You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive: Why I am Considering Leaving After One Week

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

I almost left once, and posted a long comment about it, that was 3 years ago. I expected scorn and 'leave then' comments but was surprised when that didn't happen. Yes, it's very clique here.., and there's so many rules it will make you laugh out loud. The difference here is the $$$ you can make.

The community is very guarded over the reward pool. You look like you can write and are educated so it would be a shame for you to leave under a cloud. I will send you some links on the 'rules' which may help you. It's quite a bit of reading but that's just how it is here.

https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@slobberchops/demystifying-hive-expectations
https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@slobberchops/demystifying-hive-the-police-force
https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@slobberchops/demystifying-hive-what-are-witnesses
https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@slobberchops/demystifying-hive-utilise-your-voting-power
https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@slobberchops/demystifying-hive-the-fear-of-writing-on-hive
https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@slobberchops/demystifying-hive-it-s-all-about-the-money-the-money
https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@slobberchops/demystifying-hive-so-you-want-a-big-vote

These are all quite old but still relevant. I haven't continued this series in recent times. I will give you a follow and check to see how you are doing. It's a lot less toxic than it used to be, and there is a lot to learn.

Sort:  

@slobberchops Thank you. I really appreciate your taking the time to post those links. I have bookmarked them and will read them. I have read an insane number of articles about the Hive, and yet there is so much more to learn. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

Well that's good to hear. It's a lot better than it used to be, I had several posts that netted me a grand $0.00! That would not happen now, unless it was pure crap that was being shovelled out.

I learned a lot from what I read, and also, it is heartening to know that, even someone like you had an "I want to pack up my marbles and go home," moment years ago.

I think one thing that people who have been around for a while don't realize is that a lot of the concepts that seem obvious and everyday are not so obvious. I read things in the FAQ that made no sense to me despite repeated reading until I read what you wrote about them.

I mentioned to you that I think the community could benefit from a wiki. On the one hand, if the wiki has to be written off Hive to be collaborative, people who contributed would not make money, but I think there are a lot of people who might do it anyhow to improve the Hive environment.

That sort of central repository of information, edited by group members, as wikis tend to be, and updated often, would make life so much easier to navigate for newcomers. It is hard to find good, solid information like the links you provided. Many have offered to answer my questions, and I have plagued them with some questions, but the problems are:

  1. I don't want to burn anyone out with my technical questions.

  2. No one person actually has all the answers.

Why do I write such long comments? It is antisocial. Thanks again for your guidance. My main point is, for anyone keeping track (probably no one?), those demystifying Hive links are an excellent resource. Also, I am starting to understand how little I understand. I wish I had known sooner, but better late than never.

I should probably read those too :) Any chance of you turning it into a curated collection for easy reference, please :) ? So far I have been treated with nothing but kindness and generosity, but I really should do more studying.

!PIZZA

@slobberchops! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @wrestlingdesires.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (8/10)