Rising Star - my first adventure in Hive gaming

in #hivegaming4 years ago (edited)

Sorry its been a while, I've been a bit busy over the last week. When I created my Hive account exactly a week ago today, I was under the impression that (crypto stuff aside) it was just a more flexible social media type deal. Oh how wrong was I. There are so many rabbit holes I wasn't sure which one to investigate first. Then I heard people talking about Hive games, which is right up my alley!

I really like the sound of dCity but it requires some initial investment. As I'm only just starting out on Hive I've left that one on the backburner for a while. Besides, for my first foray I wanted something a bit easier to get into. When I read a post about Rising Star by @steevc it seemed to be just what I was looking for.

risingstar1.jpg

I wasn't wrong. It's a nice little idle style game that revolves around music - you start with a simple busker and work your way up to, eventually, a fully fledged band. It even has its own radio stream so you can have some background music while you play which is a nice touch. I'm far from an expert as I've only just started to play, but I'll give a quick rundown of the basics.

Gameplay wise it's very easy to get into and is definitely casual gamer friendly. You do missions (illustrated below) that take a certain amount of time to complete depending which mission you choose to do. Each mission will also deplete your energy bar by a certain percentage. The missions earn you STARBITS that you can buy card packs with (or convert to another currency etc). The cards do various things, like give you extra skill, luck and fans. There's no initial currency investment needed at all so it was perfect for me.

risingstar2.jpg

Admittedly progress is fairly slow at the start if you don't buy anything, but that's to be expected with this type of game anyway. I think I've been playing for 5 days and I've managed to hit level 13 and accumulate a little over 5000 STARBITS. The nice thing is that when you hit certain milestones you're rewarded with a free card pack.

risingstar3.jpg

The above shows each milestone, those with a present icon will reward you with a free card pack and all the others give you bonus STARBITS, the amount depends on which level you've hit.

Each card pack will give you 3 random cards which you can either keep or sell for currency.

Thus far I've mostly been doing the "Illegal Busking" missions as they're short. For each mission you do there's a chance of picking up a bonus such as a pizza slice which restores your energy bar to 100% or coffee which increases your energy regeneration rate. So the more missions you can do, the more chance you have of picking those bonus items up.

At the beginning stages, one of the main goals is to buy a pizza box in which you can store one of those pizza slices for later use. I've almost saved enough for that - it will allow me to hold a slice back to use when it's needed rather than it being consumed immediately when you find one during a mission. Several times that's happened when my energy is almost full anyway, the ability to save it for later will allow for longer playtime.

So yeah, not all that much to it at the start really, but it's a fun little game that you can play in the background and I expect will get a bit more complex as you go along. I really like it so far and looking forward to getting a bit deeper into the game.

Quick edit

I forgot to include a link to the actual game, d'oh! Here it is... https://www.risingstargame.com (or use my referral link which will help me earn a little more in STARBITS.

Sort:  

Glad you're enjoying it. If you use your referral link from the game you could earn some extra Starbits when someone uses it.

Damnit, I knew I'd forgotten something, haha. Ah well, next time I post I'll include it, no big deal.

You can still edit the post :)

Good point well made. I don't know what was up with my brain yesterday. 😄

BTW A couple of tips:

  • Power up any Hive you get. You can select for posts to pay out in 100% HP.
  • It's not really worth you voting on comments as small rewards get 'burnt'. Just vote on 10 posts you like each day.

Thanks, appreciate all the tips I can get. I know you mentioned not to bother with voting on comments before and I didn't for a while but felt mean not returning the favour to people lol. If it really is pointless though I'll stop.

I was trying to keep a bit of Hive back for investing in gaming, but if it's better to just power up I'll do that for a while. If I'm understanding it correctly, the more HP I have the more voting power I get?

More HP increases you vote, but why not spend some of what you earn on games. Just hoarding funds for its own sake is not so interesting

I'm playing it all the time as it's less demanding than Splinterlands (the premium HIVE game). Creating a Band at Lvl75 is tedious, and time-consuming. You will see what I mean when you get there.

Splinterlands seems like a Hearthstone kind of game? Card battles etc. Not really my thing, but I love strategy and simulation games which is why dCity caught my eye. But like Splinterlands I think it will be more time consuming. Which isn't a problem for me, just that I don't have the required funds to invest right now. Maybe in a few weeks though.

This post gives you one entry into next week’s prize draw to win a 3 card Rising Star booster pack.
Post once a day and add the link to the #hive channel in our Discord to get more entries.

The prize draw takes place during our weekly live stream on Sundays.

!BEER

P.S. You can include your referral link from the home page to get one STARBITS for every mission your referred players complete.

Thank you!

And yes, as I replied above, I totally forgot to include my referral link. But that's ok, I'm sure it won't be the last post I make about the game.

Congratulations @jacpl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!


Hey @jacpl, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.