Chicken Saltimbocca - March 19, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Big Garden Plan crop 2024.jpg

Big garden 2024:
https://gardenplanner.motherearthnews.com/garden-plans/1673585
This link will take you to the planner and this plan.

On Tuesday I spent the whole day finishing the plant notes. When I was cleaning up the mess, I discovered more notes attached to last year’s Big garden map.

So I had to go into the site and put the corrections on the 2023 plan so they would carry forward into the 2024 plan. Then I entered all the 2024 things. That plan is done. Now I just have to check the 2023 plans for the Small garden and the New Herb garden and then create 2024 editions.

A quick trip to the sleep doc’s revealed that because I’ve been a faithful user of my CPAP machine for 5 years come July, I will be eligible for a second one to keep by my chair. I get up in the night due to leg pain and spend time in the chair until it subsides then go back to bed. Now I will have a machine (after July) for the periods in the chair.

Chicken Saltiimbocca1 crop March 2024.jpg

My brother and I started supper around 5PM and we were making @sunscape’s Chicken Saltimbocca recipe. We had 1 enormous chicken breast, so he sliced it into thinner pieces. While he was doing that I went out to the New Herb garden and found sage leaves. We didn’t have many large ones in good shape so I got a lot of little ones. We had plenty of prosciutto and soon they were almost ready for the pan.

Chicken Saltiimbocca3 crop March 2024.jpg

We used a lot of garlic and rosemary because we had so much more chicken than the recipe called for.

Chicken Saltiimbocca2 crop March 2024.jpg

I set the last quart of chicken bone stock to thawing. We wouldn’t be using wine so I thawed extra to compensate. I should have added more for more sauce.

Chicken Saltiimbocca4 crop March 2024.jpg

Then I dusted the pieces with millet flour.

Chicken Saltiimbocca5 crop March 2024.jpg

After sautéing the garlic and rosemary in plenty of olive oil and my homemade butter, we added the chicken pieces.

Chicken Saltiimbocca6 crop March 2024.jpg

Once they had cooked on both sides, we took them out and added the stock and reduced it.

Chicken Saltiimbocca7 crop March 2024.jpg

Then they went back in for a minute or so and were ready to eat.

Chicken Saltiimbocca8 crop March 2024.jpg

It smelled so good in the kitchen!

Chicken Saltiimbocca9 crop March 2024.jpg

We had decided on tricolor quinoa for the bed and my brother had cut up a butternut squash from the root cellar.

Butternut squash crop March 2024.jpg

Boy was this a good meal! And we had enough for leftovers too!

Chicken Saltimbocca recipe.jpg

So outside of millet flour and no wine we pretty much followed the recipe.

On Wednesday I have exercise class, and then my general helper will be here at noon. We have an errand to run then we will start the chicken bone stock in the big roasters. I have enough bones for 1.5 recipes and I’m hoping it will all fit in one roaster (18 quarts).

Once that’s going, house plants need watered, the butternut squash in the cellar needs cleaned out as some have gone by, and we have a few other things to do. Oh! We have to start the corned beef and cabbage, better late than never!

So I probably won’t get to garden plans on Wednesday.

Sort:  

I am so happy you made the Saltimbocca and enjoyed it. I am going to study your garden plan and see how it can help me decide this year's design for mine. I don't know why, but I am stressing out where to plant all the seeds I have started. I was up at 4:30 this morning worrying over it all. ugh!

I love this planner and have used it for many years. It's worth the $$ by far, as it has a memory and I do not! So it's a huge help to keep me from planting the same family in the same place each year.

You and your brother are very good cooks. The dish looks nice and I love how you showed us the step to step process. Keep it up!

The saltimbocca looked so easy to prepare and I also know it's going to taste heavenly. Can one use Bay leaves instead of sage?

I don't think so, very different flavors.

I followed the recipe all the way and I think this will make a very tasty meal. I could give it a try.
Thank you for sharing.

I am really so happy you eventually make the Saltimbocca and not only that but the fact that it actually came out so nice is great to see

The meal really looks great, your steps were super easy and I know the taste would be yummy as well. Well-done.

It must have really been a great time making the chicken and it turns out quite well

Yes, my brother and I work together quite well cooking meals. Almost all of them turn out really yummy!