Chainsaw milling a Tree

in #homesteading3 months ago

Screenshot from 2024-01-19 19-22-33.jpg

It was time again to start ´building´ the new house. It still winter but i could clean up the area more. Some trees were in the way and making firewood out of it would be a shame that's almost worthless in my area. Lumber makes more sense especially big beams.

Chainsaw milling is fun and it makes sense if the area is hard to reach or the sawmill is too far for 2 logs.
Milling planks out of pine rarely makes sense though you lose allot in sawdust and pine planks are very cheap :).

Sort:  

Hi. I've seen the bench you made a few months back and now this. The works seems fun and I'd do it to. But I am afraid of any chainsaw since my uncle lost one finger. i guess I also don't consider myself man enough because I always like to watch this diy things that need a tool like this and never dare to just practice and start using one. i love working with wood, but in gentle ways...dang! :) Good job!

Start with safer stuff :)

chainsaw, anglegrinder and tablesaw are probably the worst after old tractors in hilly areas :D

Hi. I had a look at the anglegrinder...still scarry :) The tablesaw seems more stable and I might trust myself to use it. Haha! I remember when we got a set of new tractors for Europe from New Holland Group. They seemed like gold, luxury ones, compared to what they have been using for Agriculture so far.

Awesome work and thank you very much for sharing!

It's so beautiful seeing woodwork done in the snow :)

👊😎 cool! I like your simple, but very functional adapter..

I was expecting one of these type things..

image.png

but yea, it went so smoothly, i was surprised. and 'almost perfect' works for me!

yeah that woorks but its for planks and that takes forever & destroys your back.

I bet. 😎🤙

You continue to amaze all of us here on Hive..great work dear @gogreenbuddy...cheers

thanks!

I did not know about the lighter color bark indicating softer wood but it makes sense! This is one of my favorite techniques for chainsaw milling. It is nice because it does not cause the bar to get overheated.

I tried free handing but it more easily goes wrong. ´Advoko makes´on youtube made also a good video about it.

Yeah, it takes a very steady hand and having a level on the saw helps.

Congratulations @gogreenbuddy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 12000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 13000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024

Congratulations @gogreenbuddy! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 6 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List

Great idea realised there with your DIY chainsaw mill. I have a bunch of old Jarrah ex-railway sleepers at my place that I'd love to clean up one day. Dry hardwood though, will be much slower and harder on the saw, but with what you've done here I feel like I have a good direction to move in when the time is right. Thanks for sharing!

That's really cool seeing how you take raw timber and turn it into wood for structures.

I feel ya working outside in cold temps. If you stay active it's quite nice. I like it too because there's no ticks out yet.. lol

I got a Stihl too.. love that chainsaw.