Our Homeschool Diary: Holiday Fun With Word Search Puzzles

in Home Edders3 years ago

20210720_183515_0000.png

How are you, Home Edders? I hope you all

It's a week-long break here in the UAE in celebration of the Eid Al Adha (Feast of the Sacrifice) so we also take a break in our little homeschool but that doesn't mean we stop learning and tickling our brains.

Today, we spent a lot of time doing word search puzzles. We've not really engaged in this type of puzzle apart from occasional textbook activities that come up with some lessons. Now, I bought a full booklet of word search puzzles!

Word Search Puzzles

Puzzles are great activities to keep the brain wired and stimulated.

Among others, here are some of the benefits of word search puzzles for small learners:

  1. Word search puzzles can improve spelling and reading skills.
  2. It enriches the vocabulary.
  3. It encourages problem solving skills.
  4. It is a fun activity for a friendly competition.
  5. The whole family can join the fun.

IMG_20210720_100837.jpg

Because the puzzles in the booklet requires to look for 24 words in total, Little Man is not yet interested to solve the puzzles from it. Instead, I made one for him, a very simple one to get him warmed and prepped up.

I made an 8-word search puzzle for him where he had to search for colors. Easy peasy. He finished it in just a few minutes.

IMG_20210720_100804.jpg

As if playing individually is not enough, Little Miss decided it was time for a competition. The plan- to find out who can finish a puzzle fastest.

Kuya, the eldest took upon one of the puzzles from the booklet and as for the two smaller ones, I made another one where they have to search the months of the year.

IMG_20210720_183832.jpg

It was indeed time well spent for the kids, especially given that we cannot go out because of the extreme summer and yes, Covid19 restriction.

Hopefully, the puzzles will keep them entertained for a few more days until we go back to normal schedule on Sunday.

arrliinn footer.gif

Sort:  

Ah word searches are one of my favorite things to do when I have down time. I haven’t done them in years but I would plow through them at various points. It’s great that your little ones are enjoying them too! Our son is finally starting to recognize more letters as he goes, hopefully we can expand upon that it to start with small words but we’ll see. Good way to spend some time inside!

It's great to keep them occupied while they exercise their brains. I actually also did one from their booklet. I kinda miss doing it too. Hehe

Yeah, it was one of the things I loved doing. I was pretty good at it! For some reason I could just look at the page as a whole and slam through a bunch of words incredibly quickly. Not sure how I could recognize it but it was fun lol

There's definitely worse ways to spend time!

Earlier this year or maybe late last year my younger two found some word puzzle and were racing each other trying to see who could find the most words out of it. They're old enough that the two year age gap doesn't really make a huge difference though XD

It can really bring about some good competition. Hehe.

Congratulations @arrliinn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 76000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 77000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

I love that they made a competition of it. I might have enjoyed word searches more if I'd done that. 😆

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.