Another New Garden - March 27, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

New East - before crop March 2021.jpg

I wasn’t feeling too badly on Saturday morning and it warmed up quickly so I decided to tackle the New East garden. After a quick trip to the dump, and a stop to pat the “cutest puppy in the world” as my husband used to call her, I set to work.

I had to move all the extension ladders, staging planks, and boards for chimney facing first. Then I raked up the leaves and the small area down to the Small garden.

I measured out 4’ and put up stakes and string to keep the edge straight. It was 24’ long. Then I took my straight shovel and cut the sod into blocks. That makes it easier to keep track of what you’ve done and to lift out the blocks of weeds and roots.

New East - by noon crop March 2021.jpg

I started at the hardest end, the one with the most grass. By noontime I’d made it this far.

New East - by 4PM crop March 2021.jpg

It had been hot in the morning, with the sun. But by the time I finished at 4PM it was getting cold back there. It’s all dug and now the rain can come on Sunday. I hate weeding or making new beds when the soil is wet. It’s much harder and I lose more soil.

East Shed - chiondoxa crop March 2021.jpg

I walked by these on the East end of the shed to put tools away. They had barely been buds 2 days ago. They are chiondoxas.

West Shed - tiny daffs crop March 2021.jpg

The first daffodil had opened on the West end of the shed. These are tiny Tweety Bird daffodils I got at the last Smith College Bulb Sale they held.

West Shed - tiny daff crop March 2021.jpg

They’ve done well in this garden that has been abandoned for 2 years.

East of Porch - crocuses crop March 2021.jpg

By the front porch, the white lily of the valley mats we transplanted on Wednesday have sent up 3 more crocuses. There’s also the puschkinia bud popping up (out of sight on the left).

Sunset1 crop March 2021.jpg

It was a lovely day and I was glad I was able to be outside all day. I hated being crashed and burned on Thursday, another gorgeous day.

Sunset3A crop March 2021.jpg

They say red sky at night, sailors’ delight, but we have a forecast of rain and cold and raw for Sunday.

I’ve no plans for Sunday. There’s a multitude of “should do’s” but maybe I’ll actually get the sewing room put together….

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

I thought I'd see a picture of the cutest puppy in the world 🤔
Seems like really hard work. Glad you could still appreciate the golden hour horizon. Photos look super with those barren trees.

He took this photo in December 2019. Ruby is a LOT bigger now...

Ruby crop December 2019.jpg

Yeah, so far no tree buds have appeared...

Now that is cute!

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
A successful meetup and its commemorative badge

Always a sign that spring is just around the corner, daffodils.