You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HiveFest 2021 Funding Proposal

in #hivefund2 years ago

Thanks a lot for the best wishes, please do attend!

Yes the world is a very unequal place... Take a peak at RemoteOk.com to see some mind blowing salaries for people working from home in their pyjamas :)

Also note that the 95 EUR is my going rate for software development which sees mr. Taxman deduct north of 35%. Additionally in the end this is salary is not actually paid for by this proposal, so I won't receive that, as I indicated in the paragraph below that :)

Still I found it an interesting remark and looked up minimum wage here in NL, which is EUR 1.701,00, so that's actually 3.6x the minimum wage in Hungary. So I looked up some full time software developer salary (which is a steady income, mind you, instead of variable freelance work):

(11,769,999 HUF / 12 months / 4 weeks / 40 hr/wk) huf to eur = 17 EUR hourly wage. Multiplied by 3.6 = 61.41 EUR to equalise with my dutch going rate. But that is paid for 40 hrs * 4 weeks * 12 months continuously, whereas I as a freelancer won't get fulltime hours paid. (Maybe thats bad on my behalf :P)

TLDR: world is inequal.
TLDR 2: Here you see GDP / capita compared between our countries which imho somehow reflects this difference (has a 3.3x difference, whereas the minimum wage has a 3.6x difference): https://countryeconomy.com/countries/compare/hungary/netherlands

Interesting stuff! Or boring, also :P