Follow Friday - Hive sucks!

in #hive4 years ago

Did the title get your attention? I just want to make the point that you can criticise this platform without getting your accounts totally censored, which has happened to me on Steem. I would also say that some big accounts need to be less selfish. Forego the short-term profit to support more small content creators. Do not self-vote yourself a few dollars on each post. Saying this may gain me some downvotes, but that is okay. I earn a nice amount on most posts thanks to the support I have gained through being an active member of the community. I appreciate that people set me up for automatic votes, but I would like to see more rewards going to people I have featured in #FollowFriday. I do see projects like Curie supporting some of them, so that is good.

DappRadar

Looking at the charts over on @DappRadar you can see Steemit is just about managing to stay ahead of the Hive social sites, although @Splinterlands is number one. Overall Hive seems to have more people using it, but a few thousand is tiny compared to other social platforms. We need far more people engaging here. Not all of them need to be content creators, but Hive can reward fans too if they vote and comment. That is something the more conventional platforms cannot offer.

I put out a call on Twitter for suggestions of people to feature on #FollowFriday, but only got a couple of replies. I will include those people here.

  • @hiro-hive has not posted much, but he is promoting Hive on Twitter.
  • @SteveR82 is into @Splinterlands and @dCity. You may be able to pick up some tips from him.
  • @rmsadkri is interested in renewable energy and also footie (soccer). He is using an @engrave blog for the renewables posts. He only has 22 followers right now, but ought to have more.
  • I have previously mentioned Nigerian bass player @pugdebass, but he has confirmed the link to his YouTube account with me and his music is just so infectious (in a good way). Check out these grooves. He should really have more than 10 followers. I know the Hive Nigerian community is pretty active. There is a potential audience of millions there.
  • @lk666 is a prolific musician posting his music on Hive, including in the Guitar community.
  • A lot of you will know @nathanmars. He was away for a while, but is back and very active across Twitter in promoting Hive. He is organising some meet-ups in London and Zurich from next month. It may still be possible to physically meet people within the lockdown rules. Just take care.

I would encourage everyone to be more social on Hive. Even if your vote is not worth much you can leave comments which can encourage people to keep posting. I see too many posts with no comments at all. You may even earn something from doing that.

I do not have specific candidates for The Doghouse this week, but if you are heavily self-voting then you may want to watch out! People are checking for that.

I may have reached hundreds of #FollowFriday posts by now. I do not keep count, but I keep writing them as I think building community is key to the success of Hive. Not everyone can earn the big bucks, but everyone can earn something and being social is what drives people to spend so much time online. If we even had 1% of the engagement Facebook gets we would have something amazing. Maybe some people dread a massive influx of new users, but the platform will stagnate without 'fresh blood'. More users will bring new challenges such as spam and trolling, but we need to find ways to deal with those.

High five!

Sort:  

well said, we definitely need more users. I feel like I know almost everyone on the site (which is not something you'd want for a social media platform)

Loading...

I feel the same way especially the one on trending, some are very regular names!

Thanks Bossssssss for the Support and motivation. You are the best.

No problem. Just want to get your music to more people.

Wait, there a guitar community? How did I miss this one!

Hell yeah there is.

Good of you to pitch this in ,hopefully we could all abide by the rules and make hive a stronger and better community

Well there are not many actual rules. It's all about what the community will tolerate. Most spamming accounts get dealt with, but if there were thousands of them it will get harder.

I am enjoying Hive but Steemit had more interaction before the takeover. Hive can be very quiet at times.

The Steem/Hive split will have put some people off. Some have decided to stick with Steem. All the more reason to work on building up the Hive community. It's as active as we make it.

I agree, hopefully everyone will become connected again soon. :)

Thanks for the mention buddy. I feel sad to hear every day that people are getting censored on the platform we help to established and promoted in any means possible. Good for you because you are doing really well on #Hive. Cheers buddy!

You are doing some good promotion for Hive. Keep it up.

You too buddy, cheers 🍯❤

I think that the flood gates are opening a little with hiveonboarding but I'd love the RC pool so we could donate RCs to others directly to use and they can login and not have to worry about anything. I know peakd and Leo are looking at light accounts and open orchid was supposed to work on a solution too, I've been collecting account tokens myself and delegating to new users to get the to interact, its tough that's for sure, I just hope if we all chip in 1 by 1 we'll get this place rocking, we still a dirty little secret on the internet

I'll delegate people who are desperate. Many of us can afford to do that. What we cannot afford is for people to give up in the first week or two.

Oh 100% I’m fully onboard with that lol theirs no real altruism, I want you to stay that’s why I do these things and give them a chance to enjoy the platform also okay so maybe a sliver of nobility

Hopefully I can do more as more stake comes my way

I think it says a lot about you that you would rather have the people who are auto vote you vote for others. You’re a good advocate for the platform keep You’re a good advocate for the platform keep it up man.

I have done well from Hive and I want far more to benefit. I'll do what I can to help us grow.

That’s great to see. I’m trying my best to give while recouping my initial crypto investment.

Oi you Craig Reid lookalike, until you stand in the street and sing "I'm on my way" Hive will just muddle along! :-P


"If you don't have enough power or Crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!

I've sung that at the pub. There's a bit of a movement building now, so maybe it can grow. Other platforms have gone viral. I know Hive has issues, but they are not insurmountable.

Hive suffers the same problems Steemit did, no one is reading and everyone is autovoting the people who autovote them. STINC was at least delegating to a few initiatives like steemhunt or Busy where smaller accounts could get upvoted. I am not investing in Hive, its repeating all the same mistakes.

Absolutes are rarely true. Many people do read and not everyone autovotes. My votes have little to do with who votes for me. That is not even the most profitable path anyway. Hey, I voted for you :)

Steem could have succeeded, but Justin came in and messed it up. We definitely learnt from that experience. What will you invest in then?

@pugdebass is great, nice one for finding him!

i already follow most of them already. I am so happy that my country is representing in your follow friday

I'm mainly putting my effort into growing vimm.tv and bringing in the gaming stream side of things to hive.

That's not an area I have much to do with, but it could be big. Could it stream music performances too?

Yeah there are a couple of channel on vimm already that do music, more radio channels with some live DJ work.

Visiting the introduceyourself tag once in a while can really help to discover new users that are eager to start their Hive journey on a good footing.
I've been playing around with the idea of picking one or two and doing what I can to help them with advice and upvotes in the start at least.
Maybe this idea of adopting a red fish come do wonders for user retention.

I'll look there when I get time, but I have others letting me know about some good new accounts. My @tenkminnows account is voting up lots of redfish.

I agree with you. People need to step up the social game for sure. I wouldn't expect to see much engagement over on Steem, but here on Hive it should be different. I was on the fence a while ago about upvoting my own posts, but I decided not to for now. It has been so long since I have self voted that it would seem weird to start now.

You are doing the right things by commenting a lot. People appreciate that. Of course votes matter, but it has to be fun as well.

Thank you so much for the mention and your support. I look forward to engage and create original content on the platform. I will need more time to understand the complexities around blockchain technology.
Thanks again.😀

Looks like you gained a few followers. Hope the experience keeps improving. Stay active and stay social.

Switching the way HIVE is promoted -- and used, so that the people who are already using it, create more value on the platform, seems to be the way forward.

You touched on this with the comment about building fanbases here.

If I do something interesting as a creator, and then motivate 10 new people to join me here on HIVE so that they can engage with what I create here, and facilitate their engagement here -- then that is a small sphere that surrounds me and my work, in addition to providing a stronger substance / quality work for the currently existing HIVE community.

This sort of approach, of building businesses that include some element of exclusive value proposition that depends on HIVE is a different way of thinking about using the platform.

The difference is basically, using HIVE with the goal of gaining upvotes, to using HIVE with the goal of giving upvotes to facilitate engagement, and deriving your paycheck from ETH and USD.

HIVE works better as an investment tool anyways, and if the content is good and consistent, then it seems like post rewards will flow that way regardless.

.:.

This is a different sort of approach to the platform and is something I've been mulling over for some time. I will make an attempt to get this to work with my next project.

Building those small spheres could be key. I have been part of various online communities over many years and most paid me nothing. I go where the interesting people are who give me value with their posts. Luckily Hive has a fair few of those.

I have brought a lot of people to Hive over the years. Some of them have stuck with it. In some cases they have more active communities elsewhere that need their time. At least one was put off by some of the more radical views expressed on the platform, but the freedom we have here brings some risks too.

Thanks for your input.

Sure thing - I'll experiment and see how it goes.

I had these ideas a little while ago, I just needed to express them again so I could have them fresh in my mind.

I think building community is key to the success of Hive

Community Development and Technology Development what makes Decentralisation/Crypto succeed

I followed them all the people you mentioned on the post.

Let's keep on Building our HIVE Community

100% with you on @pugdebass - his music is awesome. Will go check some others out :)

Thanks Very much sir..I really appreciate boss

Thanks for sharing DappRadar's data! 🚀

My pleasure. It's very interesting to see the numbers changing each day.

Great one, you are a true ambassador of Hive. see it from a pure professional perspective these days. A community driven by community is great but reaches its limits. The prize downturn is not only related to BTC - it is much stronger and when I see there are platform such as #UHIVE (discovered yesterday)driven by a company (probably centralized) might be able to handle more in terms of marketing and PR.

Splinterlands is a game i love and where i put most of my powered down steem into but the game has major prize issues as well as some of the biggest players leave and dump prizes. At the moment I am very sceptic and a bit frustrated. Where are the new users only? How can we attract new people, what is the added value or reason they join Hive? Censor reason is probably not a driver, but we can only find out if we do broader questionnaire / polls across non Hive users for example.

Cheers. Hive is a rare cryptocurrency in that it has a real use case that is rewarding thousands of people every day. You do not have to buy any of it to be a part of this. Obviously having investors helps the price, but we also need content that will appeal to various audiences. I can find plenty here to enjoy and can reward it quite well as I have built up a lot of HP over the years.

We need the right combination of content, usability and community. Having big names would be cool, but they are busy elsewhere. We can start with niches like gaming or music and build from there.

I think with Splinterlands we need to get more players into the social aspect of Hive. Already a lot of them post their battles and earn from it. There should be a button on the site that takes you to a post creation page. Make it easy.

@hivepeople is building a team to work on marketing Hive. We don't have a company like Steemit to do that for us, so the community has to act.

thanks for the mention....credit really has to also go to @roomservice who got the ball rolling with making hiveonboard.com