Beef Bone Stock - March 25, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Beef stock - roasting bones crop March 2024.jpg

Monday was a very busy day. I was up at 5AM and got the bones roasting. I’d found the bones roasted better without the oil and I roasted them for much longer which removed more of the fat.

Beef stock - roasted bones crop March 2024.jpg

They roasted for a couple hours.

Beef stock - tallow from bones crop March 2024.jpg

This how much tallow came off.

Beef stock - seasonings crop March 2024.jpg

I had collected all the ingredients I had before I left for exercise class. I knew I’d be tired when I got back and didn’t want to mess up.

Beef stock - some of vegs crop March 2024.jpg

I didn’t have enough onions and no leeks, so when my helper came at noon we’d do errands and get some.

Beef Bone Stock recipe.jpg

Beef stock - ready to start crop March 2024.jpg

When I got back from exercise class and had rested a while, I got the vegs cut up and everything into the roaster and got it started before my helper arrived.

Beef stock - cooking crop March 2024.jpg

When we got back, she prepped the vegs and we tried to fit them in. But as the pot reheated, it flooded. We sopped up some of the mess with a towel but didn’t clean up because we weren’t sure it wouldn’t do it again.

Ants2 crop March 2024.jpg

I kept the pot topped off all afternoon. When I went to check it before I went to bed, I found a great line of these critters on the window sill.

Ants1 crop March 2024.jpg

They had found the cord and used it to get to the cabinet.

Beef stock - boric acid circle crop March 2024.jpg

So I went and got the boric acid and made a circle around the roaster. They disappeared pretty quick after that.

The stock will cook for 24 hours and then I will let it cool on the porch overnight.

Sort:  

I love it that you remove most oil from the bone as it's not a healthy type of oil. In my region, we roast it by placing it over fire but the good part of your method is that one can keep the oil for future use.

Actually, this tallow is healthy as it comes from grassfed/finished beef. My stomach just can't digest it.

The preparation of the beef bone stock is very interesting, removing the tallow by roasting is very healthy, at least to reduce the fat content.

I have a hard time with heavy fats, don't digest well. So that's why I did it this way.

The preparation didn't really look actually complicated as I thought it is. This is cool to see

I'm learning how to prepare this beef bone stock from you and I think your method is intensive. The outcome would be wonderful.

It's actually pretty easy, with the roaster. It just takes a long time. But the product is worth it!

I think you’re one of the best cooks here
It looks yummy!

Oh, no! @sunscape has me beat by miles! I cook a lot but I am not a good cook, unless I cook with my brother. He keeps things from turning out icky. :))

I like this way of preparing beef bone stock, having to remove all the excess fat before using it in the stock.