Boy scouts

in Unschooling6 months ago

One thing I realized more recently - probably a "getting older" type of realization - is that the sense of community is dead around us. People don't believe in the church anymore with all the bad news it got a while ago. But by pushing away church, they also destroyed a community.

When you get to know the people around you, you're not afraid of them. You trust and you bond with each other. Communication makes fear disappear. Yet here we are, not knowing anything about our neighbours. How could they be important, they are useless to our day to day lives.

20231027_000716.jpg

We have to much to do, so little time and frankly we just don't give a damn. That, in the great scheme of things, is so sad.

This is a reality of Western civilization. Most conversations I hear is so boring and shallow. We automated the "How are you" so well, we don't even care about the answer. Communication is at its lowest level, politically, in the news, and at work. It's like nobody gives a damn about anything.

Yesterday I told one of my best friend I've had in years

why do you look so sad

20231027_001012.jpg

He looked at me and emotions just took over. His couple is having a hard time and he finds it hard with the kids.

We talked for a good hour in his car, parked right in front of my house. What we said was not important. I was there to listen. He had to talk. I think we owe this to the people around us. Take the time to hear what they really have to say to get to important places.

20231027_001040.jpg

Don't be afraid to dive deeper guys. Especially men.

Sort:  

what a cool post! very important and deep thoughts!

We automated the "How are you" so well, we don't even care about the answer - YEAH, it's a difference between Western culture and Russian one. When we ask "how are you?" it's a reason to tell everything about yourself and your problems;) sometimes it's even too much, and you think "Oh, stop, I didn't mean to listen to all your problems and diseases....". Our people are really more open and sincere.

And these words have touched my much too - Don't be afraid to dive deeper guys
Sometimes we really need to dive deeper...

I didn't know this tidbit about Russian culture, very interesting indeed. I do think capitalism at its extreme is bad for the human nature and very egocentric. Although I wouldn't want a completely communist country either. Middle-ground is hard to find, even in Canada.