Distal Bicep Tendon Tear

in #injury2 years ago

img_0.9809924964775755

Welp I guess it was a matter of time until my body blew apart. I ended up tearing my bicep tendon away from the bone playing baseball.

The interesting thing about the surgery was that they did a nerve block and I was awake the entire surgery vs being under anesthesia.

When the drilled through my bone to anchor the tendon my body reacted with a boost of adrenaline spiking my heart rate way up and I felt like I couldn't breathe. I felt pressure in my chest and honestly felt like I was going to pass out and die. Sound dramatic but it wasn't a good feeling and I didn't feel normal from a breathing aspect.

This is two days after the surgery and the block has worn off so I can feel my fingers again.

In two weeks I get the splint off and the stitches removed.

** Has anyone else torn their bicep tendon? **

Sort:  

Has anyone else torn their bicep tendon?

No, but I broke my right arm during remedial gymnastics in elementary school (between 1999 and 2007). There were two benches on top of each other, and I would had to walk on the top of it from the beginning to the end of it. I fell off of it, straight to my right arm. My right arm was plastered up for months.

It's terrible breaking bones and getting injured like that.

I'm pretty much going to have to sleep in my sling because last night I think I thrashed around and it hurt my arm. I woke up in intense pain but didn't know what I had done.