One small victory!!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Living off grid for the last ten months has challenged me in all aspects of our lives. However, none more so then creating meals on nothing more than a woodstove. When we first arrived in Missouri I built an outside fire pit and used that through the hot and humid summer. But as winter inched closer, it was clear that we'd need to switch to our trusty campstove, and alas to the woodstove.

IMG_20171108_222408_770.jpg

Now having accomplished basic cooking skills on the woodstove, I wanted to experiment and see if I could create things our son has requested. With no oven theres quite a few things we have not been able to enjoy. So finally I told our son "I will try and make brownies" . So began my pan brownies adventure.

20180205_120731.jpg

I bought just a cheap basic brownie mix (maybe next time I'll try making scratch) and followed the instructions on the box. I set a small pan coated in oil over a cook opening. My woodstove was plenty hot so no preheating needed! Once mixed per directions, I poured the mix into the pan. I filled it alittle over halfway.

20180205_121001.jpg

Then I patiently waited, keeping the fire a constant roar. As the edges started to cook, (about 30 minutes in)I constantly checked the bottom of the brownie making sure I didnt burn it. The top of the mixture was taking longer to cook than the rest of the batter, so I made a foil top with venting to encourage a faster bake..

20180205_121018.jpg

Which it worked! For a total cooking time of an hour, I sucessfully made brownies! Even our son was impressed! Now we'll be trying other "oven" recipes. This was a fun and delicious treat for us and look forward to sharing other food adventures here on steemit!

20180205_141509.jpg

Sort:  

Good job! That is tricky stuff, they look great:)
I'd say you are going to be awesome at baking on it!

Thank you!

Sometimes you just have to improvise. Good job making those brownies in a pan! I bet your son appreciated it.

Do you guys have a Dutch oven? Might be just what you need.

Thank you! We were just talking about a Dutch oven, I defintely would like to get one!

Wait until you figure our bread and buns! Best ever!

Great post, people​ don't realize​ the learning curve for cooking on a wood stove. The brownies look great.
Thanks for sharing,
@tincanjunction

Thank you! I grew up with a woodstove, but never as a sole cooking source...a whole new world!