but the ones that are, they look healthy, people feed them and many they even have names. I had never seen that dog, but it didn't catch my attention because of that, but because of the bad state in which he was. He could barely stand, he was very weak and I could see that he had a wound that would probably turn into a wormhole.

Ese día no hice nada por ayudarlo pero me propuse estar pendiente por si lo volvía a ver. Los días posteriores caminé por la misma calle y sus alrededores pero no lo vi. Un día mi hermana me dice que en la esquina que está cerca de nuestro edificio, vio un perro y por la descripción solamente podía ser él. Le dije que debíamos recogerlo y llevarlo al veterinario pero antes teníamos que hablar con él para ver si podíamos dejarlo allí mientras lo curábamos porque en nuestra casa no se podía. La respuesta fue que sí. Al día siguiente me vestí y llevé todo lo necesario para poder agarrarlo, una sábana, una correa y una tira para amarrarle el hocico por si acaso se ponía agresivo.

That day I didn't do anything to help him but I decided to be aware in case I saw him again. The following days I walked down the same street and its surroundings but I didn´t see him. One day my sister tells me that on the corner near our building, she saw a dog and from the description it could only be him. I told her that we should pick him up and take him to the vet but first we had to talk to him to see if we could leave the dog there while we treated him because we couldn't have him in our house. The answer was yes. The next day I got dressed and took everything I needed to catch him, a sheet, a leash and a strip to tie his snout in case he got aggressive.

Poco antes de salir de la casa comenzó a llover, como no tenía paraguas, me puse el impermeable de mi hermana y salí, decidí empezar por la calle donde lo vi la primera vez que es una calle que cubre varias cuadras y por donde camina mucha gente ya que está llena de tiendas muy variadas. No tuve que caminar mucho, él estaba en la segunda cuadra, justo frente a una mercería, medio sentadito y mojándose con la lluvia que aunque no era fuerte, pues era lluvia en fin. La gente le pasaba al lado y era como si él fuese invisible, como si no estuviese allí, una señora que salía de esa tienda le pasó tan cerca que una de sus bolsas lo golpeó y el pobre perrito trató de no caerse de lo débil que estaba. De verdad no puedo entender que las personas no se conmuevan ante un ser vivo que se encuentra en una situación así. Creo que cualquier ser humano debería sentir vergüenza de si mismo de pasar al lado y no hacer nada.

Shortly before leaving the house it started to rain, since I didn't have an umbrella, I put on my sister's raincoat and went out, I decided to start on the street where I saw him the first time, which is a street that covers several blocks and where a lot of people walk since it´s full of very varied shops. I didn't have to walk far, he was on the second block, right in front of a haberdashery, half sitting and getting wet with the rain, which although it wasn't heavy, it was rain after all. People passed him by and it was as if he were invisible, as if he wasn't there, a lady who was leaving that store passed him so close that one of her bags hit him and the poor little dog tried not to fall from how weak he was. I really can't understand why people aren't moved by a living being in such a situation. I think any human being should be ashamed of themselves for walking by and doing nothing.


Cayayo.jpg

Así estaba cuando lo encontré / That's how he was when I found him

Crucé la calle y me le acerqué, me agaché para tocarlo, se asustó y caminó unos pasos para alejarse de mí. Supongo que pensó que yo era una de esas tantas personas que lo iban a lastimar y no lo culpo. Llamé a mi hermana y le dije que ya lo había encontrado. No quería que se pusiera nervioso y se fuera así que no lo molesté más, me paré al lado de él y llamé a María, una amiga que es proteccionista y que siempre anda por las calles del centro. Estaba por ahí cerca así que vino rápido. Le dije lo que pensaba hacer y me comentó que hace unos días ella y otra proteccionista le habían puesto crema matagusanos cerca del ano porque tenía una miasis. María se puso frente al perro para que no huyera y yo lo pude agarrar con la sábana y lo envolví para poder cargarlo bien. Al principio aulló asustado pero luego se quedó tranquilo, en ningún momento trató de morderme. La gente se quedó mirándome como si estuviese haciendo algo raro.

I crossed the street and approached him, bent down to touch him, he got scared and walked a few steps to get away from me. I guess he thought I was one of those many people who were going to hurt him and I don't blame him. I called my sister and told her that I had already found him. I didn't want him to get nervous and leave, so I didn't bother him anymore, I stood next to him and called Maria, a friend who is an animal protectionist and who always walks the streets of downtown. She was close so she came quickly. I told her what was the plan and she told me that a few days ago she and another protectionist had put worm-killing cream near his anus because he had myiasis. María stood in front of the dog so he wouldn't run away and I was able to grab him with the sheet and wrap him up so I could carry him well. At first he howled in fright but then he stayed calm, he didn´t try to bite me at all. People stared at me like I was doing something weird.

De ahí hasta el consultorio del veterinario son unos 10 minutos por una calle algo empinada, María me sostenía las cosas y yo solo cargaba al perro, a pesar de que estaba muy flaco, era pesado. Cuando al fin llegamos al consultorio, le expliqué al Dr. Ascanio, el otro veterinario, que ya había cuadrado con el Dr. Rafael para dejar a este perro resguardado ahí en el patio de atrás junto al otro perro que mi hermana y yo habíamos rescatado y que vivía allí. Lo montamos en la mesa, el Dr. Ascanio quedó sorprendido con el mal estado que tenía el perro, le tomó la temperatura (tenía fiebre), lo auscultó (sus pulmones no sonaban muy bien), lo revisó y me dijo: “mira, te voy a ser sincero, este perrito está muy mal”, le puso suero para hidratarlo y le inyectó un antibiótico, un antiinflamatorio y un antianémico. Luego llegó el Dr. Rafael y también le echó un vistazo, cerca de su ano tenía un hueco que le había quedado de la miasis que mi amiga le había tratado, afortunadamente ya no quedaban larvas vivas pero de todas formas le pusieron una crema matagusanos para evitar que se le posaran las moscas. Estaba tranquilo, como si supiera que estábamos allí para ayudarlo y no para hacerle daño.

From there to the vet it's about 10 minutes down a somewhat steep street, Maria held my things and I just carried the dog, even though he was very skinny, he was heavy. When we finally got to the vet, I explained to Dr. Ascanio, the other veterinarian, that I had already agreed with Dr. Rafael to leave this dog protected there in the backyard next to the other dog that my sister and I had rescued and that he lived there. Well, we set it up on the table, Dr. Ascanio was surprised by the poor condition of the dog, he took his temperature (he had a fever), listened his lungs and heart (the lungs didn´t sound very good), checked him and told me: “Look, I'm going to be honest with you, this dog is in very bad shape”, he put intravenous serum on him to hydrate him and injected him with an antibiotic, an anti-inflammatory and an anti-anemic. Then Dr. Rafael arrived and also took a look at him, near his anus he had a hole that had remained from the myiasis that my friend Maria had treated him for, fortunately there were no longer any live larvae but they still put a worm-killing cream on him to prevent flies from landing on him. He was calm, as if he knew we were there to help him and not hurt him.


Cayayo1.jpg

Tomándole la temperatura / Taking his temperature


Cayayo2.jpg

Una gusanera (miasis) de tres huecos / A three-hole worm (myiasis)


Cayayo5.jpg

Me quedé a su lado mientras se le pasaba el suero y le sostenía la pata. Olía mal pero la verdad no me importaba, le acariciaba suavemente su pata, de repente volteó lentamente su cabeza y como pudo levantó un poco su vista y me miró a los ojos, sentí amor y sonreí, a pesar de que tenía el tapabocas se que él leyó la sonrisa en mi mirada. No se porque pero pensé que lo hizo para poder ver mi cara, ver el rostro de quien lo ayudó. Cuando el suero se terminó, lo cargué y lo llevé atrás donde está el patio y los caniles techados. Le serví la comida a mi otro perro y le di a él también, tenía hambre, lo que era una buena señal, doblé la sábana y la extendí en uno de los caniles, cuando terminó de comer, tomó agua y se fue a acurrucar en una esquina del patio, yo lo agarré para meterlo en el canil y empezó a aullar, le dije: “tranquilo amiguito, no te haré daño, solo te voy a meter en el canil para que puedas descansar y dormir tranquilo”, le puse el plato con agua dentro del canil para que lo tuviese cerca, me quedé un rato jugando con mi otro perro y luego me fui. La puerta del canil la dejé abierta para que pudiese salir al patio si quería.

I stayed by his side while the serum was passed and I held his front leg. It smelled bad but I didn't really care, I gently caressed his leg, suddenly he slowly turned his head and as he could he raised his eyes a little and looked me in the eyes, I felt love and smiled, even though I had the mask I know he read the smile in my eyes. I don't know why but I thought he did it so he could see my face, see the face of the one who helped him. When the intravenous serum was finished, I carried him and I took him back to where the patio and the roofed kennels are. I served the food to my other dog and I gave it to him too, he was hungry which was a good sign, I folded the sheet and spread it out in one of the kennels, when he finished eating he took a drink of water and went to snuggle in a corner of the patio, I grabbed him to put him in the kennel and he began to howl, I told him: "calm down little friend, I won't hurt you, I'm just going to put you in the kennel so you can rest and sleep peacefully", I put the dish with water inside the kennel so that it would be close to him, I stayed for a while playing with my other dog and then I left. I left the kennel door open so that he could go out into the yard if he wanted.


Cayayo4.jpg

Por precaución le amarraron el hocico pero él nunca protestó / As a precaution they tied his snout but he never protested


Cayayo3.jpg

Recibiendo suero y tratamiento intravenoso/ Receiving intravenous serum and treatment

Inmediatamente al llegar a casa, mi hermana empezó a compartir por whatsapp y facebook la foto del perrito solicitando ayuda para él: comida, medicinas o dinero. Una señora nos regaló tres kilos de patas de pollo, cinco kilos de harina de maíz y 10 cc de Eritrogen, un antianémico y unas amigas colaboraron con dinero. Misión Nevado (una organización gubernamental de protección y atención a animales domésticos y fauna silvestre con sedes en todo el país) nos donó inyectadoras, scalp y algunas medicinas que mi hermana fue a buscar en una de las sedes que MN tiene aquí en Aragua, específicamente, la de El Consejo. Olvidé decirles que lo llamé Cayayo, como un rockero venezolano que ese día cumplía años de fallecido.

Immediately upon arriving home, my sister began to share the dog's photo on WhatsApp and Facebook, requesting help for him: food, medicine or money. A lady gave us three kilos of chicken feet, five kilos of cornmeal and 10 cc of Eritrogen, an antianemic and some friends collaborated with money. Misión Nevado (a government organization for the protection and care of domestic animals and wildlife with offices throughout the country) donated syringes, scalps and some medicines that my sister went to look for at one of the offices MN has here in Aragua, specifically, the one in El Consejo. I forgot to tell you that I called him Cayayo, like a Venezuelan rocker who died many years ago that same day.


IMG_20220116_220806.jpg

Donación de Misión Nevado Aragua / Mission Nevado Aragua´s Donation

Foto tomada por mi hermana @sofathana / Photo taken by my sister @sofathana


TROCONIS1.jpg

Cayayo Troconis, músico de rock venezolano que murió en 1999 / Cayayo Troconis, venezuelan rock musician who died in 1999

[Fuente / Source] (https://www.diversomagazine.com/2009/11/cayayo-troconis.html)

Al día siguiente le tocaba a mi hermana ir a llevarles la comida a los perros. Cuando regresó me contó que Cayayo comió, le pasaron su tratamiento intravenoso y que después, ella y María, lo bañaron. Cuando fui el día siguiente, Cayayo se veía diferente, ese baño le sentó realmente bien, su aspecto mejoró y ya no olía mal. Le serví su comida, se la comió toda y antes de que se fuera a meter en su canil, lo llevé adelante para que el doctor le pasara su tratamiento intravenoso. Luego lo llevé al patio y se fue directo a descansar en su canil. Esos primeros seis días le pasaron vía intravenosa, un antibiótico y un antianémico y le inyectaron un antiinflamatorio.

The next day it was my sister's turn to bring food to the dogs. When she came back she told me that Cayayo ate, they gave him his intravenous treatment and that afterwards, she and María, they bathed him. When I went the next day, Cayayo looked different, that bath suited him really well, his appearance improved and he no longer smelled bad. I served him his food, he ate it all and before he went to his kennel, I took him ahead so the doctor could give him his IV treatment. Then I took him to the patio and he went straight to rest in his kennel. Those first six days they gave him an intravenous antibiotic and an antianemic and injected him with an anti-inflammatory.


IMG_20220116_221425.jpg

Foto tomada por mi hermana @sofathana / Photo taken by my sister @sofathana


IMG_20201118_111203.jpg

Foto tomada por mi hermana @sofathana / Photo taken by my sister @sofathana


cayayo 8.jpg

Luego de recibir su primer baño / After receiving his first bath


cayayo 10.jpg

Tenía mucho apetito y se comía todo lo que le servíamos, a su sopa le agregábamos patas de pollo ya que nos funcionó muy bien con el otro perro que rescatamos. Cayayo comía, recibía su tratamiento y se iba a dormir junto a su sábana en su canil. Quien sabe cuanto tiempo tenía el pobre Cayayo que no dormía bien, es muy difícil poder dormir estando en la calle con gente que te corre, la lluvia, el hambre, la sed, los autos, etc. creo que la falta de descanso era una de las cosas que más lo había debilitado. Esas primeras dos semanas, por fin luego de quien sabe cuanto tiempo, pudo dormir las horas que quería, sin preocuparse por la lluvia, el sol, la gente, los autos, el ruido, el hambre y la sed y de verdad eso lo ayudó mucho, poco a poco empezó a recuperar su energía y su ánimo. Era muy tímido y casi no interactuaba con los otros perros.

He was very hungry and ate everything we served him, we added chicken legs to his soup as it worked very well with the other dog we rescued. Cayayo ate, received his treatment and went to sleep next to his sheet in his kennel. Who knows how long poor Cayayo had that he didn´t sleep well, it´s very difficult to be able to sleep being in the streets with so many people around you, the rain, hunger, thirst, cars, etc. I think the lack of rest was one of the things that had weakened him the most. Those first two weeks, finally after who knows how long, he was able to sleep the hours he wanted, without worrying about the rain, the sun, the people, the cars, the noise, the hunger and the thirst, and that really helped him a lot, little by little he began to recover his energy and his courage. He was very shy and hardly interacted with the other dogs.


IMG_20201120_121110.JPG

Foto tomada por mi hermana @sofathana / Photo taken by my sister @sofathana


DSC09881.JPG


IMG_20220116_221919.jpg


DSC09883.JPG

Luego de comer se limpiaba y a veces se llenaba de arroz jejeje / After eating he cleaned himself and sometimes he filled himself with rice hehehe

Desde el primer momento que empecé a llamarlo por su nombre él venía, eso me sorprendió y a las demás personas también jajaja. Cuando me agachaba, él se acercaba cariñosamente a mí como pidiéndome que lo acariciara. La segunda semana lo dejamos descansar del tratamiento y la tercera le inyectaron el antianémico y reconstituyente todos los días y también lo desparasitamos. Su piel que al principio tenía como una capa negra, lucía mucho mejor, estaba empezando a ser más sociable, ahora nos esperaba detrás de la puerta cuando íbamos en las mañanas a llevarle la comida y hasta gruñía cuando alguno de los otros perros se acercaban a su plato jajaja. Todos coincidíamos que Cayayito (así empezamos a llamarlo cariñosamente) se parecía a una hiena jejeje.

From the first moment I started calling him by his name he came, that surprised me and the other people too hahaha. When I crouched down, he approached me affectionately as if asking me to pet him. The second week we let him rest from the treatment and the third week they injected him with the antianemic and restorative every day and we also dewormed him. His skin, which at first had a black layer, looked much better, he was beginning to be more sociable, now he waited for us behind the door when we went in the morning to bring him food and he even growled when one of the other dogs approached to his plate hahaha. We all agreed that Cayayito (that's how we started to call him affectionately) looked like a hyena hahaha.


DSC09885.JPG


DSC09887.JPG


DSC09888.JPG


DSC09891.JPG


DSC09894.JPG


IMG_20220116_224716.jpg

Esperando por su dosis diaria de tratamiento / Waiting for his daily dose of treatment

Cayayito tenía una mirada muy triste y un color de ojos muy hermoso, como café borgoña o algo así. Empezó a socializar y ahora cuando lo dejábamos ir hacia la parte de adelante de la clínica salía corriendo a investigar y a jugar y después no quería regresar al patio jajaja, tenía que cargarlo. Por su dentadura el veterinario dijo que era un perro relativamente joven. Su pelaje iba mejorando y en cuanto a su apetito, se comía toda la comida y poco a poco ya no se le veían las costillas, es más, hasta le salió barriga jejeje. Es increíble lo que un poco de atención médica, comida y resguardo pueden hacer por un animal que ha estado en la calle pero más que todo eso está el amor, el amor sana y transforma vidas.

Cayayito had a very sad look and a very beautiful eye color, like burgundy brown or something like that. He started to socialize and now when we let him go to the front of the vet clinic he went running to investigate and play and then he didn't want to go back to the patio hahaha, I had to carry him. From his teeth the vet said he was a relatively young dog. His fur was improving and as for his appetite, he ate all the food and little by little you could no longer see his ribs, what's more, he even had a belly hahaha. It's amazing what a little medical care, food and shelter can do for an animal that has been on the streets but more than all that is love, love heals and transforms lives.


IMG_20201125_095719.jpg

Foto tomada por mi hermana @sofathana / Photo taken by my sister @sofathana


IMG_20201125_101702.jpg

Ojitos lleno de agradecimiento / Eyes full of gratitude

Foto tomada por mi hermana @sofathana / Photo taken by my sister @sofathana


DSC09918.JPG

Los dos veterinarios, el Dr. Rafael y el Dr. Ascanio estaban sorprendidos con el cambio físico de Cayayito, de verdad parecía otro perro. Conforme se le fue cayendo esa capa negra pegajosa que tenía en la piel y le fue creciendo el nuevo pelaje, pudimos ver que su color era de un beige muy clarito, las llagas, cicatrices y heridas que tenía también desaparecieron y pocos creían que era el mismo perro que habíamos rescatado unas semanas atrás.

The two veterinarians, Dr. Rafael and Dr. Ascanio, were surprised by Cayayito's physical change, he really looked like another dog. As that sticky black layer on his skin fell off and his new fur grew, we could see that his color was a very light beige, the sores, scars and wounds he had also disappeared and few believed that it was the same dog we had rescued a few weeks ago.


IMG_20220116_232303.jpg

Con su inseparable sábana / With his inseparable sheet


DSC09929.JPG

Al principio parecía una hiena / At first he looked like a hyena


IMG_20220116_233450.jpg

Moscas fastidiosas / Annoying flies

Foto tomada por mi hermana @sofathana / Photo taken by my sister @sofathana

Así los días fueron pasando y ahora Cayayito, tenía donde esconderse cuando llovía, comía todos los días, tenía agua limpia para beber, dormía en un lugar seguro y cálido, podía echarse a tomar el sol sin tener que estar pendiente de la gente y de los autos y recibía mucho amor. Le gustaba que lo peinaran y le acariciaran la cabeza, al principio le gruñía a los otros perros cuando se acercaban a su plato de comida pero luego que fue agarrando confianza entre todos intercambiaban platos jajaja, venía corriendo cuando uno lo llamaba por su nombre como si de toda la vida se hubiese llamado así, a pesar de ser un perro relativamente pequeño no le importaba enfrentarse a los de mayor tamaño, amaba la sábana con la que dormía que era la misma que yo usé para agarrarlo cuando lo rescaté.

So the days went by and now Cayayito had a place to hide when it rained, he ate every day, he had clean water to drink, he slept in a safe and warm place, he could lie down to sunbathe without having to be aware of people and cars and received a lot of love. He liked to be combed and stroked on the head, at first he growled at the other dogs when they approached his food dish but after he gained confidence among all of them they exchanged dishes hahaha, he came running when we called him by his name as if he had had that name for a lifetime, despite being a relatively small dog, he didn´t mind facing the bigger ones, he loved the sheet he slept with, which was the same one I used to grab him when I rescued him.


IMG_20201214_101519.jpg

Tomando un poquito de sol / Taking a little sun

Foto tomada por mi hermana @sofathana / Photo taken by my sister @sofathana


IMG_20220116_233740.jpg

Foto tomada por mi hermana @sofathana / Photo taken by my sister @sofathana


IMG_20220117_122132.jpg

Mi Cayayito de ojos bonitos / My Cayayito with pretty eyes

Bueno, iba a lavar la sábana al día siguiente que mi hermana lo bañó porque olía mal y ya él estaba limpio pero mi amiga María me dijo, “no, déjasela ahí porque él tiene mucho frío y aún está muy débil y no hay otra manta por ahí para ponerle” y bueno, sí, era verdad y yo tampoco tenía otra sábana o tela para ponerle así que le dejé su sábana pero la volteé. La tercera semana y viendo que alguien había dejado un gran pedazo de tela de jean, agarré la sábana, la puse en un tobo con bastante detergente y la dejé ahí hasta el día siguiente que por cierto le tocaba ir a mi hermana y la tuvo que lavar ella jajaja.

Well, I was going to wash the sheet the day after my sister bathed him because it smelled bad and he was already clean, but my friend María told me, “no, leave it there because he is very cold and still very weak and there is no other blanket around to put him on” and well, yes, it was true and I didn't have another sheet or cloth to put on him either, so I left his sheet but I turned it over. The third week and seeing that someone had left a large piece of denim, I grabbed the sheet, put it in a bucket with plenty of detergent and left it there until the next day, which by the way was my sister's turn to go and she had to wash it hahaha.


DSC00035-1.JPG


IMG_20220117_122631.jpg

Ojitos llenos de amor / Eyes full of love

Llegó el fin de año y sentía una gran alegría dentro de mí de haber podido ayudarlo y de ver cómo había cambiado su mirada y su energía. Ahora nuestro pensamiento se concentraría en poder encontrarle un hogar bueno y amoroso, era un perrito de buen carácter, tranquilo, obediente y que se llevaba bien con otros perros aparte de ser muy dulce y cariñoso. El 7 de enero le di su segundo baño, quedó limpiecito, lo peiné y se sentó a tomar el sol para secarse bien.

The end of the year came and I felt a great joy inside of me to have been able to help him and to see how his gaze and energy had changed. Now our thoughts would focus on being able to find him a good and loving home, he was a good-natured dog, calm, obedient and who got along with other dogs apart from being very sweet and affectionate. On January 7, I gave him his second bath, he looked so pretty, I combed his fur and he sat in the sun to dry himself well.


IMG_20220117_123005.jpg


IMG_20220117_123116.jpg

El 9 de Enero del 2021 era Sábado y los Sábados me tocaba a mí llevarle la comida a los perros, llegué y fui directo al patio de atrás, ellos siempre me esperan detrás de la puerta y saltan contentos a saludarme, yo solo tenía dos perros allí, a Mocachino y a Cayayo, los otros tres eran pacientes que estaban hospitalizados pero igual venían a mi porque yo a veces les daba comida. Todos me esperaban menos Cayayito, cuando miro hacia la derecha lo veo acostado en el medio del patio, sin duda estaba muerto. Dejé mis cosas y me le acerqué, lo toqué y le dije unas palabras en silencio ¿qué habrá pasado? pensé. Lucía tranquilo, como si hubiese tenido una muerte pacífica. El Dr. Ascanio lo revisó y me dijo que probablemente murió de un infarto ya que no tenía señales de sangre, marcas de mordidas, moretones ni nada de eso.

January 9, 2021 was Saturday and on Saturdays it was my turn to bring food to the dogs, I arrived and went straight to the backyard, they always wait for me behind the door and jump happily to greet me, I only had two dogs there, Mocachino and Cayayo, the other three were patients who were hospitalized but still came to me because I sometimes gave them food. Everyone was waiting for me except Cayayito, when I look to the right I see him lying in the middle of the patio, without a doubt he was dead. I left my things and I approached him, touched him and said a few words to him in silence, what happened? I thought. He looked calm, as if he had died a peaceful death. Dr. Ascanio checked him out and told me that he probably died of a heart attack as he had no signs of blood, bite marks, bruises or anything like that.


IMG_20220117_123222.jpg

Aunque estaba impactada con esta inesperada noticia, tenía que solucionar porque obviamente no lo podía dejar allí. Llegó mi amiga María y se entristeció cuando lo vio, le pregunté a donde podía llevarlo para enterrarlo porque no quería simplemente meterlo en una bolsa y dejarlo por ahí como hace mucha gente, me dijo que llamara a Madeleine, otra amiga que también es proteccionista. La llamé y de una vez me dijo que lo lleváramos a su casa. El Dr. Ascanio me dio una caja y lo metí allí junto a su querida sábana. La casa de Madeleine es lejos, son como 30 minutos o más caminando desde la Clínica Veterinaria y la caja con Cayayito pesaba bastante, María me iba a acompañar porque yo no sabía donde exactamente era. Ya a punto de irnos el Dr. Ascanio le preguntó a un chico que había llevado a su perro a consulta y que tenía auto si nos podía dar la cola y él dijo que si. Eso fue buena suerte.

Although I was shocked with this unexpected news, I had to solve things because obviously I couldn't leave him there. My friend Maria arrived and was sad when she saw him, I asked her where I could take him to bury him because I didn't want to just put him in a bag and leave him lying around like many people do, she told me to call Madeleine, another friend who is also a protectionist. I called her and she immediately told me to take him to her house. Dr. Ascanio gave me a box and I put him in there next to his beloved sheet. Madeleine's house is far away, it's like 30 minutes or more walking from the Vet Clinic and the box with Cayayito was quite heavy, María was going to accompany me because I didn't know where exactly it was. When we were about to leave, Dr. Ascanio asked a man who had taken his dog for a medical consultation if he could take us since he had a car and he said yes. That was good luck.


IMG_20220117_123501.jpg

Madeleine vive en una gran urbanización muy lujosa que queda casi saliendo de nuestra ciudad, hay muchas quintas, calles, muchas áreas verdes y es muy tranquilo y bonito. Caminamos hasta su casa, ella salió, hablamos un rato y luego fue a buscar una pala, nos dijo que nos apuráramos porque la gente que vivía allí era muy chismosa. Nos contó que ella ha enterrado muchos perros allí, tanto suyos como de amigos que no tenían donde hacerlo. Bueno, cruzamos la calle y la cancha que está frente a su casa y nos fuimos hacia un lado donde había mucho monte alto y que quedaba atrás de unas casas.

Madeleine lives in a large, very luxurious urbanization that is almost on the outskirts of our city. There are many country houses, streets, and many trees and green areas inside the urbanization, and it´s very quiet and beautiful. We walked to her house, she went out, we talked for a while and then she went to get a shovel, she told us to hurry up because the people who lived there were very gossipy. She told us that she has buried many dogs there, both her own and those of friends who had nowhere to do so. Well, we crossed the street and the court that is in front of her house and we went to one side where there was a lot of high hills and that was behind some houses.


IMG_20220117_124739.jpg

Empezamos a buscar una parte que fuese escondida para que no nos vieran y que la tierra fuese suave. María vio un gran hoyo que estaba debajo de un árbol muy extraño, no era muy alto pero sus ramas se extendían hacia los lados, haciendo mucha sombra, parecía como un gran hongo, en el hoyo se podían ver algunas de sus raíces. Tomé la pala y empecé a cavar en el hoyo para darle más profundidad, había muchos zancudos ahí y a cada rato tenía que parar para rascarme. Junto a nosotras vino una de las perritas de la urbanización que Madeleine alimenta.

We began to look for a part that was hidden so that they wouldn´t see us and that the ground would be soft. Maria saw a large hole that was under a very strange tree, it was not very tall but its branches extended to the sides, making a lot of shade, it looked like a large mushroom, in the hole you could see some of its roots. I took the shovel and started to dig in the hole to give it more depth, there were many mosquitoes there and every so often I had to stop to scratch myself. Along with us came one of the dogs from the urbanization that Madeleine feeds.


IMG_20210108_102523.jpg

Foto tomada por mi hermana @sofathana / Photo taken by my sister @sofathana

Bueno, ya el hoyo estaba más o menos profundo así que había llegado el momento de despedirnos de Cayayito, lo saqué de la caja, lo envolví con su querida sábana, su única posesión junto a su nombre, y lo metí, hicimos una oración y lo tapamos. Su última morada estaría entre las raíces de un hermoso árbol, en un lugar bonito rodeado de árboles que florecerán y grama que crecerá y no en la calle. Encima de la tierra pusimos muchas hojas y maleza para que no se notara y yo le hice una cruz con unos palitos y se la puse. Estaba muy agradecida con Madeleine por haberme dado un espacio para Cayayito.

Well, the hole was already enough deep, so the time had come to say goodbye to Cayayito, I took him out of the box, wrapped him in his beloved sheet, his only possession next to his name, and I put him in, we made a prayer and we cover him. His last resting place would be among the roots of a beautiful tree, in a beautiful place surrounded by trees that will flourish and grass that will grow and no in the streets. On top of the ground we put a lot of leaves and weeds so that it wouldn´t be noticed and I made a cross with some sticks and put it on it. I was very grateful to Madeleine for giving me a space for Cayayito.


IMG_20210108_102430.jpg

Foto tomada por mi hermana @sofathana / Photo taken by my sister @sofathana

El tiempo que compartí con él en esos 53 días, tratamos de darle todo lo que él merecía y gracias a la ayuda de varias personas, entre las que colaboraron con medicinas, comida, transporte y su tiempo y los dos veterinarios que no nos cobraron nada por la atención médica, logramos recuperarlo. Fue atendido, recibió tratamiento médico, descansó, durmió, comió todos los días, estuvo a salvo de los peligros de la calle, estaba limpio, le creció su pelo, sus ojos se limpiaron y su mirada cambió y hasta comenzó a ladrar, pero entre todas esas cosas, muy buenas todas, lo más importante es que fue amado, que conoció el amor y fue feliz y nada se compara a eso.

The time that I shared with him in those 53 days, I tried to give him everything he deserved and thanks to the help of several people, among whom they collaborated with medicines, food, transportation and their time and the two veterinarians who didn´t charge us nothing for medical attention, we managed to get him back. He was treated, he received medical treatment, he rested, he slept, he ate every day, he was safe from the dangers of the streets, he was clean, his hair grew, his eyes became clear and his gaze changed and he even began to bark, but between all those things, all very good, the most important thing is that he was loved, that he knew love and was happy and nothing compares to that.


IMG_20210109_205501.JPG

Una de sus últimas fotos, al día siguiente se había ido al cielo de los perritos / One of his last photos, the next day he had gone to puppy heaven

Foto tomada por mi hermana @sofathana / Photo taken by my sister @sofathana

Aunque estaba muy triste por la muerte de Cayayo, sentía paz en mi interior porque no fui indiferente cuando lo vi, no pasé de largo ni me quedé esperando a que “alguien más” lo ayudara, lo hice yo misma. Mientras María y yo nos regresábamos a pié, íbamos hablando y María me dijo que debía estar tranquila porque Cayayo fue feliz los últimos días de su vida y murió habiendo conocido el amor.

Although I was very sad about Cayayo's death, I felt peace inside because I wasn´t indifferent when I saw him, I didn´t pass by or wait for "someone else" to help him, I did it myself. While María and I returned on foot, we were talking and María told me that I should be calm because Cayayo was happy the last days of his life and died having known love.


IMG_20220117_133638.jpg

Foto tomada por mi hermana @sofathana / Photo taken by my sister @sofathana

Bueno amigos amantes de los animales, no puedo explicarles lo que yo sentía cada día que compartía con Cayayo e iba viendo su mejoría, cada vez que me miraba a los ojos. Solo lo puede entender quien ha rescatado a un animal. Es una sensación tan maravillosa y a la vez tan poderosa, sientes paz y a la vez una sensación de amor infinito. Creo que cuando rescatas o salvas a un animal, en realidad también te estás salvando a tí mismo de alguna manera porque lo que te mueve en ese instante es el amor y no existe nada más poderoso que eso. Me siento muy afortunada de haber conocido a Cayayo y espero haberle dado a su alma tanto como él le dio a la mía. Si pueden darle la oportunidad a un animal háganlo, no se arrepentirán. Y si quieren una mascota, por favor recuerden: “No compres, adopta”.

Well, animal-loving friends, I can´t explain to you what I felt every day that I shared with Cayayo and saw his improvement, every time he looked me in the eyes. Only someone who has rescued an animal can understand it. It´s such a wonderful feeling and at the same time so powerful, you feel peace and at the same time a feeling of infinite love. I think that when you rescue or save an animal, the truth is that you are also saving yourself in some way because what moves you at that moment is love and there is nothing more powerful than that. I feel very lucky to have met Cayayo and I hope I have given his soul as much as he gave mine. If you can give an animal a chance, do it, you won't regret it. And if you want a pet, please remember: “Don't buy, adopt”.

A excepción de las señaladas, todas las fotos fueron tomadas por mí / Except for those noted, all photos were taken by me


Gracias por leer, compartir, apoyar, votar y comentar.

Hasta la próxima.

¡Miau!


Thanks for read, share, vote and comment.

Until next post.

Meow!

Sort:  

Aww, this is such a touching story... You and your sister are such amazing and loving people. Thank you so much for everything you did for this poor little puppy. Although he didn´t eventually make it, he indeed got to know what love is and it was only thanks to you.

It´s my great pleasure to feature this very special post in my next upvote giveaway so that more people can see it and appreciate it. Thank you again girls, you are awesome :)

Hello! Thank you very much for the support, I hope this inspire people to help animals and I really appreciate your words although I think that good deeds shouldn't be something extraordinary but something normal, no one should be congratulated for doing good, that is what we are in this world for, to love😊❤️🤗

💖🐾

Cayayito, conocerlo fue una experiencia inolvidable para mí! GRACIAS por escribir su historia y compartirla :)

Siempre lo recordaré 😢 una historia bonita pero con un final triste 😭. Quiero que la gente lo conozca y se motive a ayudar a los animales 🙂

Que historia tan fuerte, me impacto leer acerca de su muerte tanto asi que lo lei dos veces para ver si lei mal, una criatura muy linda maltratada por la irresponsabilidad e indiferencia, gracias por darle unos ultimos dias llenos amor, de felicidad. Te felicito y te bendigo por ese corazon noble que tienes

Hola @floramarela, al igual que tú yo también quedé impactada con su muerte, habíamos logrado tanto en tan poco tiempo pero su organismo probablemente estuvo mucho tiempo aguantando situaciones extremas de hambre, frío, y quién sabe que cosas más y al final terminó de manifestarlo. Cada vez que alguien, en cualquier parte del mundo vea a un animal en ese estado, verá el reflejo de la humanidad, una muestra de lo atrasados que aún estamos como sociedad al permitirlo. Gracias por tus palabras, las aprecio de corazón y gracias por tu apoyo y por tomarte el tiempo para leer mi publicación y amén a tus bendiciones aunque nadie debería ser felicitado por hacer el bien, se supone que para eso estamos en este mundo. Para dar amor a quien lo necesita. 🤗

Oh my goodness this post ended with me in tiers, I can't believe he died after all that Cayayo had such a beautiful face, this was so unexpected what you and your sister done is just out of this world thanks so much for what you have done for poor Cayayo rip.

😢 hi! Yes, it was very unexpected, we loved him so much, everyone can do it and as I said to @phortun, no one should be congratulated for doing good, that is what we are in this world for, to love. Thanks for your support and for read my post and sorry I made you cry.

Let me also drop a TipU vote here ;)

@tipu curate