S&S Monthly Short Fiction Contest

in Scholar and Scribe2 years ago (edited)

Welcome

Welcome to Scholar and Scribe's monthly genre-focused fiction writing competition! If this is your first time here, we're thrilled to have you! Allow me to introduce myself and this wonderful community:

My name is ThinkrDotExe, your friendly neighborhood dork, family man, and professional counselor by day - content creator and amateur writer by... whatever free time I have. I've been writing fiction pieces for Scholar and Scribe almost since their formation. Scholar and Scribe is a community of writers and authors dedicated to creating and curating high-quality creativity in just about whatever form it takes - short stories, poems, serial stories, etc. - with a specific bent towards fictive literature. Rants, discussions, journalism, and other similar works likely won't perform well here because we're all about the fabrication of a well-spun story, and there are some incredible storytellers in our ranks! If you don't believe me, just scroll the community posts for a little while, and you'll see what I mean. Also, the two-token system that rewards both authors and readers for spending time in S&S is a pretty nice benefit too, but hey, don't take my word for it... see for yourself!

Enough about us, you came here for one thing: COMPETITION! It's literary blood sport where your foes are vanquished and you stand upon the pinnacle of victory with the wind in your hair, screaming to the sky as you revel in the glory!... Okay, maybe I got a little carried away, but I'm sure you're dying to know what this is all about, so let's get right to it.

Rules

Every month, the stakeholders in S&S are going to decide on a genre and prompt for the contest. If you're a stakeholder and haven't yet made it into our community space on the Hive Pizza Discord, pop on in and ping @dibblers.dabs to get your appropriate role and jump in on the conversation! The rules for the Competition are as follows:

  1. Your entry must adhere to the genre AND the thematic prompt given. Any entries that deviate will be removed from the contestant pool.
  2. Your entry must be at least 800 words in length, and may not exceed 1500 words. This is for the purpose of providing substantial content, but still keeping it relatively brief for the contest's purposes. Note: this does not include any intro text/footer text.
  3. Your entry must be posted in Scholar and Scribe and use the #scholarandscribe and #ss-monthly tags, or it will not be eligible for winnings.
  4. All languages are welcome but MUST include an English translation within the post so we may judge the submission accurately!
  5. Link your entry in a comment beneath this post to secure eligibility for winnings.

Winners will be chosen on the last Saturday of the month and announced in a post showing ranking with a link to their piece, as well as some honorable mentions for runners-up. The rewards for placing are as follows:

  • Gold: 30 SCHOLAR and 3 Hive SBI
  • Silver: 20 SCHOLAR and 1 Hive SBI
  • Bronze: 10 SCHOLAR

May the odds - and your creative energy - be ever in your favor!

Prompt

The prompt for this month is:

  • Genre: Action
  • Thematic Prompt: Canine

THE DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSION IS JUNE 25TH, 23:59 UTC-5

Give us your best substantial, fictive work between 800-1.5k words following these prompts for a chance to win! We greatly look forward to seeing your stories!

Your panel of judges for this month: @thinkrdotexe, @dibblers.dabs, and @jfuji


As always, take care of yourselves and each other, and stay thoughtful!
Your friendly neighborhood dork,
~Thinkr


About the Scholar and Scribe Community
Scholar and Scribe is a new creative writing community founded in the forges of Hive's passionate Pizza Guild. It sets itself part from some of the other writing groups on Hive with its unique dual-token system.
[ Quick token guideS+S 'Whitepaper' ]

Sort:  

Right. I finally managed to get done. Just in time. S&S Monthly Short Fiction Contest - Gunpowder and Fang

Excellent! Thank you for your submission, really looking forward to reading it! Hope you get some rest and get to feeing better soon, Zak! !CTP !PIZZA !WINE


Congratulations, @thinkrdotexe You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @zakludick.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.270


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Wow. This is such a great avenue to explore fiction again. Thanks for the initiative, I am in.

Very much looking forward to seeing your story, my friend. This contest has been in the thinktank for a while, so glad we came to a place where we could pull the trigger on it! Good luck! !PIZZA !CTP

Woohoo! Congratulations to the launch of this contest!
!PIZZA

Thanks, Relf! We're excited to introduce it to the writing community here, hoping that we get to see LOTS of great stories and new faces! !PIZZA !CTP

Loading...

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @hive-199275.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

That is a nice opportunity
!PIZZA
!hivebits

Hope to see your work in the competition, my guy! !PIZZA !CTP

Oh interesting stuff! Look forward to reading the winners!

me too, almost as much as I look forward to reading through all of the contestants' entries! !PIZZA

Just saw it on LN too, good work!

Thank you! Hope the mail brings some new faces in!

That's cool! Nice opportunity to create a dog hero. I'm in!😎

Excellent, can't wait to see your work! !PIZZA

sounds like fun! the deadline is before the end of June, correct?

Yes, so the official "end date" is the last Saturday of June. That falls on the 25th. So there should be plenty of time to get a decent story whipped together! I think it'll be fun, I'm so excited to see what people create!

@tanjakolader This may be a good way to challenge yourself in writing. You have until the end of the month.

!LUV

For some reason, I read the tag that you had made as being mine. IDK why, but that explains my confusion and my subsequent response with "bro, I'm the one who organized the contest..." smacks forehead with palm !LOL I'm such a goof!

Why do they call it euthanasia?
It’s not like you’re getting any younger

Credit: reddit
@rarej, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @thinkrdotexe
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
(1/1)

!LOL That clears it up then.

My father wants me to study law and be a good lawyer
He needs me to get him out of jail.

Credit: vaipraonde
@thinkrdotexe, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @rarej
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
(2/4)

Lol, bro, I'm the one who organized the contest, and I'm one of the judges! However, I think it'd be a great way to challenge YOURSELF in writing... Why don't you throw your hat in the ring? Would love to see you posting in S&S! !PIZZA !CTP

Lol, bro, I'm the one who organized the contest, and I'm one of the judges

!LOL yes, I saw that.

I might take a shot at it as well, somewhere mid-june.

Please do! Would be awesome to see you posting creative fiction in S&S! !PIZZA

Ah close enough
Mediocrates

Credit: reddit
@thinkrdotexe, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @rarej
Have you tried the !gif !lolz !meme combo? It is a wall of fun!
(2/4)

@thinkrdotexe, @rarej(1/3) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

Hmmm, let me see if I can conjure up something 😏
!CTP

YESSSS! So looking forward to seeing it, brother! !CTP !PIZZA

That's kinda challenge for the mental indulgence. I'll try my best to add something unusual.
BTW, any deadline submission date. Thanks

!LUV

Can't wait to see what you bring to the table! And yes, the deadline is outlined in the announcement post. Entries must be submitted under the announcement post BY 6/25 at 23:59 UTC-5, or they won't be considered, though I will probably still check em out and upvote if I like em! Good luck!
!PIZZA !CTP

Thanks for further clarification, much appreciated.

Absolutely! You're not the only one who's asked about the deadline, so I think I might have to edit the post to make sure it's clear.

It is all clear now. It would be nice if deadline part should come under Rules section as 5th point. I really miss having an option to select a text color.

Thanks my friend

I included it under the prompt in my edit, I realized that it was - in fact - never included in the original post! Oops! I must've put the countdown on it and assumed I also outlined the deadline on the actual post as well... 🙄

No worries, all good now. 🙂
Thanks man.

This is going to be great. I'm in for this. Please, when is the deadline.?

Deadline is June 25, 23:59 UTC-5. Looking forward to seeing your work! !PIZZA

Thank you for your submission! Best of luck in the contest, we'll be in touch! !PIZZA !CTP

Sounds great! Sadly I am not so good at writing these things. But nice contest! I am happy to see the entries.

I'll be excited to see them as well, hoping to see some new faces in S&S soon!

First time I've heard of this monthly contest. I think I'll check out some of the participants. 😁😁
I might even participate.

This is the first one! We're very excited to kick off the contest series, and I'm excited to host em!

I'm also looking forward to seeing what the participants bring forward, and you absolutely should toss your hat in the ring! If for nothing other than to join in the fun and get those creative juices flowing! Regardless of the nature of your involvement, I'm glad to see your name in the comments. !CTP !PIZZA

Excellent, thank you for participating Cool08! We'll be in touch! In the meanwhile, make sure to check in periodically to see what other contestants are bringing to the table, and scroll around the Scholar and Scribe community for some excellent reading material! !CTP !PIZZA

I will do that. Thanks a lot and thanks for bringing up this contest in this Community

It's my pleasure! S&S has a lot to offer, and is building something really cool that I'm hoping this competition will draw more attention to! Thanks again for getting involved!

Oh how very wonderful! I just discovered this community today and since I enjoy writing a bunch of fiction myself, I thought I should've give this contest a go as well!

Here's my entry:

The Legend of the Canine King

Excellent! So glad to have you as part of S&S, can't wait to see more of your work in the community! Thank you for your entry, we'll be in touch! !CTP !PIZZA

Hola saludos a todos desde Venezuela excelente comunidad, muy bueno el concurso aqui les dejo mi publicacion espero la disfruten, que esten bien https://hive.blog/hive-199275/@rolling2021/mi-fiel-amigo-por-rolling2021

I suppose I should have added that all languages are absolutely welcome SO LONG AS an English translation is included in the post. If you would graciously edit your submission to include an English translation so we can accurately judge it, we would greatly appreciate it! Thank you! ❤️ !PIZZA !CTP !hbit

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <>< daily

⚠ HBIT will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

debio haberse agregado pero ya mismo hago la traduccion, gracias

Many thanks, friend! !CTP

ready brother as you requested, here is the link already translated and updated, thank you again https://hive.blog/hive-199275/@rolling2021/mi-fiel-amigo-por-rolling2021

Thank you so much, bro! I'm looking forward to reading your work! !PIZZA !CTP

Thank you for your submission, @lightpen! We'll be in touch. In the meanwhile, stop by some of the other participants' posts, read what they've brought to the table and show them a little love, and scroll through the S&S community for some EXCELLENT reading material! It's great to have ya! !CTP !PIZZA

Thank you. I'll do that. Keep the good work up.

Hey @gracepro did you put something together for this?

yes! please do put something together, we would love to see your work! !CTP !PIZZA

You too, @indiebandguru!

Oh I see... Hmmmm.... should I? Could I? Hmmmmmmm....

Please do! Would LOVE to see your name in our pool of contestants! !PIZZA !CTP

Thank you for your submission! We'll be in touch. In the meanwhile, be sure to check out the posts your fellow contestants have submitted and scroll around Scholar and Scribe for some more excellent stories! We're glad to have you! !CTP !PIZZA

Hello, friends. Thanks for the great idea of doing this contest. Here is my entry:

The adventure of a faithful dog, determined to face any danger to save his master.

Dog Hero

Thank you for your submission, dito! Glad the contest is being received well, and we're looking forward to reading your story! We'll be in touch. In the meanwhile, be sure to check out the submissions of your fellow contestants and keep scrolling S&S for some excellent reading material! Glad to have you here! !LUV !PIZZA !CTP

Ok. I will read them. Thanks
!PIZZA

Hello everyone, I'm so happy to participate in this wonderful monthly contest and here is my first write up in the community. Enjoy..

https://peakd.com/hive-199275/@daveyjones7/a-cry-for-help

Thank you for your submission, Davey! We'll be in touch, be looking for the winner announcement post near the end of the month! In the meanwhile, be sure to check out the submissions of your fellow contestants! Great to have you here at S&S! !PIZZA !CTP

Thank you @thinkrdotexeb for the warm welcome. I will definitely check out the posts of other contestants.

Hello! How could I resist writing about a hero dog?

Entry: https://ecency.com/hive-199275/@gracepro/monthly-short-fiction-contest-prompt

Wonderful to see your name in the pool of contestants! Thank you for your submission, Grace, we'll be in touch! !PIZZA !CTP

Thank you for your submission! Very much looking forward to reading it! We'll be in touch, may the odds be ever in your favor! !CTP !PIZZA

My boy! I'm so happy that our discussions in the server were this fruitful. Such organic content creation is something we should keep striving to achieve. Bravo. 👏

With honor and great pleasure I present my entry in this contest: https://peakd.com/hive-199275/@grocko/if-they-only-knew

Can't wait for the next one. 😁

🍻

Eyyyy! My man, thank you for your submission! Really looking forward to reading it! We'll be in touch! !LUV !WINE !PIZZA


Congratulations, @thinkrdotexe You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @grocko.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.256


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Hello Scholars & Scribes! Here's my entry for this contest.

https://peakd.com/hive-199275/@kemmyb/screams-of-terror-fiction

Great work, guys! Thank you. 🙂

Hello... Here is my entry to the monthly contest

Woohoo! Thank you for your submission! Looking forward to reading it! We'll be in touch, be watching for the announcement post next week! !CTP !PIZZA

I am a little late to submit, but if there is any chance, kindly consider my entry. Thanks in advance

In Search of The Missing Sister - (A Short Fiction)
https://ecency.com/hive-199275/@emaxisonline/in-search-of-the-missing

Not too late at all, really, you still had about 5 hours to spare! Thank you for your submission, we're looking forward to reading it! We'll be in touch, be on the lookout for the announcement post in the next 5 days! !CTP !PIZZA

What a relief to know that the submission went on the time. So nice you, will wait to see how I did in my first participation.

!PIZZA