OUR FIRST QUAIL EGGS ARE IN THE INCUBATOR!!!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Hopefully this'll work!


After getting our quail a while ago, we've been eagerly awaiting this day. We have been so blessed after we traded some rabbits with @armadillocreek in order to get our quail, and now we are trying to hatch some more!

FIRST QUAIL EGGS IN THE INCUBATOR VIDEO

HERE WE GO!

Sweet-Pepper and I had a nice time tonight placing some of our quail eggs into our incubator. After seeing baby chicks, keets, and ducklings already, we can't wait to see firsthand how incredible the tiny quail are going to be.

Like many of the things that we deal with on our homestead, we like to involve the children. This is such a special and precious thing anyway, even for us adults, so how much more special will it be for a three year old? Sweet-Pepper helps out with all of the menial and "less than exciting" chores, so I made sure to include her on this one!

Hopefully, in just under three weeks, we should have some tiny baby quail to check out. If it works out for us, I'll do a full how-to video to share the steps, process, and whatever else goes along with it! Stay tuned and we'll keep you posted!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-little-lambs-meeting-for-the-first-time

Until next time…

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmSKT3AhEpV8JXA2eaE1HQPogXev5rzG4uxMzTi3ieE3Tc

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

The waiting time for it is so much fun and exciting but the most thrilling part when only 1 more day to go before hatching. It will just take 17 or 18 days of incubation before the quail eggs will hatch. Good luck @papa-pepper. Please update us on how many eggs successfully hatch :)

Great news!....:)...

That's so cool! I hope everything works out, and that we will see the babies in a few weeks :)

Will eventually you eat quail eggs. I believe on Master Chef they said those were a high quality egg they were surprised more people didn't eat.

@papa-pepper how cool is this going to be ?? The @little-peppers are going to Love the Babies..............

OH yeah! We can't wait!!!

Welldone sir, truly hard work pays. Happy sunday

Wooh papa lot of work this is faster and easier for the egg to be hatch. Papa I send a message to you on discord

my friend your daughter looks so healthy .

Quail babies are adorable! We have many of the wild variety around my home and the wee ones are like little walnuts skittering about. 🙂 How fun!

Wow! That must be so cool to see!

They are quite neat to see. The mama quail usually have 20 or 30 of the little guys in a batch. I always stop for them to cross the road, and they just skitter all over the place at they follow mama. 💕

Oh my gosh, that is so exciting! They're gonna be so cute and tiny!
Must be a wonderful experience for Sweet-Pepper.
Can't wait to see those tiny fluffballs!

Cool post, thanks!

Those aren't quail eggs. Those are dinosaur eggs! Pigmy Pterodactyls to be exact.

Aww! Sweet Pepper is a good helper! I love the way you get all the kids involved in the daily business of running a homestead. Making it interesting and egg-citing keeps them learning!

these eggs are very tasty.

That's so neat! It's nice to see Sweet-Pepper getting involved with it at only 3! Not sure if I could do that with my 3 year old twins. They would probably break the eggs! Lol

I'm going to follow you to watch for the hatching! That would be awesome to experience, too :)

Looking great! I love quail eggs - great for the impatient too as they're so quick to hatch.

I have heard quail eggs are quite tasty, but I think have baby quail is a better decision! I hope everything works out with this!!

I sent you a message on Discord about the Steem Silver Round! :D

Got it! Thanks!

Awesome! I love quail, and we'll eventually raise them here as well.

I used to have a friend in the 70s who inherited some land in the hills above Malibu from his parents.

After he got back from Vietnam, he wanted to do something seriously peaceful, so since hunters had pretty much obliterated the California quail in the Santa Monica Mountains, he started raising them to release.

By the time I met him, he had already released several hundred, and since he had his land fenced against large predators, the quail knew it was a safe haven, so a large percentage stuck around close to home, and kept on breeding.

I lost contact with him when I left California, but I've heard from several people that the California quail have made quite a comeback in the area, and I have no doubt that he was largely responsible. ;-)

Never doubt that one person can make a difference.