The Day After, The Day After - February 2, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

in #homesteading3 months ago

Butter beans - quick soaking crop Feb. 2024.jpg

On Friday, I was much worse for wear. It was the day after, the day after the fall, and sometimes that’s the worst of all. Sitting was barely an option, I couldn’t stand for very long, so laying down on my left side was much of what I did.

I got chores and breakfast done, and that did me in.

After resting a while, mid morning I decided a pot of butter bean soup sounded good. I found directions for cooking them without soaking and tried that.

Butter beans - ingredients crop Feb. 2024.jpg

The ingredients were simple and on hand. I’d not have to stand much.

Movie watching supervisor crop Feb. 2024.jpg

With supervision (he knew jumping on me was out) I watched M.A.S.H. most of the day.

Butter beans - almost finished crop Feb. 2024.jpg

I got the soup done around 3PM and just let it sit until supper. It was ok, but needed something, so I raided my brother’s sauce stash and tried a new one. It helped some. He said, when he got home in the evening it needed salt. I’d put in celery salt but didn’t want to add too much due to having ham in it.

Went to bed early and am hoping to have a better day on Saturday. I have an estate sale at 9AM and the granddaughter comes at 10AM. I’ve got to wrap her presents in the morning. That’s all that’s planned for that day.

Sort:  

I hope you are recovering from the effects of the fall and feeling better. Seems like you need more rest. I would say your weekend went well. Thanks for telling us about it and may the new week bring you lots of happiness and blessings.

Wish you quick recovery dear @goldenoakfarm! I am glad you could do some small tasks, under strict supervision of course :)

No task goes unsupervised here! LOL

Haha, I am sure that's accurate! I kind of have have a similar issue issue being under strict doggy supervision :)

I'm sorry your bum still hurts but thank goodness you were able to do some cooking.
Mr kitten is on his spot today, looking cute as usual.

I know how it can be painful after you have laid on your left side for long. Sorry about that and I wish you quick recovery
Your soup looks yummy
That’s a nice one

Butter bean soup 😋
What do you eat it with over there?
The butt pain will go, just give it a few days.

I just had a quick salad, not up to much yesterday.

The butterbean soup looks awesome! I bet that ham tasted good in there. Sorry about the fall and the after pain. Been there a few times. That is never fun. Say Hi to kitty and enjoy the estate sale.