Our dog Scout

in Hive Pets2 years ago

IMG_4334.JPEG

In July of 2012 my wife and I visited the Alameda County Fair in Pleasanton California. That evening we were going to see Kelly Pickler in concert at the Fairgrounds. The day was extremely hot and after a full day at the fair we were exhausted. We got in line for the concert and saw a dog rescue booth set up nearby. From the line I could see what looked like a Siberian Husky laying in the shade of the booth. Having Huskies all my life I walked over to take a look. The Husky looked miserable because it was so hot.

I spoke to someone in the booth who said they were trying to adopt the Husky out. They did not know how old she was and the only background on her was that she was found wondering the streets after being hit by a car. I went back in line and sent my wife over to look at the Husky. My wife returned to the line and asked me if I wanted to take the Husky for a walk to see if we wanted to adopt her. We decided to abandon the concert and take the Husky for a walk through the fair.

The Husky walked around the fair with us and did not leave my side. We walked back to the rescue booth and adopted her. We named her Scout and walked her out to our car. Scout jumped into the back seat and laid down as we drove home like she knew who we were. We arrived home and introduced Scout to our Corgi (Rocco) which Scout fell in love with.

IMG_0877.JPG

IMG_2485.JPG

My wife and I love camping and I believe Scout enjoyed camping as much as we did. Scout was a well mannered dog which made her a joy to take out of the house.

IMG_1100.JPG

IMG_2277.JPG

As well as camping Scout loved hiking and often times would wear a backpack. Scout loved the backpack and seemed that she felt carrying water and her bowl in the pack was her job. Scout loved to have a job and believed one of her jobs was security for my wife. Anytime my wife would gasp if something scared her, you can bet Scout was coming running. Scout would arrive into the area where my wife was an immediately checked out the area to make sure my wife was not in trouble.

IMG_1108.JPG

IMG_2310.JPG

The one thing Scout loved to do if she wasn't hiking or watching out for my wife was sleep. We took our RV all over the country and Scout loved to sleep on the couch directly behind the driver's seat.

IMG_3283.JPG

IMG_6559.JPG

Scout was a very loving dog and she went everywhere with us. We also live with sheep and goats and Scout loved to play with them through the fence separating our yard from the more open land. Scout always looked forward to getting to go run with the goats and sheep in the open area of our land.

image.png

Scout also loved riding below my legs on the UTV.

IMG_4772.JPG

Scout was such a special dog that we recently decided to get another Husky puppy named Timber. Timber and Scout quickly fell in love with each other.

IMG_7406.JPG

IMG_7523.JPG

Scout has had a heart condition over the past year which has really started to affect her. Last week we had to put her down after being able to share our lives with this special girl. Scout is missed terribly by my wife and I as well as all our animals. I don't want this to sound like a sad story because we were lucky to spend about 10 years with this special girl. We didn't know how old she was when we got her, so 10 great years with her was awesome. She really added happiness and at times comedy to our house.

IMG_3468.JPG

We had Scout cremated and our awaiting her ashes. We will always love our little rescue Scout.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @bloghound ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Aw I'm so sorry 😪 Run free, Scout!

Beautiful post about our Girl Scout. Missing our special girl.

I am so glad you honored her memory by sharing her story. May you always feel her love around your family.

Thank you
!HBITS

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | subscribe | <>< daily

Starting Sept 10, you will need to reply to your OWN post or comment to mine HBIT. You MIGHT also find a bonus token! Details here.