Feels Great to Take a Break and Disconnect

in #inleo6 months ago

Yesterday was my 552nd consecutive daily post even though I didn't write any post.

What I did was to write two of them the day before and only publish one, and keep the other in drafts, knowing I will need it yesterday.

I was mostly away from home for the entire day to a nearby city, having an appointment there but also taking some time off after that. When I came back home, I just hit publish and answered a few comments and upvoted a few posts. I knew I would be too tired for anything else, so it was important to have the post prepared so that I won't be thinking about it throughout the day.

I also had some time to catch up and talk about important life topics with my sister, who accompanied me. It's a pity that despite living in the same town and visiting each other, we rarely have enough time or mental energy to go into deeper topics more often. Or my nieces (her daughters) demand attention, so it's hard to do it with them around. We started to plan for other quick getaways, but unlikely to be just the two of us any time soon. More like for for the entire family or most of it.

Anyway, I liked the almost total breakaway from Hive. It's needed from time to time.

I will probably have another break on Monday, but of a different kind. The workers on our house will be ready to break through the ceiling then, and it will be a terribly noisy day. Probably a dirty one too, although they have a plan to make as little dirt as possible and they take care of the rough cleaning too, but I imagine we will still have the hallway, if not the rooms too, filled with a pretty thick bed of dust anyway.

I think we will bail for most of the day and leave them do their work. We probably can't help much until things are over, and being in all the noise and dust doesn't make sense to me. Since it will be on Monday, I won't prepare a post in advance because that will be my weekly Hive goals update. But I think I can do it after they finish work, in the evening. Hopefully! Because that post also implies taking some actions which also take some time.

They've been a great team, barely any supervision needed and doing excellent work in a timely manner (I don't say that lightly about workers/plumbers etc. - many of my experiences have been poor in the past), but after almost 2 months with them around, and probably some more for a while, we need some break and intimacy.

Oh well, that's life... Hive is only a small part of it, even though sometimes it feels it's the biggest...


Want to check out my collection of posts?

It's a good way to pick what interests you.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I think it's great that you can step away from Hive for a bit. It's definitely something that I should do at some point but I wonder if it would mess up my pattern. I think as soon as I stop doing something, it gets easier to just say skip that.

Yep, I totally understand you. That's why I want to continue posting every day (although I will probably miss a day here and there in the future) and stay connected with other Hive activities. I do and will take short breaks, but will do my best to keep the impact on my Hive activities to the minimum.

It is nice that you were able to get a break. Writing more than 1 post in a day when you're inspired is the way to go. Just publish it the next day or whenever you want. I have noticed that if you treat posting like a job, you really don't have a vacation or off days. But doing this helps give you little breaks.

In the past, I took longer breaks from posting. The problem is if don't post for a while you start losing the ability to do it. Ideas don't come as easily, you get frustrated because of it. That's why I'd rather keep my streak. And no, it's not like a job, that would be much more boring and constraining.

Hello, @gadrian. I'm glad you had a nice day away from your desk and Hive. I'm glad you got to see your sister. That was nice. I understand what you mean about never seeing family that aren't that far away. I hardly ever see my nieces and nephews. Have a great weekend! Barb !BBH !CTP #ctp

I do see them quite often. My sister and I rarely have time or energy to talk more seriously or at length though...

That's good that you see them at least. Good job @gadrian 🌟👍🌞 !BBH !CTP

A break is always good, recharging the batteries and coming back stronger. 2 months is quite a long renoviation. We have some workers coming in Monday for 2 weeks, I am dreading it but hope the time will pass quickly! lol

Yeah, it seemed really long. There are more extensive changes and we will not finish this year, just taking a break because frankly the money is over and the remaining part probably takes at least the same amount, but probably more. The good thing is we are in no hurry to finish the attic. We just want the stairs to the attic ready, and then we can take a break inside the house.

552 days is such an amazing feat. I can hardly go on a month without taking a break. If life does not throw something at me, I would at least find a good distraction (for mental stimulation).

Yeah, I am amazed it lasted this long, although I checked a few months ago and there were a few people who were over 1000 and tarazkp is doing this every day since 2017 (if he hasn't missed a day since then).

All these people including you deserve some serious recognition for what you have accomplished. I know how hard it is to keep up the writing without a break.
!PIZZA

A break is needed to repair and recharge. Have a good rest!

Thanks... Although I don't expect a long enough break time to recharge until Christmas.

We actually need the break sometimes
It is really good for the body
Nice post!

That is true. And for the mind.

Wow that was actually a huge of consistency I must confess

Yeah you are right 👍

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@vimukthi(1/5) tipped @gadrian