You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HiveFest 2021 Funding Proposal

in #hivefund2 years ago

Event production (2 people - total 3 weeks time @ 95 EUR/hr)

This is the highest salary I ever heard so far. My pension-like income (for my multiple disabilities) is approximately €222 EUR per month. They earn that with a little bit more than 2 hours of work. I know. I live under the local minimum wage. I get less than the local minimum wage, even if I combine my pension-like income with the salary of my four hours per day part time job. Nowadays my total income is approximately only €403 EUR per month, while the local minimum wage is approximately €474 EUR.

But either way, I wish good luck and all the best both to the team and also to the participants of the HiveFest.

Greetings from Hungary.

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for the best wishes, please do attend!

Yes the world is a very unequal place... Take a peak at RemoteOk.com to see some mind blowing salaries for people working from home in their pyjamas :)

Also note that the 95 EUR is my going rate for software development which sees mr. Taxman deduct north of 35%. Additionally in the end this is salary is not actually paid for by this proposal, so I won't receive that, as I indicated in the paragraph below that :)

Still I found it an interesting remark and looked up minimum wage here in NL, which is EUR 1.701,00, so that's actually 3.6x the minimum wage in Hungary. So I looked up some full time software developer salary (which is a steady income, mind you, instead of variable freelance work):

(11,769,999 HUF / 12 months / 4 weeks / 40 hr/wk) huf to eur = 17 EUR hourly wage. Multiplied by 3.6 = 61.41 EUR to equalise with my dutch going rate. But that is paid for 40 hrs * 4 weeks * 12 months continuously, whereas I as a freelancer won't get fulltime hours paid. (Maybe thats bad on my behalf :P)

TLDR: world is inequal.
TLDR 2: Here you see GDP / capita compared between our countries which imho somehow reflects this difference (has a 3.3x difference, whereas the minimum wage has a 3.6x difference): https://countryeconomy.com/countries/compare/hungary/netherlands

Interesting stuff! Or boring, also :P

Another angle to view associated costs of the event may be to compute the cost per ticket. At the low ball estimate of 500 attendees, the costs per ticket would be approximately €67.37. At 1000 attendees that cost would drop, drastically, to €33.68.

P.S. Registered on altvr and took my avatar as far as the campfire. Will be working on the VR setup next.