Sort:  

Hi, similarly, I just read this, so sorry for delayed response :-)

Voting CAN affect what is written, but it doesn't have to. That's mostly up to the writer. If the primary goal of their writing is financial reward, then yes, voting will probably affect it.

This can definitely be perceived as a weakness of the current system, but in fairness to myself I will point out that I didn't design the primary economics of Hive, nor do I think removing downvotes would solve the issues related to the economics. I do have some ideas for long term improvements to the current model, but there's a lot of code that needs to be written first and I haven't even started yet.

I don't think removing downvotes would solve this particular economic issue either. And far be it from me to hoist any criticism whatsoever. I commend all your work and have personally only ever heard good things about you. And frankly, I'd like to see a bloke try to do what y'all do every day. He who cast's the first stone...amirite?

I'd be curious to hear what your long term improvements are to the current economic model. If you can "layman" it. I get the feeling it'll be well over my head. I'd also be curious as to how you felt about other things as well, but I'll stop here for now.

I'd be curious to hear what your long term improvements are to the current economic model. If you can "layman" it.

The most fundamental change is probably not very controversial at this point of time since many here have lived through the "vote wars" of the past few years: move the primary rewards for content to the 2nd layer, allowing for competing opinions on the quality of a post to co-exist. We've almost finished up the first step required for this work now with implementation of the HAF framework. The next major step is to implement a smart contract system on top of HAF to enable support for community-based tokens.

In addition to the above work, my related area of interest is to research ways to improve our ability to get and assess information and to improve our decision making processes (both as individuals, and as people organized in groups on larger tasks). To me this is the most important and challenging problem facing humanity nowadays, and I believe flaws in our current processes (e.g. bad governance models) have lead to a lot of unnecessary conflict and wasted effort.

I've discussed some of my early ideas for this research in the post below in a form that I hope is mostly accessible to the layman reader: https://hive.blog/hivemind/@blocktrades/a-peer-to-peer-network-for-sharing-and-rating-information

I also wrote another post that goes more into depth on some of the technical details (which you might want to skip), but there's also more down-to-earth question/answers in the comment section of the 2nd post that may clear up some things up about my ideas so far: https://hive.blog/hivemind/@blocktrades/modeling-information-in-an-information-rating-system

You are so cute, @blocktrades, for your decent attempt at layperson english. I am literally in the process of consulting my blocktrades translator (klye) so that I might ensure greater success in interpreting what it is you have actually written.

Once I have obtained said translation, I will respond to you thusly.

And again, I do truly appreciate your time in writing this up. It means a lot. I LOVE hearing your thoughts. Sorry I'm not up on all the stuff.

UPDATED -- OK. I'm up to speed. Will comment tomorrow. Love what you're doing though. And bless your heart. I read your peer to peer network for sharing and rating. good stuff.

OK. So it sounds like what you're saying is, the majority of the voting, and the voting shares, should not really be taking place on the hive blockchain proper, where authentic participation still sometimes leaves much to be desired when it comes to who should get what and why.

But it should be taking place, as I know all you blokes have been saying for years, in well distributed (decentralized) hive-based projects like LeoFinance, Splinterlands, PAlnet, NFTs showrooms, and so forth. And the HAF has made this easier for them to develop, and will lend itself to smart contracts in the future. Which is great. I have always agreed with this type of growth.

In reference to your rating system, I read your articles. I REALLY enjoyed both.The trust network intrigues me greatly. The "visiting cousin" analogy worked very well. There would obviously need to be a way of overcoming the limits of who is in your trust web.

For one thing, each person can get individualized answers based on the people they trust and the ways in which they trust them.

But it's an insanely cool idea to basically be able to have a system that tole me “Alice is right 80% of the time” really does put a twist on things, doesn't. This would change the game of dating immensely, I'll tell you that right now. LOL