You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Witnesses | More Communication Needed?

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

For now I'll tolerate it, but in the future I'd really like to see all:

  • internal memos
  • platform politics
  • recent developments
  • witness announcements
  • etc.

Properly tagged and fitted into a community. That content should then be removed from the 'official' trending pages on popular frontends because it's silly (look I didn't use the f-word!) to force content producers to compete with board room meetings and local public service announcements.

If we're debating platform politics, or even just talking about the platform, we should have a place to go for that. Not place our potential communication breakdowns and sometimes dysfunctional nature directly on the mark, center stage, and under the spotlight.

A quality content producer isn't only producing content for self interests and financial gain. We're trying to make the place look good.

There's nothing wrong with sweeping some of this stuff under the rug, then creating a culture that knows there's a place to go to air your grievances, learn about witnesses, check out the progress reports, and the rest of this long list.

The general public can then enjoy what we bring to the surface, which is our best work. A shining example of the opportunities created from everything that happens behind the scenes.

It has only been five days and some folks are already grumbling about the content on the trending page. They have valid concerns but at the same time I recognize the fact we're all still attempting to get our shit together, so it's far too soon to begin complaining, but I'd really like to make a point that this common concern inherited from the old platform doesn't need to last forever. Five days is fine but in five months time, I'd personally like to see some progress made in regards to what I've mentioned here.

I'm here to help, not bitch and moan, so if anyone has any questions or would like to accumulate wisdom from gaining the perspective of an actual content producer, feel free to ask.

Sort:  

Internal memos

I think that is the burn they agreed to first. 🤣

They? Who's they? Do you mean 'us'?

Let's not do the division thing here. Try to work together. Keep in mind, I was gone for a few months so in that time I'm not sure what progress had been made to remedy the seemingly endless trending page hysteria.

No clue who they is. Usually blockchain decisions are on the blockchain. Some powerful accounts that moved over and supported the move I guess.

You do have a good point of ending the division. I do suspect there will be much less here. We have a brighter future, but silent compliance means suppression not unity. The millions of Chinese soldiers who helped the communist party were enthusiastic volunteers after all.

I'm only suggesting the content gets sorted. Everyone still gets their money and visibility. Just trying to open some doors for a vast portion of this community. That's all.

By 'internal memos' I just meant little announcements that would only appeal or make sense to a small group of people within the community. I think I missed a joke there. It happens.

clayop did some interesting analysis on trending of hive and steemit only 6 days in. He noticed more engagement on Hive and wants to consider making a better rep system.
Also slq is up, so asher will be back to measuring engagement.

To say we aren't headed in a better direction with more communication would be silly. I know the foundation regularly created attendee lists and MOM.

I think my point is some things are best left centralized and opaque.

Money and visibility is good for all. I am hoping visibility come first and bith are well deserved.

Well I'm certainly not attempting to halt communication. There could be a lot more if it had a place. People simply stop looking at the trending page once it's overrun with what I had mentioned, and then a lot of the important messages don't get read. Then people are angry they weren't informed.

Currently I don't mind seeing all the rapid recent developments taking center stage. I think it's great, and it's kinda fun to show off.

In the future once more curation is happening and things settle, these messages will get lost. I think it's wise to eventually give this stuff an important home, plus give the content producers a platform they can thrive on. Shooting for one of those win wins here.

You'd be among the last I'd accuse of trying to halt reasoned and sincere conversation.
I just don't bother checking trending. I follow who I want because I like their work or the quality of they promote. Besides I follow a few people who are good at getting the news. Decentralization of media is important.

The trending page is fine now. Hive developments, new dapps, news etc should be most important for now. It's new, exciting amd important. It's also the best time to be paying attention and mentioning important ideas, before they are burried.

We all want a winwin and I think we are well on your way to get it.

I'm interested in this important home you mention. There are already people linking links and even artists telling the story. Perhaps we will see a magnum opus "the birth of a real decentralized social network". It's happening now so its too soon to tell the story, best observe or try to be an active part.

Jarvie had some ideas for a Q and A community as well as some sort of way to better communicate. I think many of these things can be solved with good tools (roadscape has discussed this as well) and as we move more and more into communities, we hopefully have better looking “trending” geared to an outside audience for sure.

I think making a few specific tags or communities ineligible to 'trend' on the main page would be a simple solution. Have a flashy button somewhere that looks important, push it, and that leads behind the scenes.

With something like that, witnesses and developers can still produce content and be a part of the community that way, and at the same time have a place where their important notes aren't lost or scattered all over the chain, overlooked, or hogging top slots and bugging people. It's for their own good. The community often loses trust in the witnesses when their posts hog all the glory. I'm just being honest. Not trying to be a jerk. I liked your post and I hope you're having a fine day.