And It Rained and Rained… - March 23, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Snow again1 crop March 2024.jpg

This was the sight that greeted me when I pulled up the shades Saturday morning. I’d been warned it might snow…

Snow again2 crop March 2024.jpg

It was only an inch or so and had started to rain. I got the steps around the house swept off and the chores done.

My main job was cleaning up that goddawful mess in the kitchen. Then I hoped to put paper away in the office. But I never got that far. It was cold in the house even though I had both stoves going. And I was still very tired from Friday.

Asparagus Ham Cheddar Soup recipe.jpg

I had one pound of asparagus left and my brother and I thought a soup for a cold rainy night. I had a recipe similar to this for cauliflower soup so we adapted it. I had put celery salt in, forgetting the ham was salty, so it was a little too salty. It didn’t thicken as much as we hoped, the cheese stuck to the vegs and meat. But it was mighty tasty on a cold raw night!

Asparagus Ham Chedder Soup crop March 2024.jpg

Ditch floods2 crop March 2024.jpg

After supper I went out to do chores and when getting the mail, I discovered the culvert as full as I’d never seen it before. The water was running down the road from the north along the end of the driveway then curling around to go through the culvert. It was joined by the streams racing down the driveway.

Ditch floods1 crop March 2024.jpg

Then there was all the water coming from the south from way down the road, to empty into the culvert.

Ditch floods3 crop March 2024.jpg

The end of the culvert was under water in the ditch. And at the end of the ditch emptying into the swamp it was really high.

Erosion crop March 2024.jpg

In the front pasture, the electrical repair area that hadn’t yet been seeded was eroding badly in the torrential downpours. I’m going to have to get the contractor in to repair it, seed it, and then chop straw to cover the seed, in late April.

Back 40 flood crop March 2024.jpg

When I went up to the barn, there were huge puddles in the back 40.

But they said it would turn to snow and then stop about 9PM. I was worried about the drains around the house, during the night.

So I will have to check them in the morning. I hope to get the paper filing done in the office on Sunday. It’s to be a sunny but very cold day.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing the procedure on how to make this asparagus ham cheddar recipe, it is really suitable for the cold weather...

The Ham Cheddar recipe is really making sense and will be very tasty
Nice one!

It must have really been a cold weather out there

I love the sight of snow, I find it very exciting even if it melts and causes all that food. I hope to be able to experience it someday 😊

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Blockchain

In the first photos, I see a world covered in a blanket of snow and I loved it. It might be cold and rainy but the ambiance is wonderful.
The soup? 😋

It actually really looks raining heavily. Places like there where you lived, it actually looks like when it rained it rain with snow