Sort:  

They? Who's they? Do you mean 'us'?

Let's not do the division thing here. Try to work together. Keep in mind, I was gone for a few months so in that time I'm not sure what progress had been made to remedy the seemingly endless trending page hysteria.

No clue who they is. Usually blockchain decisions are on the blockchain. Some powerful accounts that moved over and supported the move I guess.

You do have a good point of ending the division. I do suspect there will be much less here. We have a brighter future, but silent compliance means suppression not unity. The millions of Chinese soldiers who helped the communist party were enthusiastic volunteers after all.

I'm only suggesting the content gets sorted. Everyone still gets their money and visibility. Just trying to open some doors for a vast portion of this community. That's all.

By 'internal memos' I just meant little announcements that would only appeal or make sense to a small group of people within the community. I think I missed a joke there. It happens.

clayop did some interesting analysis on trending of hive and steemit only 6 days in. He noticed more engagement on Hive and wants to consider making a better rep system.
Also slq is up, so asher will be back to measuring engagement.

To say we aren't headed in a better direction with more communication would be silly. I know the foundation regularly created attendee lists and MOM.

I think my point is some things are best left centralized and opaque.

Money and visibility is good for all. I am hoping visibility come first and bith are well deserved.

Well I'm certainly not attempting to halt communication. There could be a lot more if it had a place. People simply stop looking at the trending page once it's overrun with what I had mentioned, and then a lot of the important messages don't get read. Then people are angry they weren't informed.

Currently I don't mind seeing all the rapid recent developments taking center stage. I think it's great, and it's kinda fun to show off.

In the future once more curation is happening and things settle, these messages will get lost. I think it's wise to eventually give this stuff an important home, plus give the content producers a platform they can thrive on. Shooting for one of those win wins here.

You'd be among the last I'd accuse of trying to halt reasoned and sincere conversation.
I just don't bother checking trending. I follow who I want because I like their work or the quality of they promote. Besides I follow a few people who are good at getting the news. Decentralization of media is important.

The trending page is fine now. Hive developments, new dapps, news etc should be most important for now. It's new, exciting amd important. It's also the best time to be paying attention and mentioning important ideas, before they are burried.

We all want a winwin and I think we are well on your way to get it.

I'm interested in this important home you mention. There are already people linking links and even artists telling the story. Perhaps we will see a magnum opus "the birth of a real decentralized social network". It's happening now so its too soon to tell the story, best observe or try to be an active part.

I agree with the new and exciting stuff. But you just said:

I just don't bother checking trending

That's common, so the news isn't read and that content producer who did something incredible doesn't gain the advantages trending status is meant to provide. Don't you find it odd someone you never heard of is trending, the post is great, and there are no comments under the post? That should be their busiest day. Should be gaining more followers. Seeing more votes from people who don't normally vote on their work.

We need to build trust in the trending page again. Much of that trust was lost after the bidbot disaster. Now folks can do well and nobody even notices, or people see money beside a post and assume it's trash for some screwed up reason, and won't even look, because it's trending and trending has a bad name. That's ridiculous and I hope it changes. It sucks being treated poorly for doing well. Blocktrades and those involved are kicking ass, all while some folks are only looking at the superficial element of a simple post with an image and two sentences. Give that stuff a home, it doesn't get buried, it gets seen, and doesn't leave such a huge dent in the reward pool. But again, these days I'm fine with it, it's fun showing off, but in the future I won't tolerate it. There has to be a better way and it has to benefit everyone as equally as possible. Working together not stepping on toes.