Follow Friday: Closing out the year

in #hive5 months ago

The News

As we end the year $HIVE is more or less where it was in January, but has dropped on the charts. At least it got back into the top 300 this week.

$HIVE

I know everyone would like it to go up, unless they are planning to buy a lot more, but there seem to be some obstacles to that. There are not too many options for buying it. I used to use the Blocktrades exchange, but that shut down a while back. The regulations make it hard to operate that sort of business. I hear it is particularly bad in the US. Do we see any hope on that front?

I still think we can keep trying to recruit users. We need more content creators and not just those who will churn out low value 'diary' posts. I think having more creative people (musicians, artists etc) is important as they can post original works here. Then we need people to appreciate that work with votes. We need to get a buzz going around Hive as a place for creative people to earn, especially as they will struggle to earn on other platforms.

There are a couple of end of year endeavours running to get appreciation to the good Hivers. The Hive Highlight Challenge is about writing a post on what you have enjoyed. The closing date is tomorrow. The Hive Creators Awards lets you vote for Hivers in various categories. I think voting just closed, but then I have been out all day.

Friday Follows

This is a bonus #FollowFriday to end the year. These are people I have got to know here and I follow most of them. They will get a share of the post rewards.

  • @sokal has just returned to Hive after a few years away. He is really into music and sent me some guitar picks for my collection.
  • @deeanndmathews compiles lists of featured posts. That is something like what I do with these posts to get attention where it is deserved.
  • @blocktunes are working on making Hive a better place for musicians. As that is one of my main interests I see it as having great potential here.
  • @killerwot is a writer and musician who has really taken to Hive. He aims to do a post every day this year and is almost at that goal.
  • @sidekickmatt has put out loads of comics on Hive this year. That is the sort of great content we need.
  • @papilloncharity is a great photographer of wildlife and nature in South Africa. He has been posting consistently since the early days.
  • @silviabeneforti is an artist in Italy. She and her husband @paolobeneforti have been sharing their work here for years. I met them both at Steemfest in Lisbon.

The Dog House

I have featured various things and people in this section over the year. Hive is far from perfect, but we have to defend it from the abusers who just take. There are basic rules about not impersonating or stealing work that should be obvious to all. Those who deal with such things need to be fair in how they treat offenders.

I will just say that we all deserve to be in The Dog House if we do not try to promote Hive and help new users. Every person who gives up on it could potentially have added something. In a time when a lot of other social platforms are getting worse we have an opportunity to offer an alternative, but the engagement really does matter. Go for quality rather than quantity of comments. If you do not bother to read the post then it tends to show.

The End

Did you meet your goals this year? I was hoping to reach 100k HP and went well past that, partly due to buying some. I hope to earn even more next year and will keep doing my best to support the community.

Happy new year!

The man behind: @tenkminnows: Helping good Hivers level up

@proofofbrian: A bot that checks for tag typos

#BritList: A monthly list of Hivers in the UK

Sort:  

On closing out my year, I was a bit disappointed that I didn't meet my HBD Savings goal of 667 HBD. I was able to save 565. Oh, so close. My content creation was a majority of reason I almost accomplished this. Taking advantage of the Ecency free, instant conversion of HBD => Hive, I'll now be able to invest in other crypto project for the start of 2024.

Then, I'll return to HBD Savings goal again with the Saturday Savers Club (SSC), of which I've been a member for the past 3 years. This group of like-minded savers has encouraged me as we gather each Saturday over at @eddie-earner's post.

I'm happy to report that I was able to meet my HP savings goal twice in the SSC; first reaching 17K, then 21K in 2023. My new goal for 2024 is 25K.

I'm a content creator of fiction stories, spending time in the Freewriters and other writing communities. I also create various types of mixed media art projects in the Alien Art Hive Community. I love it when Hive members visit my works. It provides for a successful engagement where I get valuable feedback that helps me improve my writing and creative arts. I also love reading and supporting other Hive members writings, of which there are numerous talented authors.

I appreciate the opportunity to answer your question and look forward to 2024.

Take care and have a good rest of your weekend and happy and prosperous New Year.

!ALIVE
!LADY

It sounds like Hive is working well for you. Keep it up.

!PIZZA

Yes, it is working so far. Thanks for the encouragement. Take care.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@justclickindiva, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @steevc and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/17 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Very cool! Thanks for the rave 😊

You're welcome. Great to have you back.

I didn't reach any goals in the end but the exciting thing is, we have a new year, Happy New Year by the way! So maybe I can have a good old bash at doing some amazing stuff on here, such as returning to my curation of sounds and produce a fresh beat each day using my sampler which is ambitious, but not impossible.

I hope you and others are inspired to get creative this year. We need to grow our communities to make it more fun.

Happy new year!

!BEER

I second that and I will be creative, don't worry!! ;-)

!PIZZA


Hey @nicklewis, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

Thanks so much for the mention man! I've only got 2 more posts to go and I'll get the yearly badge. Then I'll do power-up day, on the 1st, and I'm going to take a breather so I can focus on a few other creative endeavors. Video production for a few ideas, more songs too, and I want to get back into model making/ animation again. My only problem is space, back home I have a small office, but here in my partner's house, I don't have anywhere I can set up to do that kind of stuff.

I'd like to read more than I write here, and I think that's what my 2024 will look like. I'll still post, but I want to reel it back to about 3 or so posts a week while continuing to check in daily with everyone on here.

Also, I'm delighted to see us get back into the top 300. I have a good feeling about Hive for this bull run and am so happy I've been able to build my HP up so much at the price it has been.

I actually thought of an idea recently that might get some more eyes on Hive. So, there are these YouTube guys who read Reddit stories and posts. What if we got a small group of writers who made up stories to post on Reddit, and in some way, we could incorporate Hive into those stories, on the off chance that one could go viral? The YT videos reach 100's thousands of views, and we have a lot of good writers here. Now that I'm not daily posting I want to spend the time I did writing on some of these ideas I've had.

We definitely need more readers here. You have to find the right balance for you. You seem to have plenty going on so keep us updated.

Happy new year.

Happy new years man!

100%, the balance is the important aspect to Hive, and social media in general I suppose.

I'll keep everyone updated and will share everything I'm getting up to.

Thank you for the mention!

The work you do here Steve is really of great value! You bring users together and shed some light on the key happenings. No shortcuts! Hope to see more in 2024!

Regarding my growth goals, I managed to add 2k HP where my goal was just 1K. For next year I plan to keep with the 2K again. Lets see where we end up this time around next year!

Happy nee year!

Cheers. I enjoy the community here and just want to see it grow.

In the top 300 again, whew! 😅

So, @steevc, we’re you into crypto before you came to this blockchain? Not I, so everything is new. As such, do you have a book title to share with me that could shed light?

Oh, I reached out to @slobberchops. Maybe he can introduce me to some locals. Cheers!

I dabbled in crypto before I came here, but I've never read any books about it, just various articles and posts. This stuff moves fast. I'm still learning.

Thank you for introducing me to these amazing creative Hiveians! Can't wait to start following them.

My pleasure. I just want people to connect.

!BEER


Hey @bitterirony, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

There are not too many options for buying it. I used to use the Blocktrades exchange, but that shut down a while back.

It's actually very easy to buy HIVE now..., easier than it's ever been. Peak/Wallet/'With CC'. Transak operate a great service and with a 1% fee you can have HIVE in 5 minutes. I used them often. No exchanges or crap anymore.

Ah! I need to try that

Selling HIVE for Sterling however..., is just as bad as ever.

I was just ging to ask that.
Getting fiat into HIVE is very easy and fast, today it was a matter of seconds.

It's the exchange route, not hard...but hard enough to put most off.

I'm going to have to practice. I did start on ionomy (?), but got distracted.

Today is very special and this year's closing is going to happen, we will see if Bit Pine which is closing above 43 thousand then next year will be good for us.

The price of hive is stable to me and am happy people are seeing the importance of hive and coming back. Next year is really going to be great for hive.

Nice analysis. Weldone boss

We might see hive hitting $0.4

Well, a lot of people may not want to buy just as you have said but we can recruit users
Recruiting users is easier than making them active

It does seem to have been a bit of a flat year for Hive in many respects. On the one hand it is quite complicated for content creators to get started here and understand how it is working and on the other hand, many larger stakeholders do not support communities that could make coming to Hive attractive for creatives.

Let's see what 2024 brings, but I wonder if we need to rename the chain HBD instead of Hive as that seems to be where many are focused. Have a good one!

The year will end positive

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
steevc tipped justclickindiva
@nicklewis(1/10) tipped @steevc

Congratulations @steevc! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - December 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the January edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

Congratulations @steevc! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Announcing the Winners of HiveBuzz's Yearly Author Badge for 2023!
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - December 2023 Winners List