Lots of Cooking Going On - March 20, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Kale seedlings crop March 2024.jpg

Kale seedlings on the back porch

On Wednesday morning I was up around 4AM. I had to clean the kitchen up, check seedlings, do chores and breakfast, and start prepping for the cooking. Then I headed out to exercise class.

When I got back I continued prepping for cooking and for running a few errands. My general helper was coming at noon. One errand took forever and we never got back until nearly 1:30PM.

Stevia seedlings crop March 2024.jpg

Stevia seedlings in the south facing roundtop window

Chicken Stock2 crop March 2024.jpg

I set her to cleaning and chopping vegs for both the chicken bone stock and the corned beef and cabbage dinner. I’d put the frozen chicken bones into the roaster before we left.

Chicken Stock1 crop March 2024.jpg

I had gotten the garlic done before we left also. There was just celery, 2 lots of carrots, and onions to do.

Corned Beef1 crop March 2024.jpg

I’d also gotten the corned beef simmering with a huge teaball of spices and herbs before we left.

Chicken Stock3 crop March 2024.jpg

Making chicken stock makes a lot of moisture, so I moved the arnica tray (which none had come up in) onto the kitchen table and set up the 18 quart roaster (from the great tag sale find last summer) on the counter on the porch.

Chicken Stock4 crop March 2024.jpg

We got all the prep done and everything cooking by about 3PM.

Corned Beef2 crop March 2024.jpg

We use batata in place of potatoes and the carrots were all ready for the corned beef. I’d do the cabbage when it was time to put it in.

I was done in by 3PM and sat down, but my helper set about washing plant trays. We will need 12 of them, and covers, for April 1, 10 days away. She got 8 of them done by the time she had to leave at 4PM.

Corned Beef3 crop March 2024.jpg

My brother was home early and hungry so we put the vegetables in around 5PM and sat down to eat at 5:45PM. I forgot to get more photos, but this was his plate, before it was completely empty.

For a store bought corned beef, it was pretty good. We are lavish with the apple cider vinegar all over everything, me more than him. (I use a bowl for mine.) We have enough leftover for a lunch for one of us.

I had to keep topping off the roaster as it simmered away. I turned it down a little when I went to bed, as I didn’t want it to cook down if I happened to sleep all night.

It will simmer, being topped off in the morning for the last time, until about 2PM on Thursday. Then I will turn it off, remove all the seedlings to the house, close the door and open the windows. It’s cold here right now and it should be good and cold by Friday morning.

On Thursday I plan to do the Small garden plan for 2023 and 2024 and the same for the New Herb garden plans. I heard about an event by the historical society for Thursday evening and managed to find a ride to that. So my brother and I will eat early, organic asparagus and leftover Chicken Saltimbocca.

Sort:  

I've never seen this kind of food
My first time seeing it

I'd love to taste it😊

I love the way that carrot is looking very fresh. You must be a very good cook. Keep it up!

Does it mean that your chicken stock takes days to be ready? Maybe you could share the recipe with us someday, but I do know that the chicken stock would come out great.

Oh, dear! I forgot to put the recipe up! I’ll try to remember on Friday. Yes, it cooks for a minimum of 12 hours, up to 24 hours. This time I did 24 hours.

Homemade stock is the best! I can practically smell it simmering away.

My brother said he opened his bedroom door in the night so he could smell it as he slept!

Different cultures, different ways of cooking the same food. I love the way you add so many spices and ingredients during preparing of meals.

From the way your brother cleaned his plate of food, no one needs to tell me that the meal was a delicious one.

That sounds great! With vegetables from the garden, I imagine? 😋

No, actually this time around, I had none left. But I used local organic from the store.

All right! The organic store next door to my parents' received a lot of manure in its parking lot from farmers in revolt.

As it turned out, the company didn't respect farmers at all. Since then, I think they've found some common ground.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

This place actually having a favourable growing condition will help the seed to grows