Top 5 Questions you Face as an Unschooling Parent

in Unschooling3 years ago

5- When will you send them to school?

Yeah, that's a given. I mean we all unschool our children to put them back as fast as possible into the system, right? How about "we'll see" ?

4- How many hour per day do you teach them?

Quick Tip: "Uh, it depends?", is the worse answer you can give. Unless you want to start a never ending discussion.

3- Don't you worry about your children becoming antisocial?

Huh no. My children play with other kids everyday in the park. And yes they do respect social distancing during Covid19.

2- How can you judge your children without a report card?

Oh yes, the report card. Or should I say the "holy" report card. What would we all do without it? How can our children compare to each other without it. How could we live without the notion of competition between kids? Yes I'm very sarcastic. Kids don't need this. This was invented to calm down the parent, so they can know if their kid is performing well compared to others. Oh parents love it when they can brag about how their child is SO much better than the average. But what about the kid who has trouble even though he's putting more effort? The system don't care about it.

1- Are your kids dumb?

Yes.😁 (F*ck off)

image.png


Bonus question: Are you doing this because of your religion?

No.

Ugh.
I love unschooling, but I'm tired of answering the same questions over and over again!

Sort:  

I'm curious as to who asks these questions. Is it friends and family? I hardly ever encountered them, but having immigrated to Australia, we didn't have a lot of close friends and family around us. When I did get asked them it seemed to be in genuine curiosity.

Let's see, another answer to question five could be, when they want to go to school. You could say mine are back in school now; one is getting her highschool certificate via an online college and the other is in university.

I Think my answer to question 4 was something along the lines of "they are always learning."

3 was an easy answer. No! 🤣 Then I'd say homeschool groups and extra curricular activities. That usually gave them an aha moment, because even they're own kids did extra curricular activities and quite Ogden it was at those that we got that question.

I've never encountered question 2, although with my kids starting out in school I agree with your assessment of it and yes, I admit to being proud of my eldest being above average, although I'm not proud of that part now.

Are your kids dumb?

Seriously! What kind of person asks that!?
I have had my mother-in-law testing them when I first started homeschooling, though. She soon stopped and never really questioned our choice again.

What kind of person asks that!?

Don't worry, that was all in good fun, nobody actually asked that. But you know, they sometime judge.

Reading your reply was fun and eye opening in some aspects. Thanks!

!ENGAGE 1

You need to have 1000 ENGAGE, in order to use this service.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Are you still getting these, I haven't had them for ages XD though it may have something to do with the general opinion about the standard/quality of education in my immediate area.

Perhaps you and the kids could make up little booklets to hand out next time someone asks a question, and at the end include all the curriculum areas you covered just by making the book ;D

I looooooove the booklet idea. That's hilarious!

The booklet is an amazing idea 🤣
!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation and you've been chosen to be this week's beneficiary recipient.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.