Follow Friday: Let's Split!

in #hive14 days ago

The News

The big news of last week came just after my previous #FollowFriday post. @hivefest will be in Split, Croatia this year.

HiveFest

This is a place I have never visited and it is only a few hours by plane from the UK, so I am seriously looking at going. I have been to three previous big gatherings of this community (some by another name) and they really are great. You will meet amazing people and have the best conversations. The organisers always do a great job of making it all fun. Get there if you can.

In less welcome news the @pinmapple project is shutting down soon after seven years and 114k posts pinned to the world map. Running a project like this is a lot of work and many people do it for love rather than profit. They are making the code available and the data is all on the blockchain, so somebody else could take it up.

@brianoflondon keeps innovating and now enables creating Hive accounts with BTC Lightning. This is something I have no experience of, but it could be big and we need more ways for people to get on board.

I know some people want to make Hive into a repository for knowledge. I see @propolis.wiki
are working on this. They have a contest to design graphics for it.

Players of @risingstargame have had use of some cool utilities to make it easy to buy cards. One of those was from @foxon, but I hear that he is unwell and unable to work on it (sending best wishes). Meanwhile @mateodm03 has created a new store that helps you in buying the cards you need.

Friday Follows

  • I just found @harbiter who is a guitarist from Italy who just joined Hive. He is creating 'dark' music and I hope to hear some on Hive soon.
  • @hivesnest will be following the activities of a group of Hiveans in Mexico who are creating cool things.
  • Fellow drummer @nahupuku has been recruiting students to Hive in Venezuela. I am sure he will guide them well.

These people get a share of the post rewards.

Meetups

Last weekend I was in Bedford with a bunch of Hiveans. I helped @alessandrawhite to organise this and to show her how easy it can be. If you set a place and time then make it known there is a chance that people will turn up. What do you have to lose?

@bobbyb58 @alessandrawhite @anna-newkey and me

@mcsamm and @bobbyb58

We had a nice walk by the river as I told them about my home town. We ended up in the nice hotel for some drinks.

@mcsamm did a nice write-up with more photos.

I hope to do another meetup this year at a different location. Anyone can do this, so make it happen near you!

The Dog House

If you try to cheat on Hive you are likely to get found out. That can result in you losing any rewards and having your reputation destroyed. In this case not only are they duplicating a post, but the images are stolen from another Hiver.

Busted!

This appears to be part of a 'farm' that is trying to get rewards using multiple accounts. Here is another of them. The coffee post is also stolen and has been replicated across lots of accounts.

Also busted

We have to deal with this sort of abuse if we want Hive to succeed. Even if you do not feel you can downvote others you can report it to groups such as Hivewatchers.

The End

I did not even get to the $HIVE price, but then that is not so exciting right now. We can just keep on being active and earning. When the price improves then we benefit. Keep promoting Hive to those who might enjoy it. They may find other platforms frustrating and Hive offers an alternative.

Stay well and stay strong. Hive five!

The man behind: @tenkminnows: Helping good Hivers level up

@proofofbrian: A bot that checks for tag typos

#BritList: A monthly list of Hivers in the UK

Sort:  

Hey this post was so insightful and helpful!

I really hope that you make it to the next hive fest!

!HUG

Dear @steevc, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @katerinaramm.
(1/3)

Thanks for the mention Steve 😃 I'm pretty near to Croatia, maybe I'll see you there. I could take the opportunity for a little holiday trip. There are some beautiful rocky beaches there, go check out Premantura on the map 😉

I hope that you will make it to the Hive Fest, and I am also thinking about a meet up for Saffers.
!BEER

You need one down there if it's possible. I was helping @mimismartypants to put together a list of those in ZA. There may be more than you think.

Yep! I have a venue but will ask you for some advice closer to the time, if you don't mind.
@zakludick publishes a list of ZA members every week, and although some Saffers are not on the list, it is pretty comprehensive.

@zakludick publishes a list of ZA members every week

Which posts are those? It may be worth some people cooperating on that. My script checks on who is actually active.

I saw those posts, but they are not obviously about South Africa apart from the flag logo at the end. I would at least expect a country-related tag. I could mention them in my #BritList posts as I want to see stats about other countries.

Cool and I will mention it to him. He should maybe stick the ZA flag in there and a ZA tag.
!BEER


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

Croatia is a country I've always wanted to visit, and I've wanted to go to a HiveFest for a while now, Mexico was too far for me last year, but tickets from Ireland to Croatia won't be too much money.

The stars aligned for this year, and it's going to be sick!

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@killerwot just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @steevc.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Let's hope it all works out. I'm hoping we can get a lot more people together this time.

!BEER


Hey @killerwot, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

It is an amazing part of my Hive adventure to get to spend part of it visiting kind & true friends like you, @steevc.

If you remember, when you were posting from Amsterdam’s HiveFe.st 7, I was reading every one of your updates.

You motivated my going and speaking at both Rosarito’s HiveFe.st 8 and Hamburg’s @buzzparty.

Now, I’m nudging you to meet us in Split for HF-9. If there is a contest for meetups, maybe you and I can co-host another shin-dig!

Much love!
A 🥰

I'm not taking the blame for your addictions! ;) I will try to get to Split. The air fares are not too bad, but I will see what hotels they sort out.

I've always wanted to go to Croatia, luckily EJ flies from my local airport so looks like I should be on my way. Hope to see you there!

I found harbiter through your reblog, looks cool!

Down with the farmers!!

I'm thinking of joining this year's Hivefest. Thanks for the heads up, @steevc. I was impressed when I saw how easy it was to create a Hive account with @brianoflondon's lightning. It felt good to get that positive feedback. Big ups to him for real.

I've been to Croatia, it's a wonderful place

That's cool that you were able to make a meet up. I hope to make it to one of those some day. I already have a big trip planned for this year, so I probably won't make it to Croatia. It looks like a beautiful country though.

Let’s not split anymore perhaps, although it’s way less promotional regarding the Hive Fest :)

Thanks for sharing the Propolis contest :)

I want to Split, but not split :)

See you there then ;)

Thanks for the great roundup. It is cool to see a couple of Hivers I recognise from Hamburg in Bedford. 💪😎

Some people just get around a lot. I would have liked to have been in Hamburg too.

Greetings @steevc ,

What a lovely roundup of news about and around Hive and UK....thank you!

Cheers!

I'm happy if anyone enjoys it.

Hi @steevc,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Wow they picked such an awesome spot.... I can barely fly so I'm just eagerly waiting for the live streams 🥰🥰

The spot they have picked is really nice and I hope you’re able to make it to the Hive fest

We in this part of the world seem so disconnected. 😀 We can't even be a part of the Hivefest. Why can't there be one hosted in Nigeria?

Why not organise something? Hivefest is set up by regular Hivers like you. You can start small with a meeting at a cafe. Even if it's just 2 or 3 people it's fun.

That is great. I'll contact others and see what we can make out of it

There are hundreds of active Hivers in Nigeria, so something should be possible.


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.