HMVF Artist Interviews - #20 YIDNETH (Priscilla Hernandez)

in #interview9 months ago (edited)

HMVF_Interview_Header_Yidneth.png

Hello hivians,
hello musiclovers!

this is our weekly interview post. We want to sharpen your senses for HIVE musicians, that´s why we made it our goal to interview a new musician every week.
There are a tremendous amount of very talented musicians on our HIVE Blockchain. Too many of them are going unnoticed. We at HMVF and Blocktunes are here to change that. Our interview series will let you get a look behind the curtain of some of these artists. Their music, their process, and their goals. Let us come together to support the music of HIVE.

Of course these posts will also have the purpose of collecting funds for HMVF, to be able to create as many music videos for these awesome artists as possible. 🎵
We wish you lot´s of fun with the interviews and consider supporting these awesome artists please!

HMVF Divider.png

This week´s musician is Priscilla Hernandez (@yidneth).

Yidneth is a great Hive musician with a very special style. She does not only put alot of work into her music but also into her visuals to create a synthesis of the arts. And this is definitely worth looking at.

image.png

🎤 Enjoy the interview here!


First off, how did the artist name Yidneth come about?

First, thanks to Raven for the opportunity and I hope you find the interview interesting.
My artist name is Priscilla Hernandez which is actually my name. That is how people can find me on Spotify and streaming services. I also use the handle “Yidneth” on most social media (including Hive). This “nickname” comes from a graphic novel I wrote and illustrated when I was young and great part of the imagery and fantasy motifs are recurrent in my songs. I named my label after it and after so many years using it it has become kind of an alter-ego of myself. Though officially I’m Priscilla Hernandez as an artist. Curiously I found out may years later that my Yidneth Logo is reminiscent to ancient representation of “Goddess feminine” energy, which is quite fitting considering my work and even the story that inspired it. So I use my logo also as my artist logo, though it’s an “Y” and also a “Goddess symbol”.

image.png

My official site is also either https://yidneth.com or https://priscillahernandez.com they both act as the same. I don’t mind to be called either way. But officially my artist name is my own name “Priscilla Hernandez”


How would you describe your sound?

Fantasy, Haunting, Ethereal. My music is heavily inspired by Nature, folklore, the world of dreams.
I try to weave my own magic through my music. I consider myself above all “a storyteller”
For me every song is a journey, a “soundscape” I inhabit in the world within it. Sometimes it tastes like a big adventure, or haunts me and send thrill down my spine. I often allow inspiration to take me where the song wants to.
I hope my music smells like petrichor (the smell of rain in the forest), feels like wind in your hair, and damp moss under your feet. It’s my desire that my music carries the listener to places.
I love to blend my voice with lush backing vocals like distant fairy voices, the song of the trees, of ancient lore. And for that I combine my piano and electronic sounds with ancient or more acoustic instruments, like harp, kantele, hammered dulcimer, tin whistle, flutes and many more. I love to layer sounds of these acoustic instruments an also sample sounds from nature.

Just like the seasons, there are moments of growth, lush, green, light and darkness, in balance, just like seasons flow. I embrace them both as part of the continuum and whole that is myself. No need to tear apart, so some of my song reflects my lights and shadows.

So hopefully my music sounds like “fantasy” and also healing and of fragile beauty. Sometimes it’s intended to be relaxing, let go of emotions. Face your fears and emotions through it. And though they convey my own emotions in the same of a “story” they’re not disguised, hopefully the stir souls and spirits. I’m really happy when it reaches someone and they let me know that my music have been of help in their own journey to find meaning. I believe in the power of music, I claim my own power through mine, and that I share.
Although I make some songs instrumental or even phonetical the great majority have lyrics and for me that’s part of the craft... words, the message, the metaphors, the poetry.


HMVF 3.png
Which artists have had the greatest influence on you?

I grew up in the 80s so I listened to lots of 80s music. My favourite band (still) is Tears for Fears. I also like Cyndi Lauper, Kate Bush, Mike Oldfield, Bowie, Sting, Cocteau Twins and lots of 80s electropop. But Tears for Fears is my “go-to”. Also lots of film music. I sued to collect soundtracks and film music scores.
I’ve been often compared with artists that I don’t listen that much like Enya or Lorena McKnennit, but I take it as a huge compliment because they made soft ethereal music and New Age also a mainstream option.
As for me my mix tape is full of 80s and soundtracks.
Lately listening to a lot of Kate Bush again, I know more of her music now than when I started, but she paved the way for female singer-songwriters to just do whatever we dare imagine, and that’s always inspiring.

And also believe it or not, I’m a big Jim Henson fan (he directed my favourite movie “The Dark Crystal” and “Labyinth” and also created Fraggle Rock and The Muppets. These children shows had lots of songs, and somehow the inherent wisdom in those honest simple muppet songs left an imprint as well.
This is my desert island album. The soundtrack of The Dark Crystal by Trevor Jones.

image.png

My biggest influence is Nature myself, the howl of the wind and chirp of the birds.

I also love traditional ancient songs, old lullabies, songs inspired by the seasons and folklore. Thus from time to time on my youtube channel I love to explore songs of old from many countries. I’ve already covered traditionals in different languages (Jpanese, Icelandic, Finn, Ukrainian and more). If a song has survived so long it usually carries a weight of significant lore.


HMVF 4.png
What is your songwriting process? How does a song come together for Priscilla Hernandez?

I improvise a lot wether outdoors in Nature or in my studio.
Sometimes I just pick a flute out in Nature, alone in the woods and I just improvise without much thinking. Sometimes it’s my lap harp or some other small instrument to sing along with. Sometimes those spontaneous melodies weave into ideas, fragments of sentences, or sometimes they just flow. I have an entire collection of these exercises I call “incantations” in Nature.

Some of them are compilled in this playlist.MSIC INCANTATIONS PLAYLIST

When I’m in the studio I usually am based on piano. I play the basic chords and sing.
Sometimes a song structure can be born in a day, sometimes
Some stay phonetical, some have lyrics that fall into place later on... I have some songs that have been years in the making and keep on shifting.... others are born in the day.

It varies a lot from one track to another. Also the instrumentation, vibe... I really don’t like tags. What I can say is that for me composing is very “spiritual” and a way of “self-therapy” and healing.

I am a woman producer so I sing, play instruments, record in my daw, arrange and mix my songs. There is a misconception that is still rampant in the case of female vocalists... a lot of us produce our own music as I do. It’s hard for me not to start new songs every day as I’m often carried away by improvisation but if you producey our music you know there is a lot of tedious producing polishing, mixing, arranging... And that’s the part I struggle with sometimes, hahah COMPLETION.

My partner Héctor also helps me as I need extra ears and encouragement, and he sometimes join in percussions and additional arrangements, and mostly mastering and helping me film the music videos which we do while hiking.


HMVF 5.png
What do you hope that the listener takes away from your music?

I hope you’re taken away in a journey
I hope my music is a companion when you need to deal with emotions, wether you need to “accept” or “let go”
I hope my music brings comfort and peace, or courage to face your fears
I hope my music make you wonder and wander
I hope it tells you a story

Though I’m honest saying I create music for myself, as my own therapy, it only makes me glad when it reaches the souls of others.

Music holds a profoundly sacred place in my life as it is the closest thing I know to magic. I genuinely hope that this essence transcends the notes and touches your spirit.
If my music reaches you in any meaningful way, please do let me know. Your feedback would be greatly appreciated.

image.png


HMVF 6.png
How do you think being a part of the Hive blockchain will help your music career?

I have been on Hive since its inception (and tss from before because I moved along with the community). I have always felt part of the family and it has always made me feel “seen”. I’m not going to lie to you, rewards are welcome, we artists sometimes struggle to thrive and welcome all support, but they are also an “extra” I like to think I’ve created also my audience too and I’m often rewarded with meaningful feedback. And as long as there is an encouraging comment I always find my way back. I’ve been around long. I post slowly because I simmer my music and posts slowly too, they take time, but there is always en encouraging word and people reminding you that they’re of worth. And that is priceless. Through the years I have also grown fond of fellow hivers I do consider friends, some I’ve even met in person. So I’m checking in also to be in touch with them. I have always believed as an artist (and person) that organic, legit, real connections are the true value of a community. I may be but a small independent artist with humble stats, but I truely am grateful for all the support.
As for Hive speficially, my profile is more of a creator, I’m not so familar with the rest of things, but well I’m holding ;-) who knows what the future holds for us too...? It can make a great difference but I’m grateful already
That’s my philosophy overall, be GRATEFUL for what you get, it’s no obligation, but I’m happy to share and to be appreciated.


HMVF 7.png
Share a tip for other hard-working artists out there searching for success in the new music industry?

Success is not a mere number; art cannot be confined to a numerical value. It is crucial not to obsess over quantifiable measures or become frustrated by them. Throughout my journey as a musician, I have experienced varying degrees of popularity, both highs and lows. I have encountered moments of sweetness, setbacks, moments of falling and standing up again, and fluctuations in motivation. However, after all this time, I have become aware of something profound: my love for creating music and the spark that still ignites within me. This, to me, is success.
Let us not forget that sometimes the true essence lies not in the end goal but in the joy derived from the journey itself. While we need to navigate the real world, paying bills and acquiring necessary equipment, as artists, endurance and avoiding burnout become paramount. I have a song called "Through the Long Way," which conveys the notion that taking shortcuts is not a safe option. It has taken me a considerable amount of time to infuse my own feelings and spirit into it. My passion for music remains unquenched, and I have nothing to prove.
I have had the privilege of performing in front of massive audiences, but now I find solace in my solitary home studio. Regardless of the setting, I am no more or less than an artist. This is my personal experience, and it is important to remember that everyone has their own unique journey.

saludo_hive_1.gif

Stop being obsessed with numbers... how many listeners, how many followers... be honest with what you do, grateful to all who support you, be patient with yourself, allow yourself to GROW and even CHANGE, to TRY and evolve. And keep it REAL.
I’d say, go at your pace, BE YOU. Do your thing. It should always be healing and fun.


HMVF 8.png
What does the future hold for Priscilla Hernandez?

Who knows?
Just like in one of my songs... “If the future seems uncertain, I look ahead and there you’re waiting, dream of mine”
or “Dreams are dreams but the dreams are dreaming” Allow the possibilities to unfurl. The future is not yet written.

As long as I have that... and noone can tell me how big I can dream. If someone reading this is triggered and curious enough to check my work and support by listening and encouraging, welcome be... one person at a time...

I just hope to evolve, to step up to the challenge, to enjoy what I do, to be able to continue to create and share what I do. I wish I could live off my art again as I was able for some time. And I hope it reaches again a popularity that allow the resources I need to step up and make it even better. I love filming videos too (youtube.com/yidneth) so for me music, art and videos all go hand in hand.
I hope to finish my third illustrated album (painting is my second passion and my albums are all illustrated). Plotting that in an eara where people don’t buy physical albums anymore and AI creates fantasy drawings might sound like a challenge but I truely believe one particular project is worth the try. That and some other ones that have waited too long dusty on the shelves... And lots of new songs too... fortunately inspiration is still not a problem... they keep pouring into my brain... like dreams you “remember”

I’d love to return to the stage, but I’m a rogue solo now (missing having a band) still moving to a small place and being just “me” made me find again the worth and the awareness that I’m enough and that I have something to say through my music. Maybe I’ll set up for live streaming again so far.

I have lots of music in the making that I need to finish and share. Biggest challenge for me is to overcome my perfectionism and let things go.
And if you’re curious about what I do or you like to support
Here is one of my recent songs / video OM VRISH ELLE. Best if you yourselves are curious and help me describe it. I always welcome feedback about your impressions.


HMVF Divider.png

image.png

If you want to know more about Priscilla Hernandez/Yidneth, follow and keep up with her process here on Hive.

Support this awesome artist and help her being able to continue making great music!

YouTube channel: https://youtube.com/yidneth
Official site: https://yidneth.com
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/yidneth
Spotify:


Landing page with all links, including Tips and Hive: https://yidneth.com/
“yidneth” on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Tik Tok and Patreon

Have a great weekend everyone and see you at the next interview!

Yours,

The HMVF Team


HMVF We Want You.png

PS. We are searching for more artists to interview and promote through our channels. If you create original music (or know someone that does) get in touch and let’s set up an interview and learn more about you. We love music and want to see it grow on HIVE. Be a part of it! 🎵

HMVF Animated Logo.gif


Help us collecting funds for the very first Hive Music Video production, which will be a song of @ravenmus1c! 💜

Sort:  

This post was written with the help of @slothlydoesit

This post was written with the help of @indiebandguru

This post was written with the help of @ravenmus1c

Wow, I like this music! 👍😎

Just a little info. The link is broken:
grafik.png
!LUV

Thank you for appreciating my work 🎵

Thanks for spotting the error!!

@hmvf, @prinzvalium(1/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Thanks very much for the interview and feature of my music and many thanks to Hive community and friends for the support all this time

This is really cool!! I’m a new musician on Hive, is there anything I need to do to be considered by @hmvf?

Good afternoon.

Either drop 'slothlyd' a message on Discord (or provide us with your Discord username and we'll contact you) or email us at ' [email protected] ' so we can connect and take things forward.

Regards HMVF team.

Awesome thank you!!! …I’m not as good with Discord so I sent an email to the listed address :)