Tarps and Garden Done - April 9, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Sunrise crop April 2024.jpg

Sunrise

Begonia flowering crop April 2024.jpg

This is a begonia I saved from outside after it frosted a couple years ago. It’s really happy in this window.

On Tuesday I was up at 5:30AM finished the laundry, cleaned up the kitchen, did chores and breakfast and cooked 2 more meals.

Sweet potato toasts crop April 2024.jpg

I started the sweet potato toasts first as they were the simplest. I got to use my new meat tenderizer from the estate sale to hammer the knife through the potato. I did not season them.

Onion omelettes cooking crop April 2024.jpg

Next I sliced an onion into wide rings and mixed up this recipe:

Onion Omelettes

1 onion, cut in ½” slices
4 eggs, beaten
1 tsp salt
½ tsp pepper
1 tsp oregano
½ lb mozzarella, grated

Loosen the slices into unbroken rings. Mix next 4 ingredients very well. Grease a large frypan and place onion rings around inside, to serve as cups to hold mixture. Put spoonfuls of mixture into each slice, filling it. Cover and cook for 10 minutes. Turn each omelette and cover and cook for 5 more minutes until side is golden brown.

source

I quickly discovered that while I didn’t overfill the rings, when the cheese melts, it goes everywhere. I still had rings left so I mixed up more batter and cooked those too.

Onion omelets crop April 2024.jpg

The first batch, in which I got to use my new ladle from the estate sale

Onion omelettes finished crop April 2024.jpg

For some reason the second batch didn’t make such a mess. This is equal to 4 meals, 3 in freezer, 1 for lunch.

When the toasts finished, I again had 3 for the freezer and 1 for later. Here’s that recipe:

Sweet Potato Toast

Slice sweet potato with skin about ½” thick. Put on greased baking sheet and season with garlic salt and cinnamon and bake for 20 minutes . Turn and bake for another 20 minutes. Cool and store in fridge. Heat in toaster, cook 2 eggs, and squeeze out ½ avocado onto warm slice and top with egg.

source

I rested until 10AM and then got dressed and went out to clean out the Small garden.

Small garden - cleaned out crop April 2024.jpg

It took about 2 hours but all the debris and rotten cabbages are out.

Last of tarps washed crop April 2024.jpg

My son came out and we got the last 3 tarps washed and hung to dry. Before we started we folded up all the dry ones from Monday. Each tarp has its size written on it. That makes it easier to put them down in the fall.

Tote of tarps crop April 2024.jpg

Around 5:30PM he and I went out to see if the tarps got dry. They didn’t fit in the big tote. Good thing I got another large tote at the estate sale!

Sweet potato toast topping crop April 2024.jpg

For supper I put 3 fried eggs on top of the sweet potato toasts, sprinkled some Parmesan cheese on the eggs and topped them with greens and dressing. They were really good!

Sign box pansies crop April 2024.jpg

When I went up to check the mail, the pansies in the sign box were still flowering their hearts out.

West of Steps - daffs in evening sun crop April 2024.jpg

There was lots of sun and the temps went into the mid 70’s. The heat has forced many of the bulbs to open. I love how these in the West of Steps garden glow in the evening sun.

Magnolia - swollen buds crop April 2024.jpg

The magnolia’s buds are really swollen but none have opened yet.

Barn rhododendron buds crop April 2024.jpg

At the barn the rhododendron, which is nearly 40 years old, is covered in buds.

Barn rhododendron buds close-up crop April 2024.jpg

All these flowers about to open still in April, I hope they don’t get frosted. But my last frost date is May 31…

Fence gardens - daffs open in heat crop April 2024.jpg

Fence garden daffodils nearly all open

I was pretty wiped out and I don’t think I will be going to exercise class on Wednesday. It’s to rain, and I’m also supposed to get a delivery of broken bale hay mulch, hopefully before it rains. My general helper is supposed to come at noon, so we will be doing errands and cooking while it rains.

Sort:  

Colourful flowers everywhere, opening up to the fragrance of the Sun's warmth, the pansies are so beautiful and the daffodils are glowing.
Flowers and food, I loved the meals you prepared today, they just tantalize my taste buds.

I’ve not seen potatoes toast before in my life. It looks yummy though and I’m sure it will be very sweet because potatoes is always sweet

It wasn't particularly sweet, once baked. It sort of dried out and was crunchy like toast. It made a nice complement to the eggs and cheeses and greens.

Hello, lovely lady! 😊

Okay, now I've learned of two new food dishes; the potato toast and the onion omelette, that might be something for my handsome husband to try. If I remember, LOL! 😊

Your flowers, magnolia tree and rhododendron all look quite pretty. I love all the different colours. 😊

Did the hay make it before the rain? We've got order our hay, thanks for the reminder...I like to give our guy loads of notice, be first in line, just in case. Lord willing, we'll find a nice wife for Prince Lee and they'll get along enough to give us a couple great-great-grand-calves. That would give us four generations of Prince Lee's line growing up on this land, to date, and that would make him so happy. He loves having others to hang out with. 😊

Okay, my second cup of tea is gone, so that means its time to get off the computer, get the house in order and do some baking. I'll chat with you again soon! 😊

God bless you and your wonderful family. Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! 😊

Yup, in plenty of time as the rain had been pushed off to 2PM. My husband loved his cows and he loved having calves born here on the farm. Prince must be sort of lonely without a herd, as he is a herd animal.

Calves are so cute. We know he's a bit lonely, though he does hang out with the chickens and the wild turkeys, plus we go and hang out with him, but we'll all be happier once we've found him a gal pal, for sure. 😊

I love how the begonia plant with it's attractiveness is sitting very comfortable out there. The meal looks appetizing and yummy ❤️❤️❤️

I'm getting unfair downvotes for reasons I don't know about, @spaminator before you downvote this comment, tell me how to trash out this problem you have with me.

I am sending my husband to buy sweet potatoes now that you shared this idea. I love trying new recipes. I imagine that Rhododendron is going to put on a splendid show. Hope you are doing well.

Doing ok, considering I am exhausted. :))

The sweet potatoes do become crunchy like toast.

My husband bought me some sweet potatoes and its on my list of things to make this week. ;-)

Cool! You can make them serve many different ways. I left the seasonings off when I made them, because I was going for savory.