What I Did On HIVE—June (2020)

in #hive4 years ago

I Hit A Brick Wall

I think that pretty much sums it up.

June started out with promise. Then, I just kind of gradually stopped doing something, until I didn't do anything.

bee-5047824_1280.png

Posts (no comments)—12

My last post was on June 23. Even so, my post count only dropped by one over my output in May, when I was much more into it all throughout the month.

Go figure.

I'd fully intended to get posts up to at least four a week, and put in the work early in the month to get there. The latter part of the month, my heart just wasn't it.

Comments—70

This represents less than half of what I did in May, which was already pretty low. I'd have to check but I may have fallen below where I was when I started, before I discovered the value in commenting.

Like the posts, most of those comments, 53, came in the first two weeks.

Earned HP—265.086

This is an increase of roughly 75 HP from May's major drop, and is in line with what I was doing going into 2020. The first four months of this year were significantly higher than that, however.

Something has changed. I noted it last month. I don't know what it is, other than curation has fallen off for me, and I can only guess others, except maybe for a few.

Going into the summer months, there have been drop offs in the past, so maybe that's what this is.

Total earned HP since January 2018 is now 6,597.915.

Highest single payout—41.837 HP

My Post, I've Got Good News And Bad News received the highest single payout in June, followed closely by Positivity In Negativity, which earned 38.078 HP.

Side note: I did not receive any HBD for the aforementioned posts because I set the payout to HP only. I did it because I finally got tired, after 2.5 years, of either converting HBD to HIVE so it could be powered up, or simply powering up HIVE. I'm not advocating for it. I may well be losing something. I just don't plan to hold HBD and play the speculation game, so I never could understand why I was doing it other than that's what I was counseled to do in the beginning, so I did it.

Reputation ranking—69

Consequence of a drop in curation means the Rep Rank doesn't move as much, either. Third month stuck on 69. I think it's because I really want it to get to 70.

Investment—2,190.460

The last of my available STEEM was converted to HIVE and powered up in June. I guess there's still five STEEM and change still there, but that's it.

The end of an era.

I don't know what the future holds. I don't know what's going on behind the scenes to make things the way they are. I just know I spent two plus years on STEEM, so a portion of my heart will probably always be there, even if it does get ran into the ground, abandoned or digested by TRON. Maybe that will go away in another year and a half to two of being on HIVE, if I manage to actually stick it out that long.

Between earned and invested, total HP was 20,930.163 by June's end.

I was hoping to get a better return on STEEM to HIVE, so that the total would now be closer to 24,000 HP, but that was not to be, and as it is, I'd rather HIVE be higher than STEEM. It can feel free to take off anytime as far as I'm concerned.

Miscellaneous

I'm going to note here that I didn't bother to fill out a few categories I normally would: Votes given and received, as well as contests. Unless I track it on a weekly basis, it's become harder since the split to retrieve the voting data at the end of the month like I normally try to do. So, if I'm going to report on those going forward, I will need to keep track on a weekly basis.

As for contests, I didn't get anything from any.

This is the point where I could probably shoot up the word count for this post by at least double, and launch into a dozen reasons if not more why the second part of June happened, and why July isn't going to be better.

I'm not going to. I don't even really care right now, so why should I expect anyone else? It is what it is, and not all of it is actually that bad. Having more of a life outside of HIVE is a good thing, and since more of my time is being taken up with work, and I will be spending 10 or so days starting next week somewhere between home and 3,000 miles away, July is pretty much shot, even if I do manage to post between now and Thursday when we leave.

Onward and upward.

Sort:  

Had been wondering if all was well with you.

Having more of a life outside of HIVE is a good thing

Indeed. Be careful in your traveling. Lots of irrational folks out there right now. I tend to think less is more anyway myself. So many folks on here posting just to post, some several times a day with meaningless things just to try to get a little more drips of coin in their wallet. I wonder how many they turn away by doing that with folks like myself.

I too have just a little bit of Steem left. Most of it was powered down before Sun changed it to 4 weeks, and I initiated a new powerdown as well before he changed that. I think it still has about 6 weeks left to go before I get the remaining 14 Steem or whatever it is out. Don't care enough to speed it up to four weeks to log in there.

Hope work has been picking up for you. Seems I recall it was still pretty slow for you.

Loading...

I am sitting on 7k Steem just milking it over there. Lol. Find the tip rewarded authors and set them to autovote. I know I feel a bit dirty but oh well. I try to squeeze some Hive-Time in whenever I can. You know me... busy busy busy LOL. That reminds me I need to put out a notice for FFF. I feel bad but I just can’t handle it on my own. It sucks but that is just how it is sometimes.

Keep on Keepin’ on

Hey, @jlsplatts.

I don't blame you for trying to build some STEEM. I don't see any problem in trying to make what you can where you can. I know others might not agree, but I don't think there's any reason to adhere to any kind of loyalty test when nothing is ever guaranteed. Especially when the real earnings here are not in the social media part of it at all, not even for the higher HP accounts. The real earnings is sitting in the HIVE DAO fund for those who manage to have a project people will back.

re: autovote

I appreciate the idea there. I know I've thought about it a lot. If I ever get to the point where I decide I'm done with any type of content production (and maybe I'm there already, just haven't fully accepted it yet), I could pick out some authors to autovote, or follow a trail. I'm just not there yet. I think. :)

re: FFF

I'm sorry to hear that. I feel like I've let you all down myself for not actively participating. Over the last several months.

I understand though. It's happened a lot, first on STEEM and then on HIVE. At one point there seemed to be at least three of you working behind the scenes but now I guess those folks have moved on to other things.

Maybe someone will want to pick up the mantle. If not, if I actually do get back to posting regularly, I will probably end up posting about food, and I will probably use the #fff tag out of habit, and to honor what you've all done. I just probably won't do it on a Friday. :)

Well I hope you do get a departure post out. Almost time to hit the road then, pictures, and note book of stops along the way, may as well enjoy the drive and ride. I know everyone will just want to get there, but you might be driving by once in a lifetime places to see. Even if they are just quick snaps out the vehicle window, don't forget to take a few pics.

I did notice you were slowing down a bit, I just assumed a lot of it was getting busier at work with places re-opening and also helping your son and daughter in-law getting packed and prep to start a new life in a far away land.

At any rate enjoy that drive, I love cross country drives, I did a couple of coast to coast drives when I was younger, they were a blast.

Hey, @bashadow.

I think had I done this when I was younger, or if there were more time, and if my wife were going with me, I would be looking forward to it. Right now, I can't say that I am, other than I will be off work for a while (and presumably getting paid for it). :)

re: pictures

I'm sure I will take some. I'm just fighting against doing something with it when I get back.

re: slowing down

Well, all of that is definitely playing a part. However, even when there was life stuff and work was more than full-time, I couldn't wait to get home and put together a post or finish up one. Right now, it's more like, What's the point?

That, knowing exactly what the point is. Keep grinding. If there's not a lot to invest with, use what time I have. I get. I guess I've reached another point of burnout, along with what's happening in the world at large. I'm feeling like I don't have time to grind it out, or that I probably end up grinding until I die, which doesn't seem very appealing.

Being stuck at the crossroads is essentially the pits. :) But enough about me.

How about you? How goes things up your way?

Like a lot of people slowing down a bit, especially the commenting side of things. My posting has always been rather sporadic. I still looking toward the first HF and to see if things change, so far no real changes have been made to differentiate Hive from Steem so just waiting to see the outcome of the first couple of hard forks.

Just like on steem, no real progress reports on what has been going on to build Hive, just catch as catch can on the occasional post. Not much has been posted on the @hiveoio account, the one that is supposed to be the official here is what is going on account.

Blurt looked like it had promise but not so sure about it either, since you need to pay to post, comment, vote or do anything other than look at post, but they are still in the extreme early stages of starting, and not much is working at anywhere near 100% yet.

That's the online stuff, off-line, not much change everyone still being stupid in my opinion about the virus and lock down, I have gotten immune to it for the most part. If people want to walk around with collars and muzzles like good little lap dogs so be it. As you can see I still don't believe even one ounce worth of the hype.

Shopping, (which I used to like), has become a bore due to the mask here, no mask there, this activity needs a mask this activity doesn't need a mask. Every day I go out people are so scared they wear their mask while driving in their own car. I guess the virus is so small and so fast that it can jump in the window of a car doing 55 MPH and fly up your nostril and infect you.

So with all the lack of real interest in a lot of things, back to vegging on computer games, and watching TV shows on the computer. I am kind of glad I did not watch very much TV in the last ten years, cause I am certainly making up for it lately. I think I am on my fifth three season or more TV series. I keep trying movies every-now-and-then, but most of the movies released in the last ten years are pretty much garbage. I must have started to watch 30 or more movies, only to click them off and try to find something else in the first five minutes to watch.

So yep, trying to ignore a lot of stuff I guess, to maintain some sense of sanity.

I personally identify with all of what you said. For what it's worth, I'm glad you expressed it. It's not like I think I'm alone in any of that, but it's certainly good to read someone else saying it.

re: HF

From what I've seen so far, I don't think there's much intention to make things better through hard forks. We go from Steemit being the easy fall guy to another kind of system that pretty much existed before, and has not improved in the areas of faults in the mean time. If nothing else, they might be more exposed. Time will tell, I guess. We'll see how long the grace period extends, though it has been fraying in places.

re: hive.io

With on central party to report out, it looks like the individual devs are keeping us more or less updated on their individual things. It can go a while without hearing from them, and since they have work to do, communication tends to take a back seat. If there's not much to tell, telling us there's not much to tell would probably turn people off, too.

We could stand to have some kind of messaging system on chain for announcements and things, even small ones, but whatever. Not likely to happen soon, despite some talk about it.

re: virus

I've been wearing a mask a lot more solely because of work. I have yet to go shopping with one. However, they've been cracking down more here since the latest mandate, so I might not be able to continue that and not end up being fined or whatever they think they can do.

re: ignorance

You didn't really call it that, but described it with those who you see wearing the mask in their car in fear the virus might get them at 55 mph. Unfortunately, there's a lot of disinformation, and it's hard to know who's telling the truth because of all the possible agendas behind them.

re: vegging

I want to be creative. I want to post. But I just feel sapped of any desire, either before I hop on because of what's going on in the outside world, or because of what's going on, or not going on, here. Unless some form of viable, visible leadership appears, with some kind of vision and direction, I don't know how HIVE goes anywhere, even if it's got the sleekest, best, most awesome tech under the hood.