I just can't be arsed wading through all this crap! F**k it! I'm selling my vote to a Bid-bot

in #hope6 years ago (edited)

No, I'm not.... But just list me the 'good' stuff already and I'll vote it up for sure.... .


title.png

We need more curators not more Bid-bots

@curie, @ocd, @qurator, @muxxybot, @dse and all you other manual curators out there, I salute you.

Without your work, and I class it as work as it takes time, this platform will have trouble growing and holding on to users who provide something to enjoy.

Keep going!

For everyone else, time for a change?

Page-Break-7.png

So what is 'good' content?

Well I can tell you what isn't good content according to @curie, the longest standing curation guild on the Steem Blockchain. The criteria in brief is:

  • Between 27 Reputation and 52 Reputation.
  • Posts must be more than 150 minutes old, but less than 24 hours, with maximum $1 pending payout.
  • A single author may be submitted only once in 7 days.
  • Only original content. Articles, art, poetry, videos, recipes, etc. that appear first on Steemit. (I.e. no reposts of older work) Content must be exceptional and unique.
  • No Steemit-related, religious, introduceyourself or political posts.
  • English posts only.

Apart from the text 'Content must be exceptional and unique', the rest can be filtered automatically using code.

@carlgnash recently authored a couple of posts (I happen to class as excellent content which would not obey many of the rules above) which can help filter these @curie rules.

'Curate like a boss' 1 and 2 - Here you will find information if you wish to take a more programmatical approach.

@curie's guideline are a solid base to start from, but clearly they are going to miss other 'good' content.

For example. What about if your reputation is 55 and you've being 'grinding' here for 6 months without any visibility or rewards of note. One 'trending' article at this point could be the make or break - stay or go.

This is why we need as many manual curators as possible. Everyone should curate. And If you don't have the time but you have the SP (and can see past the Bid-bot $$$$$), help boost the rewards to the new authors.

If you delegate SP to me Mr/s Whale, I'll give you my curation rewards each week - deal?

Page-Break-7.png

Are you looking up or looking down?

This is a characteristic of the person you are I think.

Are you a taker or a giver? Do you like to receive or give? (that doesn't sound right!) umm...... Are you a 'I will help myself', or a 'I will help you' person?

For financial rewards, you need to 'look up'. This is where the Steem Power is. This is from where you will receive your first $20+ vote from.

At rep 64, with around 5000 SP I see myself in the middle ground.

The struggle between showing my face to the 100k+ SP holders, and giving votes out to the content I enjoy (and sometimes don't even enjoy but I respect the time/effort/quality) is real.

I need to 'look up' to get noticed and not make my efforts financially fruitless, and I need to look down to try to pull people up, keep them engaged, and wanting to stay around a while.

Finding this balance is a headache sometimes, but I'm still here. 0 cash-outs, 14 months in.

Page-Break-7.png

What to do?

As a minnow you are only looking up, this is a given. So I suggest to you the following:

  • Don't power down (show your commitment)
  • Try to fall into curie's guidelines (I hear they'll still curate into reputation 60+ if you really excel)
  • Check out what tags @blocktrades likes to stick a fat vote on
  • Write relevant replies to posts - have you ever heard a whale laugh? epic (I presume)

As a whale, orca, adult dolphin I would love to see:

  • Support of the curation guilds
  • Support of @spaminator and the like
  • Manual curation and/or, discounted delegation deals to committed and keen members of the community who are trying to make a difference

As a curation guild, I would love to see:

  • A reduction in vote weight, so to spread the power around many more authors
  • Comments on posts (post vote if you are trying to get ahead of other curation guilds) explaining to the author how the could improve next time

This blog is a follow up to:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@abh12345/steemit-give-me-your-steem-power-and-i-will-prove-to-you-i-have-used-it-wisely

and as a general response to:

  • What is 'good' content?

  • I can't be arsed curating because I can make more money selling my vote to a bid-bot and don't give a flying fluck about the future of this platform

and because, well I just wanted to write something to say:

HEY, I'm here, I can help, give me a shot!

and

Chin-up Steemians, better days are coming - we can make it so

Cheers

Asher

Sort:  

The struggle between showing my face to the 100k+ SP holders, and giving votes out to the content I enjoy (and sometimes don't even enjoy but I respect the time/effort/quality) is real.

I need to 'look up' to get noticed and not make my efforts financially fruitless, and I need to look down to try to pull people up, keep them engaged, and wanting to stay around a while.

Can't say it any better, Asher. How do we conduct ourselves and not cross the line of being snobbish while still gain favor and (more importantly) big fat upvotes is a pain to anyone trying to be the "best all-round" Steemian.

The only time I've powered down was for Steemfest and meeting the amazing people of Steem. But I thought the whole point of bringing value to Steem is to be able buy a cup of coffee (or hopefully a house) to show people that steem let's one do that so that they in turn will be interested and sign up to use Steem?

I do believe that more curation initiatives is needed to better scan the blockchain for capable authors needing that bump to push them.

However I believe a large part of "breaking out" in Steem is to put oneself out there and not rely on curation guild for every post. Sure, a bump from a whale delegated curator helps, but that ain't sustainable without the author him/herself working in the comment trenches.

I don't think it's anyone's "fault" that good authors don't get noticed. In the real world, even the best product fail without marketing. So it's only natural that the same applies on here the steem ecosystem.

But I do agree that we need more curators.. I do the best I can with @bitrocker2020 to bring up the authors in Malaysia through the #TeamMalaysia effort. So I'd like to think I do have a contribution to steem, however small it may be.

Thank you @awesomianist for the super response.

I agree with what you say about the required time in the 'comment trenches', and feel that hardly anyone is safe from not commenting to further their progress.

What I worry about is good content producers giving up too soon having been missed by @curie etc for not quite reaching their standard.

A push to improve their work with small amendments could be all their need to be able to stand on their own in time - we need to find them all, together.

Cheers!

yep, no denying that! Tho at the current state Steem is, being so young. People are naturally still skeptical to the whole "scheme".

I actually do have met with exceptional writers (bloggers/crypto influencer) that told me they left steem because "its not worth the effort". that was in the early days i believe before there are other curation guilds than @curie.

Any "active" steemians must be a curator one way or another regardless of their level of engagement to Steem. either that, or as you suggested, delegate or at least set a trail pointed towards curators such as yourself. hehe

As a whale, orca, adult dolphin I would love to see:

Wow. Somebody actually mentioned orcas. I have never understood why they are so rarely mentioned on Steemit.

For what it's worth, I'm taking a middle path. Some manual curating, some automated curating via @buildawhale as an experiment. Not sure if I'm doing the right thing. But I'm only a mid-tier minnow working my way up to be a baby dolphin some day, so my votes don't have a huge effect.

The middle ground, testing each avenue is sensible to me - are you a scientist or IT guy? :)

I don't hear Orca mentioned much, and can't find the SP categorisations currently - are they between dolphins and whales?

My understanding is that it's based on powers of 10:
1 million vests = minnow
10 million vests = dolphin
100 million vests = orca
1 billion vests = whale

Thanks :)

so it is around:

500SP = minnow
5000SP = dolphin
50000SP = orca
500000SP = whale

Maybe I'll reach dolphin for Christmas! :)

Another stellar post Asher!

A bit of clarification on the Curie guidelines, and the posts that get Curie votes when above 52 Rep:

Curie has "sub-community curators" , you can find listed in the weekly update HERE. The list of curators here can choose any material from their community for a "mini-curie". So you will see posts from people in the high 50's getting around a $20 curie upvote because their post falls within the realm of these community curators.

For those of us curating by the above listed guidelines, we do not nominate posts outside of the 27-52 range. It's too risky, as our weekly Curation Score depends on us getting posts approved more often than rejected.

I know in the past Curie attempted to create a second level curation for higher reputation posters, but I was not here during that time, so I don't know what happened, but ultimately, the sub-communities seem to be the solution that was come up with for now.

I advise anyone who has an interest in manual curation to read and try out Carl's excellent SQL queries mentioned above. They are great, and with very little learning, you can modify the queries to suit your particular interests. Carl is a great dude, and if you have questions about the queries he is pretty available to help. He's helped me a ton!

Keep working toward those better days. If we are working together, we will get there!

Thanks for the clarifications Mike, I should probably edit my post with these.

One thing which I do understand why It's in place, but I think does reduce the amount of content worthy of some sort of vote is:

For those of us curating by the above listed guidelines, we do not nominate posts outside of the 27-52 range. It's too risky, as our weekly Curation Score depends on us getting posts approved more often than rejected.

And on speaking to bitrocker this morning, he told me that the weekly total was around 200 authors. Honestly, I think it should be 5x that many. And comments of improvement issued post vote.

I sound like a slave driver :)

Thanks again!

It's a lot of junk to go through to find good articles.

It would really help if people helped themselves. Instead of just posting a picture have a little write-up with the picture. Where you took it, how you took it, what caused you to go there to take that picture.

Also, source your pictures. Even this isn't enough "technically" as you're supposed to get the authors permission, but you'd be amazed how many people are even too lazy to just post the website where they found said picture.

Absolutely!

The query I used looking for a minimum amount of characters so that solves the first problem. (I can hear the artists and photographers screaming right now!)

And for the second point, If i see something i like and it's missing sources, I will suggest these to be added in the comments next time.

For me, @curie et. al, look for the best work. That's fine, but what about the alright work? The stuff that could do with some guidance. We need to comment on this work and help folks improve to, ideally, @curie levels.

That would be awesome curation!

To you have a tool you use that you can suggest?

Yes, I would read Carl's posts mentioned above.

LINQPAD 5 is free and simple, the connection details are in the posts above, and also a good base template.

Feel free to visit the #bisteemit tags for other work on accessing the SteemSQL DB, and let me know if you need some guidance.

cheers!

Great post Asher... I have really mixed feeling... I have a lot of ideas, but sometimes I don't know if the efforts are worth it.

Ideas are free, and you should share all! :D

I'm positive here overall, but to have no doubts is plain ignorance. We can make it better - 40/50000 active users? It's not so much that we can't work as a team to get to 4-5 million?

@curie upvote some posts from authors that have reputation above 52 too.

yes, that info is in my blog ;)

I think there should be a built-in decay on reputation, divorcing it from piles of tokens giving vote power.

Made it to 60+? Great, you will still be able to do the same thing if you are consistent.

Still at 25 no matter what? Perhaps the market is telling you something. The market in this case would be the attention market, which determines (at least slightly) the votes you get.

There's got to be something better than the way it is now, because all I see is lots of ossified power networks that need a good shake-up.

Interesting idea with regards to decay.

People should ignore that number for the most part I think. Says nothing of the quality of your content any more, or how much SP you have.

There needs to be a way to gain your reputation with buying it..

What's a whale laugh sound like??

You know, I've never actually heard one :( But I would assume it would be pretty epic! :D

I thought it was just me who didn't know any whales in Lisbon lolsss

did you meet any dolphins?!

Gringalicious said she's a dolphin. Is @osm0sis a whale? Then I have heard of a whale laughing ahahaha

she thinks she's a whale!

Hello @abh12345. I am your new follower.And my blog is 3days old.Can you please suggest me on which part i have to improve? Waiting for your response.Thanks.

reply with the link of your blog and I will comment on it tomorrow :)

Hi @meherin

Your blogs are something I could find online with a google search. I'm not saying they are plagiarised, and cheetah has not visited you which is good.

What I mean is Maybe you could add some personal experiences with regards to the content you write about?

Source all images always.

I hope this helps :)

Thanks for your advice.I did't copy any post but i took idea from google

Yes I understand.

If you write about what you know about, your life, some of your photos, this will be better I think - original comtent. Read the curie guidelines above, you have a chance there :)

Ok. I understand.Thanks a lot.

Just as an info @curie votes at 59 as well. I just got one today :-D

Yep, I've seen them given in the 60s too :)

they really help good content creators to grow so its great for the development of this platform which focuses on great and valuable content

no politics, inflamatory subjects, steemit related posts... but its still good content... how?

how, or why?

I'd suggest all of those subjects are considered 'good' to some, just not for @curie at this time.

some of the best articles ive read in this 5,6 months were political, steemit related or really inflamatory.

just, i just dont understand curators job. what makes one relevant to decide about quality?

Well for @curie curators, the guidelines are above. For everyone else, just vote up what you like!

Hi! To me it looks I don't understand neither Steem nor the humankind. But apart from that, I have been given @Curie upvote twice due to @markboss nomination. I decided to follow him because his service helps me to find some interesting posts more easily. Yes, following his account clogs my feed, and because I'm not a programmer, I can't make a special tab to select his posts in a feed (I don't know if I'm clear enough). What makes me curious is, that yesterday his account had 51 reputation and today is 5???? My point is, if I'd be a programmer I'd make a special tab for his kind of service, because it makes my searching for particular content more easy (I certainly wouldn't downvote a service that I can easily unfollow) - and besides the content I find there is a good one.

@markboss posts look automated and a bit like spam. I cant see where he has received a set of down votes.

Hay sir I like you post because you said many about what actually a good content is and other than that I would also like that you are willing to support a steemer like me. Does it means that my content is not good if my level is right now 47. So please help me and tell me what should I do to improve my blog I had tried my best but actually not getting response so can you please help me.

Does it means that my content is not good if my level is right now 47?

No, you're next blog could be great!


I see you took a picture of a cow in your last blog. Maybe you could have written more about the origin of cows? why cow's consume rain forests?

You will need to make the post longer for curie to like it.

Cite your quotes and pictures

Use some html/markup to

Make headings


go for it :)

Oh, and I wonder if the baby image is good for your 'avatar'? Maybe change that?

Okkk sir I do agree. I will be take care all that you had suggested me.

👍👍👍i like friend. . .

Cool, which parts in particular?

i like friend`s sister.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

This post has received a 41.38 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @abh12345.

Congratulations @abh12345! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @abh12345! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 4.58 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @abh12345. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 15.01 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @abh12345.

This post has received gratitude of 57.69 % from @appreciator thanks to @abh12345.

This post has received a 72.15 % upvote from thanks to: @abh12345.
For more information, click here!!!!

The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!

suggest me some tool @abh12345

It's all in the guides that @carlgnash what's written. Links in the article :)

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 21.66 % upvote from @bellyrub. Please make sure to vote for my pops as a witness @zeartul,Here