You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @hiveaustralia July 10 Virtual Meet-up Minutes

in #hiveaustralia3 years ago

Hey Bugg :)

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

I'm sure @ausbitbank will get on to commenting when he's able. He was actually at the first meeting but he rocked up late so you may have missed him. I know ausbit and can vouch for him and his character but I agree, it would be good to hear from him directly, especially for those who don't know him or havent had contact with him.

I was actually hoping someone would set a definition for what I've been doing because I'm not sure what my role is myself (or if I even really want it tbh). I'm here because there was a need to do what I'm doing and no one was stepping up to do it. So here I am. 🤷🏻‍♀️ Most days I feel like an organiser/caretaker.

Community burn out is a very real thing. I've been there, done that, dont want to go there again because it takes the joy out of being in that community because it feels like work. That's why I leave it entirely up to whoever's volunteering to dictate what they want to do and when, with tons of gratitude for stepping up and helping out.

Sort:  

I think you've got the right approach to manage burnout and look to be setting things up so that HA has the best chance to be long term sustainable and prosperous.

The role or title is a tricky one, even a bit of a wanky topic to dwell on, but it'll be important for the community to have some idea of your mandate. I was never comfortable with "El Presidente" because it implied strong executive (even dictatorial) power which I fundamentally don't agree with. In a crypto-based community promoting decentralisation I found it to be totally innappropriate, but maybe that's just me :)

Chief Organiser sounds good to me. It's about facilitation, co-ordination and caretaking among members. If @ausbitbank is the only one holding the owner key then the Custodian role would be for him. I would suggest that the Chief Organiser role should hold the active key as insurance against the "Custodian gets hit by a bus" scenario (or equivalent) which would in all likelihood "brick" the account if others are only ever given the posting key.

Lol yeh it's a bit of a wanky topic. That word mandate is a little wanky too tbh lol. I actually thought that El Presidente thing was a joke and never took it seriously ~ more like ~ "tell him he's dreamin." 🤣

Organiser sounds accurate :) As for the keys, I would rather not have it. I'm keeper of the keys for a few accounts already and I'm not keen to take responsibility for another set. @quochuy is pretty solid and is on all the time, and it's going to be much safer with him (and ausbit) than me.

A little precision, I only hold the Posting Key.

@buggedout, another way to handle "Custodian gets hit by a bus" is to use a method I used for TeamVN (when it still was a thing) is to use the Secret Sharing method. In a nutshell, using a crypto method, we can generate X number of shares and assign each share to one member of the team. When generating the shares we can set a threshold Y. If the custodian gets hit by a bus, then we just need Y members to provide their shares and the app will be able to compute the original Owner Key.

Very interesting. I always figured that multi-sig account functionality was the way this problem would ultimately be solved, but this could be a good option in the interim.

This method could also be used in some real life stuffs too.