Cooking Day - April 7, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Storm damaged daffs crop April 2024.jpg

I picked all the storm damaged daffodils and jonquils on Saturday. The tall yellow one is heavily scented.

Avocado Cheese flatbread crop April 2024.jpg

I decided to try to make some avocado flatbread for breakfast. Here’s the recipe:

Avocado Cheese Flatbread

1 avocado
1 egg, beaten
1 cup grated cheese

Preheat oven to 400F.

Mash the whole avocado and mix in the egg and cheese really well. Spread 2 6” diameter flat circles on a parchment paper lined baking sheet.

Bake for 20 – 25 minutes until golden brown.

source

Coconut granola crop April 2024.jpg

While they were baking I decided to try making a ¼ recipe of granola to see if I liked it. It had:

Cashews
Slivered almonds
Coconut flakes
Chia seeds
Vanilla
Salt
Flax meal
Coconut oil

You soak the flax meal (which I had to grind with a mortar and pestle) with warm water and then add the coconut oil and mix well. Then dump in the rest and set to bake at 400F until golden brown.

Flatbread with greens and dressing crop April 2024.jpg

The flatbreads finished and I put greens and dressing on them and ate them like a taco. The granola took twice as long to even start browning as the recipe said. It never reached golden, just slightly browned.

They both were very good. The granola is savory vs sweet so I think it will be fine.

Then I tried to make Crispy Cheddar Broccoli Fries for lunch. No photo because they didn’t turn out as they were supposed to. The recipe:

Crispy Cheddar Broccoli Fries

1 lg. head broccoli
½ cup Parmesan cheese, grated
1 cup Cheddar cheese, grated
2 lg eggs, beaten
Seasonings

Preheat oven to 400F.

Steam broccoli and chop up well. Add parmesan and cheddar cheese and eggs and your choice of seasonings. Shape into fries and put on parchment paper on cookie sheet. Bake for 20 minutes until golden brown.

source

They tasted fine and half went into the freezer. By this time I was pretty wiped from standing and the kitchen was a disaster. So I laid on the couch to rest and dozed through Life of Mammals for a couple hours.

Seedlings - most up crop April 2024.jpg

I decided to check and see what seedlings were up. In the dining room all but 2 trays got their covers off.

Seedlings - beets up crop April 2024.jpg

All the beets were up on the north porch.

Seedlings - porch most up crop April 2024.jpg

Two trays still had covers on the south side of the porch.

Seedlings - Sweet William up crop April 2024.jpg

In the office, nothing was up except Sweet William so I had to wash a tray for them so I could take the cover off.

Ready for tarps crop April 2024.jpg

Then I walked to the barn and got the truck for doing tarps on Monday. I turned the water on for outside and got a hose out and put it in the sun to thaw out.

I had walked around the house getting photos on the way up to the barn.

New North - scillas crop April 2024.jpg

In the New North garden the scillas are up.

West - coltsfoot, lingularia crop April 2024.jpg

West garden: coltsfoot, lingularia

South - grape hyacinths in bloom crop April 2024.jpg

In the South garden, the grape hyacinths are blooming.

Rugosa rose crop April 2024.jpg

Rugosa rose leafing out

Big garden - garlic crop April 2024.jpg

Big garden – garlic doing well

Little trees II - peach buds crop April 2024.jpg

I tried to get photos of several of the Little Trees II but the camera would not focus at all. This was the best of them, the peach tree.

Barn crop April 2024.jpg

Just a shot of the barn with the bright blue sky as I walked up the driveway.

On Monday I have one of my son’s friends coming to help me get the tarps off the Small garden, pressure washed and hung to dry. If we can’t finish, Tuesday is also supposed to be in the 60’s and sunny. We have to finish on Tuesday because the hay mulch guy is bringing all the smashed bales to put in the Small garden on Wednesday.

Sort:  

Oh my, there are a whole lot of meals all across the world.

At first when I saw the Avogadro cheese bread, I thought it is pizza

The dish looks yummy and I love the fact that the flowers are germinating so well. Kudos to you and I’m sure plants will grow well in that loamy soil

I liked that avocado flat bread, it really looks 'avocado-ish' and must taste heavenly.
The garden is looking amazing!

All the flowers seemed to have gallantly escaped Winter and are now doing very well.
Does the avocado flat bread go with a cup of tea or coffee?

No tea or coffee, it’s more for a lunch, sort of like a sandwich.

The avocado flat bread looks very yummy. You are good at cooking and following recipes! I could never stick to a recipe and tried to adapt it to my inclination.

You are always very active and busy either in the kitchen or in the garden.

Hope you’ll have a good rest to recover from the exertion too.